The Xamarin Blog avatar

Organize a Xamarin Dev Days!

15 hours ago | The Xamarin Blog

Xamarin Dev Days are in full swing across the globe and now it’s time to get free, hands-on mobile development training in your city! It’s fun, easy, and exciting to organize a Xamarin Dev Days of your own, and today we’re going to show you how. To start off, we’ll provide you and your speakers with […] The post Organize a Xamarin Dev Days! appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

Almir Vuk avatar

Xamarin.Forms: Grouping data with Tabbed page

15 hours ago | Almir Vuk

As you know I am playing with Xamarin.Forms for a while and last week I was involved in one projects where I needed to have ListView with data which is divided in some way... So perfect way was to have some control like pivot on UWP but in Xamarin.Forms as you know we have Tabbed page which is similar to pivot but binding and other data manipulation is different so I think that I found the way to use Tabbed page to divide data and group it with Tabbed Page.

Alex Dunn avatar

Xamarin.Tips – Android Shadows on Transparent Views

17 hours ago | Alex Dunn

I talked in a previous post about creating box-shadows on iOS UIViews that are transparent that you can find here: Xamarin.Tips – iOS Shadow on Transparent UIView This is the Android counterpart! Let’s look at putting some shadows around a view with a fully transparent background. Android presented some completely different challenges compared to iOS. In … Continue reading Xamarin.Tips

Episode 19: MonoGame - Write Once, Play Everywhere with Dean Ellis

19 hours ago | James Montemagno

This week, James is joined by friend of the show Dean Ellis, Developer at Microsoft and MonoGame contributor/evangelist, who introduces us to the cross-platform and open source game framework, MonoGame. Dean walks us through how MonoGame took everything that we loved about XNA and created a full cross-platform game framework that runs on iOS, Android, macOS, Linux, Windows, PS4, PSVita, Xbox One, and Nintendo Switch.

Gerald Versluis avatar

[BOOK] Xamarin Continuous Integration and Delivery: Team Services, Test Cloud, and HockeyApp

19 hours ago | Gerald Versluis

*Pinch* Is this a dream?! My very own book? No it is not! I did write a book and here is everything you need to know about it. A while ago I have done some blogposts on continuous integration and delivery for Xamarin apps. While doing so I got more and more enthousiastic about the whole subject. ... Read more

Javier Suarez avatar

[Xamarin.Forms] Probando UI Sleutch

20 hours ago | Javier Suarez

Introducción Xamarin.Forms es un toolkit que crea una abstracción sobre la interfaz de usuario de Android, iOS y Windows Phone permitiendo desarrollarla una única vez con código C# o Extensible Application Markup Language (XAML). Actualmente tenemos disponibl Xamarin.Forms Previewer o lo que es lo mismo, una herramienta que nos permite visualizar en tiempo real cualquier … Sigue leyendo U


The Xamarin Blog avatar

Play Audio and Video with the MediaManager Plugin for Xamarin

2 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

This is a special guest post on MediaManager for Xamarin, written by Xamarin MVP, Martijn van Dijk. Martijn works at Xablu as a Xamarin consultant. You can find him on Twitter at @mhvdijk and on Github at @Martijn00. Media apps, more than others, benefit from working together with the native platform. Some things, like handling […] The post Play Audio and Video with the MediaManager Plugin for Xamarin appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

Alex Dunn avatar

Xamarin.Tips – Xamarin.Forms Android Custom TableView Section Titles

2 days ago | Alex Dunn

Xamarin.Forms’ TableView is a really useful control for displaying static content. However, it has some shortfalls. The one we will look at today is customizing the Section Title. If you are looking for this solution on iOS, check it out here: Xamarin.Tips – Xamarin.Forms iOS Custom TableView Section Titles Before reading ahead, I would suggest looking … Continue reading Xamarin.Tips – Xamarin.

