Leomaris Reyes avatar

Adding custom fonts in Xamarin Forms

53 minutes ago | Leomaris Reyes

Often, when we need to apply a design we find different Fonts to which we think fits best with the design, for that reason use a custom Font. That’s what we’re going to be learning in this post!! Let’s start! For the example I will use the Cute Jelyfish font, you can find it here. The first that we have to learn is…Continue Reading→

Luis Pujols avatar

Workshop – Let’s Create a Xamarin Plugin – Monkey Fest LATAM 2019

9 hours ago | Luis Pujols

Hey Guys! I recently had the opportunity of participating in the first Monkey Fest LATAM hosted at Ruta N, Medellin Colombia this past 27 – 28 of September.It was a great event filled with awesome speakers and attendees passionate about Xamarin and all you can achieve with it, the event was divided into two days, … Continue reading "Workshop – Let’s Create a Xamarin Plugin

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Xamarin.Forms 4.3 is live! Introducing CollectionView

13 hours ago | The Xamarin Blog

Today we’re incredibly pleased to announce the stable release of Xamarin.Forms 4.3.0. This release marks the removal of the experimental flag from CollectionView as it moves into stable status. Along with this, comes a number of enhancements and contributions from the community. The post Xamarin.Forms 4.3 is live! Introducing CollectionView appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

The Xamarin Show avatar

Xamarin.Forms 101: Getting to Know your XAML Workspace - Visual Studio 2019 for Mac

14 hours ago | The Xamarin Show

Let's take a step back in a new mini-series that I like to call Xamarin.Forms 101. In each episode we will walk through a basic building block of Xamarin.Forms to help you build awesome cross-platform iOS, Android, and Windows applications in .NET. This week we take a look at building XAML user interface and how to leverage all of the tools built into Visual Studio 2019 for Mac. This includes the toolbox, property panel, and built-in Previewer.

Syncfusion  avatar

How to Digitally Sign and Verify PDF Documents in C# (PDF 2.0 Update)

18 hours ago | Syncfusion

Many professional sectors and industries are using PDF file format to view, print, and share all kinds of information. Imagine... The post How to Digitally Sign and Verify PDF Documents in C# (PDF 2.0 Update) appeared first on Syncfusion Blogs.

Giampaolo Tucci avatar

Xamarin: Strano errore con SDK Microsoft.Azure.Mobile.Client

21 hours ago | Giampaolo Tucci

Come sapete dagli articoli che pubblicato nel blog è da tempo che uso l'SDK Microsoft.Azure.Mobile.Client. Nota importante: Vi posso assicurare che non ci guadagno nulla a fare pubblicità a questo strumento: parola di giovane marmotta. A dire il vero non me ne potrebbe fregare di meno. Ma onestamente è un SDK che mi ha levato dall'impiccio svariate volte, e quindi nutro per esso un affetto da "fratello minore".

Nigel Ferrissey avatar

XamarinBites 23

2 days ago | Nigel Ferrissey

Merge Conflict podcast with Frank and Jameshttps://www.mergeconflict.fm/ Accessibility in Xamarin.Forms | Xamarin Developer Summithttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BljnR8MyOng Hacktober Xamarin.Forms Steven’s first PR!https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oIoaSoREpYI Xamarin.Forms send and receive SMShttps://officialdoniald.azurewebsites.net/2019/10/17/xamarin-forms-send-and-receive-sms/ Flutter vs.

Charlin Agramonte avatar

Using IDialogService on Prism in Xamarin Forms

2 days ago | Charlin Agramonte

To show a dialog in Prism we have the pre-registered service IPageDialogService, but what happens when you want to show a custom dialog? In version 7.2 they introduced the IDialogService which is a pre-registered service that allows you to show custom dialogs. Let’s use it step by step 1.Create a view with your custom design […] The post Using IDialogService on Prism in Xamarin Forms appeared first on XamGirl.

