The Xamarin Blog avatar

Xamarin Podcast: If The Boots Fit

14 hours ago | The Xamarin Blog

Keeping up with the latest in .NET, C#, Xamarin, and Azure is easier than ever. Co-hosts Matt Soucoup and James Montemagno cover a range of topics relevant to Xamarin developers from designing mobile apps to identity management. This month’s Xamarin Podcast episode covers a ton of topics from iOS 13, The post Xamarin Podcast: If The Boots Fit appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

Vicente Guzman avatar

[Webinar] 3era Gira Online Speakers LATAM

16 hours ago | Vicente Guzman

El pasado Lunes 16 de Septiembre tuve la oportunidad de participar en la 3era Gira Online de Speakers de Latinoamerica, evento coordinado por mi amigo Iván Martinez de Perú, en donde brinde una sesión de como crear una Web App Bot desde Azure y como implementarla en una App en Xamarin.Forms. Cabe destacar que el … Sigue leyendo [Webinar] 3era Gira Online Speakers LATAM →

Ahmed Fouad avatar

Rx.NET in the real world

20 hours ago | Ahmed Fouad


Bence Lenart avatar

Xamarin.Forms get user location when it change

23 hours ago | Bence Lenart

This project you can find at: https://github.com/officialdoniald/Xamarin.Forms.DetectUserLocationCange When you need to update the user’s location when it change you can make it in Xamarin.Forms too via DependencyService or using Xamarin.Essentials and create a Timer and get the actual Location per seconds (don’t do that :D). Before coding, we have to satisfy the users permissons. Andorid: … Continue reading Xamarin.

Matt Crombie avatar

Zip files and folders then export them from your app with .NET Standard

yesterday | Matt Crombie

For the majority of the apps I've worked on, there's been a requirement to store some sort of data in files. Whether it's images from the camera or gallery, a database or just log files it seems to come up more often than not. When you're working in the simulator/emulator environment during development it's

Tomasz Cielecki avatar

Talking to a Xiaomi Mijia Temperature Sensor

2 days ago | Tomasz Cielecki

I have a colleague who showed me these lovely Xiaomi Mijia high precision temperature sensors, which can tell you the temperature and air humidity. They are battery powered and they broadcast their information through Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE). My colleague had some issues reading out the values the sensors broadcast over BLE, so I took it up as a small challenge to figure out how to read the values out in a Xamarin.

The Xamarin Show avatar

Android App Bundles 101 | The Xamarin Show

2 days ago | The Xamarin Show

This week, James is joined by friend of the show Jon Douglas, Xamarin.Android Program Manager, who shows off how to start bundling your Android application with App Bundles. He also gives us a 101 crash course into what they are, why you want to use them, and a full guide to get started today!Show Links:Blog: Shrinking Your Android App SizeDocumentation: Android Build Process for App BundlesDev Guide: App BundlesFind James on: Twitter, GitHub, Blog, and his weekly podcast Merge Conflict.

The Xamarin Blog avatar

.NET Conf and Local Events!

2 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

.NET Conf is back again this year and will be live streaming to a device near you September 23-25 on www.dotnetconf.net with local events around the world! .NET Conf is a FREE, 3-day virtual developer event co-organized by the .NET community and Microsoft. The post .NET Conf and Local Events! appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

Matt Crombie avatar

Simple performance analytics with performance logger class

2 days ago | Matt Crombie

At some time or another, we need to track down performance issues. It's inevitable if you develop software for long enough, and especially in mobile development where there's such a vast range of devices that need to be supported. A tool I picked up and have adapted to suit my requirements, is Chris Pietschmann's

Rendy Del Rosario avatar

Hashtags detection in Xamarin Forms

3 days ago | Rendy Del Rosario

Recently, I helped a friend by implementing a feature that detects hashtags and handles when users tap on them. After doing some research got inspired… Continue ReadingHashtags detection in Xamarin Forms The post Hashtags detection in Xamarin Forms appeared first on Rendy's Website.