Alex Dunn avatar

Xamarin.Tips – Xamarin.Forms iOS Custom TableView Section Titles

2 days ago | Alex Dunn

Xamarin.Forms’ TableView is a really useful control for displaying static content. However, it has some shortfalls. The one we will look at today is customizing the Section Title. Before reading ahead, I would suggest looking at your solution and assessing whether or not your TableView could be easily replaced by a ListView. I want to … Continue reading Xamarin.Tips – Xamarin.For

Uso de Librerías Objective-C en Xamarin.iOS

2 days ago

El pasado 8 de Marzo tuve la oportunindad de junto a Humberto Jaimes dar un webinar para la comunidad de Xamarin Latinoamerica el cual les comparto hoyA continuacion les dejo los enlaces para los slides y codigo fuente en Github: Uso de Librerías Objective-c en Xamarin.iOS from Alejandro Ruiz Varela Github: https://github.com/humbertojaimes/ObjectiveC-iOSBindings-Webinar

Xamarin.Forms Layout Challenges – Great Places

2 days ago | Kym

When your app is all about the images, sometimes you want your images to be hero of the UI.  That’s what this weeks Xamarin.Forms Layout Challenge is all about.    Normally I prefer a light themed application, so just to change things up a bit, I thought I would go for a dark themed layout. […]

Merge Conflict avatar

Merge Conflict 37: TLS - How Do You EVEN

3 days ago | Merge Conflict

It's time to go down the rabbit hole of networking to investigate the ins and outs of Transport Layer Security (TLS) and how it impacts your apps. James walks Frank through his latest issues with APIs requiring TLS 1.2+ and how was able to debug the situation at 4:30am to get a new release of his app. We attempt to make networking fun as we dive through HTTP Headers and general connectivity tips and tricks.

Adam Pedley avatar

Connecting To A Remote Database in Xamarin Forms

3 days ago | Adam Pedley

A common question, especially for those new to Xamarin, who may be coming from a web background, is how do I connect to a remote database from my mobile app? Working with a client application is different than a server based application, as you don’t have direct access to any server based resources, such as […] The post Connecting To A Remote Database in Xamarin Forms appeared first on Xamarin Help.

Adam Pedley avatar

UISleuth – Visually Inspect Your Xamarin Forms Application

4 days ago | Adam Pedley

UISleuth is a UI (or Visual) inspector for your Xamarin Forms application at runtime. It allows you to see in realtime, the UI of your Xamarin Forms application, dive deep into its properties and change them in real time. As of the time of this post, it only support Android on Windows in Visual Studio. Install […] The post UISleuth – Visually Inspect Your Xamarin Forms Application appeared first on Xamarin Help.

Fabio Cozzolino avatar

Gestire comportamenti specifici della View in Xamarin.Forms

4 days ago | Fabio Cozzolino

La chiara e netta separazione tra la UI e l’application logic è il concetto che sta alla base del pattern MVVM. Molte volte, però, non è semplice capire distinguere le responsabilità, almeno in termini di rappresentazione della UI. Se devo cambiare un colore in base al contenuto, è il ViewModel che lo decide? Dove indico il colore? Tendenzialmente saremo […]

Alessandro Caliaro avatar

Change Label’s TextColor in a ListView’s SelectedItem, obviously in Xamarin Forms

4 days ago | Alessandro Caliaro

ListView is a common control in a Xamarin Forms Project. It works pretty nice. When you select an Item in the list, the row change its color so you understand that it’s the “Selected” row. Sometimes there is the need to change the color of the text, non only the color of the row (that … Leggi tutto Change Label’s TextColor in a ListView’s SelectedItem, obviously

Javier Suarez avatar

[Evento] Visual Studio 2017 Launch!

5 days ago | Javier Suarez

El evento En CartujaDotNet vamos a celebrar el lanzamiento de Visual Studio 2017!. Nada mejor que contar con varias sesiones cortas y directas donde veremos las principales novedades en el IDE además de novedades en productividad, Xamarin, Visual Studio Mobile Center, DevOps, etc. Agenda La agenda: 19:00h – 19:10h: Recepción y bienvenida! 19:10h – 19:20h: … Sigue leyendo →

James Montemagno avatar

Cleaning Up Space on Your Xamarin Development Machine

5 days ago | James Montemagno

Today, I officially uninstall Visual Studio 2015 and upgrade to Visual Studio 2017!! Whenever I do a...