Kerry W. Lothrop avatar

22: Improving Xamarin.Forms developers’ lives with MFractor. With Matthew Robbins

2 days ago | Kerry W. Lothrop

On episode 22 of DevTalk I speak to Matthew Robbins about improving Xamarin.Forms developers’ lives with MFractor. MFractor Visual Studio Extensibility Samples

Merge Conflict avatar

172: Who Turned Out The Lights?

2 days ago | Merge Conflict

Now that the betas are over and the .1 releases are out, it is finally time to actually integrate new features into our app. No better place to start than dark mode! So many considerations when attempting to implement this. Implicit, explicit, system themes? Where to start? We discuss. Follow Us Frank: Twitter, Blog, GitHub James: Twitter, Blog, GitHub Merge Conflict: Twitter, Facebook, Website, Chat on Discord Music : Amethyst Seer - Citrine by Adventureface ⭐⭐ Review Us (https://itunes.

Juliano Custódio avatar

Nevagação com animações – Xamarin.Forms

2 days ago | Juliano Custódio

Neste artigo irei demonstrar como você pode definir animações para a navegação de páginas de suas aplicações feitas com Xamarin.Forms.

Leomaris Reyes avatar

Giving “Xamarin UI ❤️” workshop in the PDSM project

3 days ago | Leomaris Reyes

Workshop name:                          Xamarin UI ❤️ Language:                                       Spanish Participating country:                Dominican Republic  Place:    &#

Delpin Susai Raj avatar

Xamarin.Forms - MVVM ViewModel Locator using MVVM Light

4 days ago | Delpin Susai Raj

In this blog post, you will learn how to create a MVVM ViewModel Locator using MVVM Light in Xamarin.Forms.IntroductionXamarin.Forms code runs on multiple platforms - each of which has its own filesystem. This means that reading and writing files is most easily done using the native file APIs on each platform. Alternatively, embedded resources are a simpler solution to distribute data files with an app.

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Xamarin Podcast: .NET Conf Recap!

4 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

Keeping up with the latest in .NET, C#, Xamarin, and Azure is easier than ever. Co-hosts Matt Soucoup and James Montemagno cover a range of topics relevant to Xamarin developers from designing mobile apps to identity management. This month’s Xamarin Podcast episode features a full .NET Conf 2019 recap! The post Xamarin Podcast: .NET Conf Recap! appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

Matt Crombie avatar

Controlling iOS 13 modal presentation styles in Xamarin.Forms

5 days ago | Matt Crombie

With the official release of iOS 13, I've found that as I move some of the apps I work on up to targeting this that various UI components don't work as they used to. So far, this isn't nearly as much of an issue as the transition from iOS 6 to iOS 7 (for

Bence Lenart avatar

Xamarin.Forms send and receive SMS

5 days ago | Bence Lenart

This project you can find it at: https://github.com/officialdoniald/Xamarin.Forms.SendAndReceiveSMS We can easily send SMS from various platforms, but we can’t read SMSs so easily. Android: Receive SMS: In Android we can send and receive/read SMSs with just few line of code. We have to implement a BroadcastReceiver and gain permission in the AndroidManifest.xml. 1. AndroidManifest.xml(https://github.

Bence Lenart avatar

Xamarin.Forms using Mqtt

5 days ago | Bence Lenart

We can using of course mqtt in Xamarin.Form via dependency service / Xamarin.Forms.MessagingCenter, event or simply create a class instance. We are following the last option. First step, we need to install the MQTTnet NuGet Package for the Solution. (So in each project.) .NET Standard Library: We need to create an MqttClientRepository class in the … Continue reading Xamarin.Forms using Mqtt

David Britch avatar

Xamarin: Connecting to localhost over HTTPS from simulators and emulators

5 days ago | David Britch

Most mobile apps consume web services. During the development phase, it’s common to deploy a web service locally and consume it from a mobile app running in a simulator or emulator.Consuming localhost web services that run over HTTP is straight forward enough. However, it’s more work when the web service runs over HTTPS. This involves:Creating a self-signed developer certificate on your machine.Choosing the network stack to use.