Leomaris Reyes avatar

Getting started with Xamarin Forms – Latinity Talk

3 days ago | Leomaris Reyes

Event name:                                   Latin American Women in Technology – LATINITY Talk name:                                      Getting started in Xamarin Forms Language:                  …Continue Reading→

Peter Foot avatar

Xamarin Forms MediaElement now available on WPF

3 days ago | Peter Foot

Continuing from my last post on macOS, there is now a MediaElement renderer for WPF in InTheHand.Forms 2.0.2019.913. The native control in WPF is a lot more limited and is missing two big features – no system provided transport controls, and no support for HTTPS sources. The latter is an unfortunate limitation though it looks … Continue reading Xamarin Forms MediaElement now available

Marco Siccardi avatar

[Updated] #XfEffects: Xamarin.Forms Effect to change the TintColor of ImageButton’s image – (new series)

3 days ago | Marco Siccardi

Every now and then, we need to customize our Xamarin.Forms apps to match a theme or other requirements. The Forms API has already a lot of options, but sometimes they aren't enough. A common practice is to write custom renderers, but with the Effects API, there is another cool kid in town.

Syncfusion  avatar

Create Beautiful Mobile Apps in 20 Minutes with the New Xamarin UI Kit Webinar Q&A

3 days ago | Syncfusion

In Syncfusion’s most recent webinar, “Create Beautiful Mobile Apps in 20 Minutes with the New Xamarin UI Kit,” the Essential... The post Create Beautiful Mobile Apps in 20 Minutes with the New Xamarin UI Kit Webinar Q&A appeared first on Syncfusion Blogs.

Merge Conflict avatar

167: My Phone's CPU Has 8.5 Billion Transistors

5 days ago | Merge Conflict

It is all things Apple all the time! That is right, it is the launch of the iPhone 11 and iPhone 11 Pro, but so much more including SERVICE! Apple TV+ and Apple Arcade are GO! Additionally, there is a new iPad, new watches, and a whole lot more! Follow Us Frank: Twitter, Blog, GitHub James: Twitter, Blog, GitHub Merge Conflict: Twitter, Facebook, Website, Chat on Discord Music : Amethyst Seer - Citrine by Adventureface ⭐⭐ Review Us (https://itunes.

Ahmed Fouad avatar

Async Lock In Csharp

5 days ago | Ahmed Fouad


Javier Suarez avatar

[Evento] Monkey Conf 2019

6 days ago | Javier Suarez

El evento Y vuelve el evento técnico Xamarin que estabas esperando, Monkey Conf 2019!. Tras el éxito del evento del año pasado, regresamos con una nueva edición de la Monkey Conf. Volverá a ser un evento gratuito, en el que trataremos temas relacionados con desarrollo móvil, Xamarin, Xamarin.Forms, App Center, testing y más… La fecha … Sigue leyendo →

Javier Suarez avatar

[Xamarin October Challenge] Best Practices

6 days ago | Javier Suarez

Introducción Los retos (Challenges) han sido una de las gratas sorpresas en la comunidad de Xamarin en este año. No solo hemos tenido varios retos, además han sido recibidos y apoyados de una forma muy positiva. ¿Por qué no tener otro reto en el mes de Octubre?. Nuevo Challenge De esta forma nos llega de … Sigue leyendo →

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Get Ready for iOS 13 and Xcode 11

7 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

Support for iOS 13 and Xcode 11 to accompany Apple’s Xcode Gold Master (GM) release was just announced! Additionally, we have also just published updated documentation to help you quickly get started with all the new features. Now, build your Xamarin.iOS (and Xamarin.Forms for iOS) apps with Xcode 11 GM and submit your iOS 13, The post Get Ready for iOS 13 and Xcode 11 appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

The Xamarin Podcast avatar

Episode 65: Pull to Refresh, Pull Requests, and Refresh Views

8 days ago | The Xamarin Podcast

In this month's episode James and Matt talk a bit about everything. iOS 13 and Android 10 are hot off the presses. Xamarin.Forms 4.2 is too! There's something cool called Boots that will keep your feet dry in the pool of continuous integration and Azure Functions now has Dependency Injection! Plus the Pick of the Pod! As always, get yourself some free Azure here (https://azure.microsoft.com/free?WT.