Javier Suarez avatar

[Evento] Xamarin Dev Days 2017 en Sevilla

5 days ago | Javier Suarez

El evento Xamarin Dev Days son una serie de eventos celebrados a lo largo de todo el mundo que ofrecen la posibilidad de conocer las últimas novedades relacionadas con el desarrollo Xamarin, poder disfrutar de talleres y por supuesto, compartir momentos de networking. Agenda La agenda: 9:00AM Registro y bienvenida. 9:30 – 10:10AM Introducción a … Sigue leyendo →

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Xamarin University Webinar Recording | Building Your First Android App with Xamarin for Visual Studio

5 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

You can register for the remaining Xamarin University Presents webinars here. Xamarin University is a leader in providing online mobile development training and offers a 30-day free trial, including access to Self-Guided Learning. To register for a free trial or sign up for Xamarin University visit the Xamarin University homepage. .NET developers everywhere can easily […] The post Xamarin University Webinar Recording | Building Your First Android App with Xamarin for Visual Studio appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

Marco Kuiper avatar

[Dutch] Presentation: Make your app smarter with Microsoft Cognitive Services

6 days ago | Marco Kuiper

As an introduction, I've written already several articles here about the Microsoft Cognitive Services. By combining the power of machine learning and Xamarin, you're able to make your apps smarter and more personal just like I showed before. All of this led up to a presentation that was given at dotNedSaturday, organised by dotNed, the largest .NET User Group from the Netherlands. This presentation will dive into the power of Microsoft Cognitive Services in combination with Xamarin build apps for your phone.

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Introducing the Kimono Designer for SkiaSharp

6 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

The modern app developer faces a challenge when it comes to developing the high quality graphics required to build exciting and engaging user interfaces: because of the various screen sizes and resolutions across devices in a given OS, multiple copies of each graphic asset have to be created, implemented, and maintained. This is especially true when dealing with cross-platform […] The post Introducing the Kimono Designer for SkiaSharp appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Apply Now for Microsoft’s Go Mobile Tech Workshops

6 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

Don’t miss your team’s opportunity to discuss app development and architecture best practices one-on-one with Microsoft engineering experts. We’re excited to announce that the Microsoft engineering team is offering a limited number of technical sessions to help your team build better mobile apps faster. The Go Mobile Tech Workshops are three-hour sessions dedicated to your […] The post Apply Now for Microsoft’s Go Mobile Tech Workshops appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

David Britch avatar

Validating User Input in Xamarin.Forms III

6 days ago | David Britch

Previously I discussed how validation rules are specified by adding data annotation attributes, that derive from the ValidationAttribute class, to properties in model classes that require validation. In this blog post I’m going to explore how validation is triggered, both automatically and manually.Triggering ValidationThis validation approach can automatically trigger validation when properties change, and manually trigger validation of all properties.

Alex Dunn avatar

Xamarin.Controls – BadgeView

7 days ago | Alex Dunn

Xamarin.Controls - BadgeView | a super simple custom control for displaying a badge indicator.

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Xamarin University Webinar Recordings | Intro to Xamarin for Visual Studio and Building Your First Xamarin.Forms App

7 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

You can register for the remaining Xamarin University Presents webinars here. Xamarin University is a leader in providing online mobile development training and offers a 30-day free trial, including access to Self-Guided Learning. To register for a free trial or sign up for Xamarin University visit the Xamarin University homepage. Intro to Xamarin for Visual […] The post Xamarin University Webinar Recordings | Intro to Xamarin for Visual Studio and Building Your First Xamarin.

Episode 18: MFractor - Incredible Tools for Xamarin with Matthew Robbins

7 days ago | James Montemagno

This week, James is joined by friend of the show Matthew Robbins, Microsoft and Xamarin MVP, who shows us through his incredible tools for Xamarin, MFractor.  MFractor adds several features so you can make great Xamarin and Xamarin.Forms apps faster. Matthew walks us through the awesome features including a comprehensive XAML analyses, XAML refactoring and code generation, and improved navigation inside of Xamarin Studio.

Timothé Larivière avatar

One Mac. Small Xamarin team. How to. Part 2

8 days ago | Timothé Larivière

Welcome in this long awaited part 2 of the serie “One Mac. Small Xamarin team. How to.”. In part 1, we saw what possibilities in terms of hardware are available when developing for iOS with Xamarin (if you missed it, it’s still time to read it). Today, I will explain how to leverage a single Mac for a small team, and how to enable simultaneous debugging between developers. This post is applicable to every Mac machines.