Javier Suarez avatar

Xamarin.Forms y Source Link

6 days ago | Javier Suarez

Introducción Estas desarrollando, todo parece tener lógica pero…no funciona como esperas. Te preguntas, ¿que ocurre?, ¿que estoy haciendo mal?. En ocasiones, el error esta entre la silla y el teclado (en uno mismo) pero en ciertos casos puede ser algo externo a tu código. En el caso de desarrollar aplicaciones Xamarin.Forms, puede deberse a un … Sigue leyendo →

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Welcome to Partly Cloudy!

6 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

We are happy to announce a new series on the Xamarin YouTube Channel called “Partly Cloudy“! What is Partly Cloudy? In each season of Partly Cloudy, you will learn how to build an app from scratch and take it all the way through deployment to the App Stores. The post Welcome to Partly Cloudy! appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

Javier Suarez avatar

Xamarin.Forms en la web con WebAssembly y UNO

6 days ago | Javier Suarez

Introducción Xamarin.Forms en la web. No es la primera vez que hablamos de ello. Dependiendo de con quien hables es una idea que trae malos recuerdos y piensa en algo horrible o piensa que es genial aprovechar la expansión de Xamarin.Forms, llegar a la web y aprovechar para reutilizar herramientas, código, etc. En cualquier caso, … Sigue leyendo →

Matthew Soucoup avatar

Welcome to Partly Cloudy!

6 days ago | Matthew Soucoup

There's a new series on the Xamarin YouTube Channel - and it's Partly Cloudy!

Bas de Cort avatar

GraphQL with .Net Core & Xamarin

6 days ago | Bas de Cort

This blogpost will cover the basics of GraphQL and why You would want to use it. In following blogposts I will elaborate on how to build a GraphQL endpoint with .NET Core 3, and how to consume GraphQL in a Xamarin app.

The Xamarin Show avatar

Unit Conversion (Xamarin.Essentials API of the Week)

7 days ago | The Xamarin Show

Xamarin.Essentials provides developers with cross-platform APIs for their mobile applications. On this week's Xamarin.Essential API of the week we take a look at the built in unit converters to easily convert.... units of measure!Show Links:Xamarin.Essentials DocumentationXamarin.Essentials Getting Started DocumentationUnit Converters API DocumentationSource CodeFind James on: Twitter, GitHub, Blog, and his weekly podcast Merge Conflict.

Syncfusion  avatar

Introducing Xamarin.Forms Rich Text Editor

7 days ago | Syncfusion

Well-formatted content conveys important information better than unformatted content. Nowadays, it’s hard to find rich text in mobile applications since... The post Introducing Xamarin.Forms Rich Text Editor appeared first on Syncfusion Blogs.

Jefferson Balivo avatar

Xamarin e Flutter: Analisando bits e bytes livre de hypes!

8 days ago | Jefferson Balivo

Analisando as tecnologias Flutter e Xamarin de forma aprofundada e realista... Nada de hypes, somente bits! O post Xamarin e Flutter: Analisando bits e bytes livre de hypes! apareceu primeiro em Jefferson Balivo.

Nigel Ferrissey avatar

XamarinBites 22

8 days ago | Nigel Ferrissey

Launcher (Xamarin.Essentials API of the Week)https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2mX0jLck-7I Xamarin.Forms Design Time Data Tips & Best Practiceshttps://montemagno.com/xamarin-forms-design-time-data-tips-best-practices/ Replicating Facebook Profile UI in Xamarin Formshttps://askxammy.com/replicating-facebook-profile-ui-in-xamarin-forms/ Getting phone contacts in Xamarin Formshttps://www.xamboy.com/2019/10/10/getting-phone-contacts-in-xamarin-forms/ Hacktoberfest 2019 – Xamarin Editionhttps://devblogs.