Nigel Ferrissey avatar

XamarinBites 19

8 days ago | Nigel Ferrissey

Vibration (Xamarin.Essentials API of the Week)https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CvPWA1zANAk Developing Xamarin applications in Riderhttps://blog.jetbrains.com/dotnet/2019/09/11/developing-xamarin-applications-rider/ MVVM Navigation with Xamarin.Forms Shell – Part IIhttps://nicksnettravels.builttoroam.com/mvvm-navigation-with-xamarin-forms-shell-part-ii/ Pretty XAML With XAML Styler | The Xamarin Showhttps://www.


Syncfusion  avatar

Sneak Peek at 2019 Volume 3 Beta: Xamarin

8 days ago | Syncfusion

Syncfusion is getting closer to another exciting release in this year, with some cool and useful new controls and features.... The post Sneak Peek at 2019 Volume 3 Beta: Xamarin appeared first on Syncfusion Blogs.

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Microsoft Garage interns REEL: Xamarin.Forms + AI app

8 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

  This past summer, the Microsoft Garage welcomed teams of interns to different Microsoft campuses. Including the Cambridge NERD Center where many Xamarin team members are based. One Garage intern team worked with the Cambridge AI Customer Advisory Team (CAT) to create a mobile app demonstrating their different recommendation algorithms. The post Microsoft Garage interns REEL: Xamarin.Forms + AI app appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

Matt Crombie avatar

Xamarin.Forms repeater control with a data template selector

9 days ago | Matt Crombie

Sometimes, although suited to a very wide range of UI requirements, a ListView introduces more complexity than required, or simply doesn't suit the purpose you're trying to achieve. For example, I recently worked on a project that required a very specific looking UI similar to a "card view" on the main landing screen that a

Gerald Versluis avatar

SourceLink Support for Xamarin.Forms

9 days ago | Gerald Versluis

If you’ve heard of SourceLink already you know what is coming and how this will boost your productivity. If you haven’t heard of it yet, no worries! In this post I will tell you what it is and how to get started with it for Xamarin.Forms. Since the Forms 4.3-pre1 package is out now, you ... Read moreSourceLink Support for Xamarin.Forms The post SourceLink Support for Xamarin.Forms appeared first on Gerald Versluis.

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Xamarin.Forms 4.3 Prerelease and the CarouselView Challenge

9 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

Today we’re announcing the first prerelease of Xamarin.Forms 4.3! The focus of this release is the new CollectionView, a successor to the current ListView. Back in April, we asked you to participate in a CollectionView challenge. The purpose of the challenge was to gather feedback from you, The post Xamarin.Forms 4.3 Prerelease and the CarouselView Challenge appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

Brandon Minnick avatar

Check for Dark Mode in Xamarin.Forms

9 days ago | Brandon Minnick

Both iOS 13 and Android Q now let the user enable Dark Mode for the operating system. Let's explore how to check whether the user has enabled Dark Mode in our Xamarin.Forms apps.

Brandon Minnick avatar

Making ObservableCollection Thread-Safe in Xamarin.Forms

9 days ago | Brandon Minnick

ObservableCollection is the recommended collection to use for ListViews, but it isn't thread safe. Let's explore how we can fix this and use it in our multi-threaded apps!The Xamarin.Forms team recommends using ObservableCollection for ListView.ItemSource, but when we then try to update the collection from different threads,

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Keep Up to Date With the Latest Xamarin Docs

10 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

The Xamarin documentation is the best source of information for building apps with Xamarin and Xamarin.Forms. Follow the quickstart to build your first Android or iOS app with Xamarin.Forms. Then complete the tutorials to learn more about common mobile app concepts. The post Keep Up to Date With the Latest Xamarin Docs appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

Evgeny Zborovsky avatar

Using Native Facebook Login Button in Xamarin.Forms QA

10 days ago | Evgeny Zborovsky

On 9th of March 2018 I wrote an article “Using Native Facebook Login Button in Xamarin.Forms” which turned out to be the second popular article on my blog. Since then, thanks for my readers, I received many additional questions which I decided to answer in this separate article. However, before diving into those questions, I … Continue reading Using Native Facebook Login Button in Xamarin.