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Simplified Android Keystore Signature Discovery

8 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

The Android Keystore is at the heart of every Android application. It enables us to sign our applications and ship them to the app store securely, but also holds additional signature information needed for Google Play services and other APIs, such as Facebook. Traditionally, we would have manually run commands via the command prompt against […] The post Simplified Android Keystore Signature Discovery appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

Xamarin.Android resolvendo o erro (Unsupported class version number [52.0] (maximum 51.0, Java 1.7)))

8 days ago | William S. Rodriguez

Fala galera tudo bem? Caso você se depare com o seguinte erro em seu projeto Xamarin.Android: /Library/Frameworks/Mono.framework/External/xbuild/Xamarin/Android/Xamarin.Android.Common.targets: Error: Tool exited with code: 10. Output: Error: Can't read [/Library/Frameworks/Xamarin.Android.framework/Versions/7.1.0-41/lib/xbuild-frameworks/

#CAPICONF, Nós queremos mais!

9 days ago | William S. Rodriguez

Fala pessoal, Hoje a publicação não é nada de técnica (Os 60 dias com Xamarin não acabaram), eu apenas gostaria de compartilhar com vocês algo que estamos fazendo fazer por aqui (Curitiba / PR). O #CAPICONF Lá no final de 2016 quando eu junto com o Bruno, estávamos almoçando, dois dias

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Getting Started with Async / Await

9 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

Async programming is all the rage in mobile app development for good reasons. Using async methods for long running tasks, like downloading data, helps keep your user interface responsive, while not using async methods, or the improper use of async/await, can cause your app’s UI to stop responding to user input until the long running […] The post Getting Started with Async / Await appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

Alex Dunn avatar

Xamarin.Tips – iOS Shadow on Transparent UIView

9 days ago | Alex Dunn

I ran into another interesting requirement that took some creativity to solve. At a basic level, on iOS, we needed to have a UIView with a fully transparent background that also had a dropshadow (acting more as a box shadow). With its offset being to the bottom right, meaning the shadow should not be visible … Continue reading Xamarin.Tips – iOS Shadow on Transparent UIView

Merge Conflict avatar

Merge Conflict 36: Sorry iPhone 4

10 days ago | Merge Conflict

When and how should you drop support for a specific device or operating system? We talk about the market today and how we handle it in our own apps. We also dive into specifics around what types of hardware architecture to support and how that impacts your application. Finally, it is much more than just mobile applications as the same has to be considered for the desktop, and Frank speaks from personal experience.

Larry O'Brien avatar

Dell Infuriates Me

10 days ago | Larry O'Brien

Sunday rant: I have a 2016 Dell XPS (high-end) laptop. I bought a Dell 25″ 4K monitor. And on Friday received a Dell Thunderbolt dock for the monitor. I plug it all together and although the monitor displays wonderfully, the … Continue reading →

Microsoft Launches Visual Studio 2017 with Xamarin

10 days ago

Introduction:Visual Studio 2017 successfully was launched on march 7 2017 with many fresh and exciting features for Visual Studio developers. On February 24, 2016 Xamarin and Microsoft announced that Microsoft signed a definitive agreement to acquire Xamarin . Microsoft Build 2016 announced that they will open-source the Xamarin SDK and that they will bundle it as a free tool within Visual Studio's integrated development environment.

Javier Suarez avatar

[VideoBlog] Una introducción a Visual Studio Mobile Center

10 days ago | Javier Suarez

Introducción El pasado Microsoft Connect 2016, en San Francisco, se presentaba Visual Studio Mobile Center con el firme objetivo de convertirse en el centro de control de nuestras aplicaciones móviles. Mobile Center soporta tanto aplicaciones Xamarin como aplicaciones nativas con Java, Objective-C o Swift además de aplicaciones React Native. Incluye los siguientes servicios: Build: Integración 

Adam Pedley avatar

Xamarin Forms Dependency Injection

11 days ago | Adam Pedley

Calling native platform code in your portable class library (PCL) is achievable via Dependency Injection. It’s a common question for people starting out, who are using a PCL or .NET Standard Library for developing their Xamarin apps. Dependency Injection involves creating an interface that can be commonly applied across all native platforms, then coding the […] The post Xamarin Forms Dependency Injection appeared first on Xamarin Help.