James Montemagno avatar

Opt-out of Dark Mode on iOS, Android, UWP, and macOS

8 days ago | James Montemagno

Sometimes you just want your app to opt-out of dark mode and use light theme or your own. Here is how you do it.

Syncfusion  avatar

Introducing Shimmer in Xamarin.Forms

8 days ago | Syncfusion

In an application, a user should see that data is being loaded when it really is. Otherwise, it might look... The post Introducing Shimmer in Xamarin.Forms appeared first on Syncfusion Blogs.

Jesús Angulo avatar

Agregando Xamarin Hot-reload a una aplicación existente

8 days ago | Jesús Angulo

Usar Xamarin Hot-reload es increíblemente simple en proyectos nuevos pero en proyectos existentes requiere que actualicemos nuestro proyecto a la ultima versión de Xamarin.Forms disponible. Para este post voy a utilizar un proyecto de ejemplo que cree hace aproximadamente un año, así que en ese entonces utilizaba la versión


Ione Souza Junior avatar

Duolingo App clone com Xamarin.Forms

10 days ago | Ione Souza Junior

Fala galera! Tudo bem com vocês?Depois de um tempo, aqui estou escrevendo novamente! Mas hoje não vai ter nenhum artigo técnico, apenas vou compartilhar com vocês uma série de live streams que estou fazendo para desenvolver um clone do app … Continue lendo →


Brandon Minnick avatar

Xamarin: Creating a Dark Mode Splash Screen

11 days ago | Brandon Minnick

Now that iOS 13 and Android Q support Dark Mode, we'll want our app's Splash Screen to be dark too. Let's explore how to create a Splash Screen that is dark when Dark Mode is enabled, but still light when Dark Mode is disabled!

Leomaris Reyes avatar

Replicating Facebook Profile UI in Xamarin Forms

11 days ago | Leomaris Reyes

Hello guys!! This time, I created a post that’s a little different than my usual posts, I built a Facebook Profile UI! So you’ll be able to the whole code, I will list the elements I used and leave some explanatory posts so you can understand them better in case you have not used them yet. Let me tell you…Continue Reading→

The Xamarin Podcast avatar

Episode 66: .NET Conf Recap!

11 days ago | The Xamarin Podcast

In this month's episode James and Matt recap .NET Conf! .NET Conf just happened and if you missed anything don't worry, because... We. Have. You. Covered. There were a ton of great announcements and we talk about them all. Including all of the Xamarin related sessions, what Hot Restart is, and the release of a ton of .NET 101 videos. Oh ... and did you know that XAML Hot Reload is hiding in plain sight within the stable version of Visual Studio!?!? We have all of that, and cloud news, and the Azure service of the month.

Kodjo Laurent Egbakou avatar

Xamarin UI Challenge - Credit Card Checkout

11 days ago | Kodjo Laurent Egbakou


James Montemagno avatar

Xamarin.Forms Design Time Data Tips & Best Practices

12 days ago | James Montemagno

Tips, Tricks, and best practices for using design time data with Xamarin.Forms, the previewer, and XAML Hot Reload.

The Xamarin Show avatar

XamRight - Richer, Safer XAML Coding Experience | The Xamarin Show

12 days ago | The Xamarin Show

This week, James is joined by friend of the show David Sielaff, who shows us his awesome Visual Studio extension XamRight for XAML editing! XamRight is a tool to make it easier to maintain and enhance Xamarin Forms apps.  At its core is a powerful static analysis engine, customized to understand C# and XAML.  This provides XAMLbinding expression checking and autocomplete without any need for configuration, as well as numerous other code checking, inspection, and navigation features.