Jean-Marie Alfonsi avatar

The Run Away! app part 2: Drawing curves with SkiaSharp

10 days ago | Jean-Marie Alfonsi

This article is the follow-up to https://www.sharpnado.com/run-away-app/. In the previous article I talked about the challenge of displaying gradient lines on top of Google Maps, on this article I will go through some of the questions and issues I raised previously, and add a nice functionnality

The Xamarin Show avatar

Vibration (Xamarin.Essentials API of the Week)

10 days ago | The Xamarin Show

Xamarin.Essentials provides developers with cross-platform APIs for their mobile applications. On this week's Xamarin.Essential API of the week we take a look at the Vibration API to enable you to easily turn on and off the vibration feature on mobile devices.Show Links:Xamarin.Essentials DocumentationXamarin.Essentials Getting Started DocumentationVibration API DocumentationSource CodeFind James on: Twitter, GitHub, Blog, and his weekly podcast Merge Conflict.

Nick Randolph avatar

MVVM Navigation with Xamarin.Forms Shell – Part II

11 days ago | Nick Randolph

Following my previous post on Mvvm Navigation with Xmarin.Forms Shell there were a few things that I felt I hadn’t addressed adequately. Loading Data on Appearing The first thing is how to load data when navigating to a page, and perhaps to do something when the user navigates away from the page. Since it’s the … Continue reading "MVVM Navigation with Xamarin.Forms Shell – Part II" The post MVVM Navigation with Xamarin.

Merge Conflict avatar

166: Disconnecting with a Feature Phone

12 days ago | Merge Conflict

Smartphones are everywhere and are essential in our day to day lives and our business. James has decided to take a step away from his smartphone and experiment with a few feature phones. He walks us through his journey of trying to find a decent feature phone in the US, what the experience is like, and if he can survive on just a few built in apps. Follow Us Frank: Twitter, Blog, GitHub James: Twitter, Blog, GitHub Merge Conflict: Twitter, Facebook, Website, Chat on Discord Music : Amethyst Seer - Citrine by Adventureface ⭐⭐ Review Us (https://itunes.

Matt Crombie avatar

NuGet Package Manager comes to Visual Studio for Mac

12 days ago | Matt Crombie

When I started doing the majority of my Xamarin development work on macOS rather than Windows, there was one thing that drove me insane: The lack of the NuGet package manager that's been a staple of Visual Studio for years. It was almost enough to make me switch back. However, the performance gains of not

Peter Foot avatar

Xamarin Forms MediaElement now available for macOS

12 days ago | Peter Foot

As the Pull Request to Xamarin Forms continues in its holding pattern I thought about what else I can do with it. I had neglected the original codebase for a while but I’ve spent some more time with it recently providing some much needed updates. The latest which was added to NuGet today adds a … Continue reading Xamarin Forms MediaElement now available for macOS →


Samir GC avatar

Create a configurable file for Xamarin forms App

12 days ago | Samir GC

Configuration File Xamarin Forms :   Hi guys , Today we are going to make  configurable file for Xamarin forms app in Development and Production Scenario. Where we really use it ? It’s used in commercial app for code re-usability .   if you are working with large scale application then you might have some Configuration […]

Mikolaj Kieres avatar

Xamarin.Forms - Working with Visual States (Part I - Binding)

13 days ago | Mikolaj Kieres

There's multiple ways of handling visual states of your app pages, views or controls. Depending on how you utilize these techniques, they all might be fine to use. Moreover, you don't need to stick with just one way of handling your states, they all have there pros and cons.