Alessandro Caliaro avatar

Another common mistake using Xamarin Forms (and XAML): Property Content is null or is not IEnumerable

12 days ago | Alessandro Caliaro

It’s the second or third time in a few days that in the forum or in StackOverflow some guys has problem with XAML files. I don’t use XAML (I believe to be in error, but I am a “old school” programmer and write ALL using code). I don’t like it very much and I think it’s another … Leggi tutto Another common mistake using Xamarin Forms (and XAML): Property Co

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Podcast: What’s New in Xamarin Cycle 9, Visual Studio 2017, and More!

12 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

In this episode of the Xamarin Podcast, James Montemagno and Pierce Boggan announce exciting changes for the Xamarin Podcast and cover what’s new in Xamarin, including the stable release of Cycle 9, the Visual Studio 2017 launch, and more. Be sure to download today’s episode from your favorite podcasting app. Check Out Our Awesome New […] The post Podcast: What’s New in Xamarin Cycle 9, Visual Studio 2017, and More! appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

Michael Ridland avatar

The Definition of Done (DoD) for Xamarin Developers

13 days ago | Michael Ridland

A DoD or Definition of Done is a software development term, the term is common in many agile teams and it has origins in SCRUM. The basic idea is that a team has a shared understanding of what defines a task as Done. What a project manager might foresee as ‘Done’ can be different to […] The post The Definition of Done (DoD) for Xamarin Developers appeared first on Michael Ridland.

Episode 36: What's New in Xamarin - Cycle 9, Visual Studio 2017, and more!

13 days ago

In this episode of the Xamarin Podcast, James Montemagno and Pierce Boggan announce some exciting changes surrounding the Xamarin Podcast and cover what's new in Xamarin, including the stable release of Cycle 9, the upcoming Visual Studio 2017 launch, and more. Show Notes: 0:00:30 - Exciting changes coming to the Xamarin Podcast 0:04:45 - Visual Studio 2017 launch 0:06:30 - The new Visual Studio 2017 workload-based installer 0:11:00 - The Xamarin release process 0:18:30 - New "bootstrapped" cross-platform templates 0:22:20 - New item templates for Xamarin.

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Live Webinar: Introduction to Xamarin for Visual Studio 2017

13 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

To celebrate this week’s launch of Visual Studio 2017, join us for my “Introduction to Xamarin for Visual Studio 2017” webinar on Wednesday, March 22 to see why this is the best release of Visual Studio yet. I’ll show how Xamarin for Visual Studio 2017 makes it even easier to deliver fully native Android, iOS, […] The post Live Webinar: Introduction to Xamarin for Visual Studio 2017 appeared first on Xamarin Blog.


Xamarin.Forms Layout Challenges – Timeline

14 days ago | Kym

A layout I’m seeing more and more these days is a timeline of activities.  This is useful for things like transportation schedules or class times.  So let’s put together a simple layout for a timeline using a ListView with headers and footers and a custom ViewCell.   Page Structure This page is just a simple […]

John Miller avatar

Programming Xamarin.iOS Book

14 days ago | John Miller

I'm writing a book about Xamarin.iOS! Why? After Jon Douglas's announcement to write a book on Xamarin.Android, we started discussing a need for a Xamarin.iOS counterpart. My goal over the next year is to create a book on Xamarin.iOS. Get Notified of Updates If you're interested,

Peter Foot avatar

Forms Previewer and Custom Controls

14 days ago | Peter Foot

Recent versions of Xamarin include the Forms Previewer which generates a live representation of your XAML as it will appear on iOS or Android. I noticed one slight problem when working on my MediaElement control… The Android renderer instantiates a MediaController object. This is a standard Android class but the Forms Previewer would throw an exception… Continue reading Forms Previewer

Alex Dunn avatar

Xamarin.Forms Borderless Entry

14 days ago | Alex Dunn

Here’s a quick freebee. If you want to create an entry that has no border, it can be done with a pretty simple custom renderer. Let’s first create a new control that inherits Entry: BorderlessEntry.cs We aren’t doing any special logic or anything here since all we need to do is remove the border. Now … Continue reading Xamarin.Forms Borderless Entry

James Montemagno avatar

Setting up Visual Studio 2017 for Xamarin Development

14 days ago | James Montemagno

Visual Studio 2017 was just released yesterday, and it is awesome! You can re-live all the keynote...