Alessandro Caliaro avatar

Update Xamarin Forms libraries before start a new app

13 days ago | Alessandro Caliaro

When you create a new Xamarin Forms project, the template download 28.0.1 Android libraries, but them are old because there is a new 28.0.3 version. If you try to upgrade the package, NuGet returns some errors. There are also some other libraries to update like Xamarin.Forms, Xamarin.Essentials and Microsoft.NETCore.UniversalWindowsPlatform for UWP Project. Here a sequence … Leggi tutto Upda

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Introducing the DevOps for Mobile Video Series

13 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

The entire Xamarin team and community have produced and published some amazing Xamarin content on the Xamarin Developers YouTube. Each week, find new videos of all topics to stay up to date on the latest and greatest in mobile development with Xamarin. The post Introducing the DevOps for Mobile Video Series appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

Syncfusion  avatar

What’s New in 2019 Volume 3: Xamarin.Forms WPF

13 days ago | Syncfusion

I’m so pleased to announce that our latest release, the 2019 Volume 3, is rolled out and packed with new controls... The post What’s New in 2019 Volume 3: Xamarin.Forms WPF appeared first on Syncfusion Blogs.

Andrew Hoefling avatar

Android Wi-Fi Debugging with ADB and Xamarin Visual Studio

14 days ago | Andrew Hoefling

Debugging an Android App over wifi opens up new scenarios that you can't simulate with an emulator or connected device via USB. If you are like me and have custom hardware that requires a large charging cradle, it makes it even harder to test a device in your hand. See my blog about the Zebra TC70x which shows you the kind of device I am currently working with.

Brandon Minnick avatar

Version Conflict Detected for Xamarin.Android.Support

14 days ago | Brandon Minnick

Both Xamarin.Forms and Xamarin.Essentials recently increased their Xamarin.Android.Support dependency to v28.0.0.3, and it might cause a weird error when updating NuGet Packages. Let's see how to fix it!

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Hacktoberfest 2019 – Xamarin Edition

14 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

Before we have even announced rewards for your contributions, twelve pull requests appeared on the Xamarin.Forms repository with the gloriously golden hacktoberfest label. Whether you are coding for cotton or from the depths of your love for Xamarin, let’s up the ante. The post Hacktoberfest 2019 – Xamarin Edition appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

The Xamarin Show avatar

Launcher (Xamarin.Essentials API of the Week)

14 days ago | The Xamarin Show

Xamarin.Essentials provides developers with cross-platform APIs for their mobile applications. On this week's Xamarin.Essential API of the week we take a look at the Launcher API to directly deep link into your app or other apps on the users device.Show Links:Xamarin.Essentials DocumentationXamarin.Essentials Getting Started DocumentationLauncher API DocumentationSource CodeFind James on: Twitter, GitHub, Blog, and his weekly podcast Merge Conflict.

Nigel Ferrissey avatar

XamarinBites 21

15 days ago | Nigel Ferrissey

Xamarin.Forms 101: Getting to Know your XAML Workspacehttps://channel9.msdn.com/Shows/XamarinShow/XamarinForms-101-Getting-to-Know-your-XAML-Workspace-Visual-Studio-2019-for-Windows Xamarin.Forms – Sign In with Applehttps://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/samples/xamarin/xamarin-forms-samples/signinwithapple/ Using Effects on Xamarin.Formshttps://geeks.ms/xamarinteam/2019/10/02/using-effects-on-xamarin-forms/ XamRight plugin for Visual Studiohttps://marketplace.


Syncfusion  avatar

Syncfusion Essential Studio 2019 Volume 3 is Here!

15 days ago | Syncfusion

Syncfusion is happy to announce that Essential Studio 2019 Volume 3 is available for download. There are major improvements to... The post Syncfusion Essential Studio 2019 Volume 3 is Here! appeared first on Syncfusion Blogs.

Bence Lenart avatar

Xamarin.Forms Runtime Permission Handling above Android 6.0

15 days ago | Bence Lenart

After Android 6.0, we have to using Runtime Persmissions. No more enaugth to create an Android.Manifest file. How can we correctly use it? Step 1: Android.Manifest file Still we have to create an Android.Manifest file, but a little bit otherwise. We have to use this way: https://developer.android.com/training/permissions/requesting#java. So, if we have used it so far … Continue reading Xamarin.