Esteban Solano avatar

Hola WordPress! Resumen de mi participacion en el WordCamp 2019

13 days ago | Esteban Solano

Comparto las diapositivas, links, codigo en GitHub de mi participacion en el WordPress WordCamp 2019 en San Jose, Costa Rica. Gracias a todos por acompañarnos!El domingo 8 de setiembre de 2019, tuve la oportundidad de asistir como ponente al WordCamp 2019, un evento celebrado en San Jose, Costa Rica donde tuvo lugar la edicion de mi pais que logro reunir a la comunidad WordPress local para aprender, compartir y capacitarnos en las nuevas tendencias, practicas y mejores practicas WordPress:Wow! Thanks @WordCampCR for having me my talk at:// Gracias @WordCampCR por invitarme a dar la charla: WordCamp 2019 Costa Rica: @WordPress + #DotNet + @Azure = OMG!! #mvpbuzz #wordpress @msdevlatam @wpfoundation @WPCostaRica https://t.

Samir GC avatar

Customize your Shell Page Xamarin forms

13 days ago | Samir GC

Step 1 : Download MaterialDesign-Webfont-master.ttf  file should be downloaded form here.(https://materialdesignicons.com/). (Watch video to know more : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1csNQtACbVo) Step2 :  Convert that (xxx.ttf)  file fonts  to code : https://github.com/andreinitescu/IconFont2Code Step 3 : Inside IOS Project Info.plist. Edit with xml text editor. Step 4 : Now inside your App.xaml Step 5: App.


Gerald Versluis avatar

Contributing to Xamarin.Forms: My Story

14 days ago | Gerald Versluis

In this series of posts I will go over the basics of contributing to Xamarin.Forms. I have 4 posts planned initially: my story, before you open a pull request (PR), opening a PR and after you opened a PR. In this first post I will tell you a little bit about my background. By sharing ... Read moreContributing to Xamarin.Forms: My Story The post Contributing to Xamarin.Forms: My Story appeared first on Gerald Versluis.


Samir GC avatar

Xamarin Forms Master Detail Page Shell

15 days ago | Samir GC

Beautiful Shell Page Xamarin Forms : For full complete video demo you can check it out here : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hESzkKywazs&feature=youtu.be (Important : Please check if you are on latest version of xamarinforms or not. (Xamarin Forms 4.0 +)) 💻 At first we are going to set up our header theme for our shell page. Note : You […]

Nigel Ferrissey avatar

XamarinBites 18

15 days ago | Nigel Ferrissey

FreshMvvm: So Fresh So Cleanhttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UTA8C9LgrqQ Boost Performance with Compiled Bindings in Xamarin.Formshttps://devblogs.microsoft.com/xamarin/compiled-bindings-xamarin-forms/ Modernizing iOS Apps for Dark Mode with Xamarinhttps://devblogs.microsoft.com/xamarin/modernizing-ios-apps-dark-mode-xamarin/ Understanding Visual State Manager in Xamarin Formshttps://xamgirl.com/understanding-visual-state-manager-in-xamarin-forms/ Fastlane Automation For Mobile Appshttps://channel9.

The Xamarin Show avatar

FreshMvvm: So Fresh So Clean - MVVM for Xamarin.Forms

15 days ago | The Xamarin Show

This week, James is joined by friend of the show Michael Ridland, Microsoft & XamarinMVP, who shows off his awesome MVVM library for Xamarin.Froms MvvmFresh! He talks about what is built in, why you would use it, and how it can simplify development with Xamarin.Forms.Show Links:GitHub: MvvmFreshMichael on TwitterFind James on: Twitter, GitHub, Blog, and his weekly podcast Merge Conflict.

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Boost Performance with Compiled Bindings in Xamarin.Forms

16 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

Data binding is at the core of just about every Xamarin.Forms application. It enabled developers to easily bridge their user interface with their code behind form a simple markup. Data binding also simplifies user interactions and updates to the user interface automatigical! The post Boost Performance with Compiled Bindings in Xamarin.Forms appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

Jérôme Giacomini avatar

Xamarin : Recevoir du texte depuis une autre app Android

17 days ago | Jérôme Giacomini

La possibilité de recevoir du texte et des images depuis une autre application est un comportement qui est devenu la norme sur les applications mobile. Dans cet article nous verrons comment activer la réception de données texte via Xamarin Android. La première étape consiste à modifier la déclaration de l’activité qui va recevoir les données. Dans notre exemple nous allons modifier la MainActivity mais si vous en avez le besoin vous pouvez créer une activité dédiée.