141: Visual Studio 2019 HYPE

9 hours ago

HYPE HYPE HYPE! It is almost time for a brand new version of Visual Studio with awesome new features including a brand new editor on Visual Studio for Mac. We also look at source control, first run experience, C# 8, .NET Core 3, and so much more. Follow Us Frank: Twitter, Blog, GitHub James: Twitter, Blog, GitHub Merge Conflict: Twitter, Facebook, Website, Chat on Discord Music : Amethyst Seer - Citrine by Adventureface ⭐⭐ Review Us (https://itunes.

Elbrinner da Silva Fernandes avatar

Plugins para Xamarin Forms

3 days ago | Elbrinner da Silva Fernandes

La comunidad de Xamarin es muy activa, resultado de estos son los distintos plugins que podemos encontrar que nos hará el trabajo más simple. Entre la gran variedad de plugins, me gustaría destacar algunos que uso con mucha preferencia.

Super Fast Image Loading for Android Apps with GlideX

3 days ago | James Montemagno

This week, James is joined yet again by friend of the show Jonathan Peppers, Xamarin.Android engineer, shows us how to optimize image loading for Android applications when using traditional Android XML or developing with Xamarin.Forms! With GildeX you are able to speed up your app, minimize your memory footprint, and get smooth scrolling!Show Links:GitHub: HelloGlideX SampleXamarin.Android Gitter ChatFind James on: Twitter, GitHub, Blog, and his weekly podcast Merge Conflict.


Javier Suarez avatar

[VS4Mac] Lottie Player, nuevo addin para previsualizar animaciones Lottie

4 days ago | Javier Suarez

Introducción ¿Te imaginas tomar una animación creada por un diseñador y poder utilizarla?. Lottie es una librería de animaciones creada por Airbnb para iOS y Android que se encarga de tomar animaciones de After Effect exportadas en JSON y renderizarla utilizando APIs de animación nativa en cada plataforma. Las animaciones pueden ser extremadamente complejas pero … Sigue leyendo →

Matthew Soucoup avatar

Mobile Apps + Azure Keyvault ... Don't Do It!

5 days ago | Matthew Soucoup

Learn how to (not) use Azure Keyvault with a Xamarin application!


Pieter Nijs avatar

Get Geo Location in background with Xamarin.Essentials on iOS

6 days ago | Pieter Nijs

Getting the Geo Location by using Xamarin.Essentials doesn’t work when the app is in the background. Let’s see how we can ‘fix’ this (on iOS)! Xamarin.Essentials Xamarin.Essentials is a fantastic library containing many cross-platform APIs for mobile applications. Things like... Continue Reading →

Maratona Xamarin Live

6 days ago | Juliano Custódio

Quer estudar Xamarin com um conteúdo de qualidade e gratuito ? Então não perca a Maratona Xamarin Live. 

Select Multiple Images and Videos in Xamarin Forms

6 days ago | Rendy

Inspired by a Xamgirl blog post about selecting multiple images from the gallery decided to do an updated version that will allow selecting multiple images… Continue ReadingSelect Multiple Images and Videos in Xamarin Forms The post Select Multiple Images and Videos in Xamarin Forms appeared first on Rendy's Website.

Peter Foot avatar

Xamarin Forms Fast Renderers – Part 2 Android

6 days ago | Peter Foot

Following on from Part 1, this post will briefly discuss the Android approach to Fast Renderers. Again there isn’t really any documentation for control builders, but there are examples within the Xamarin Forms source to work from. Xamarin Android like iOS uses an IVisualElementRenderer interface which is very similar to the iOS equivalent. The differences … Continue reading Xamarin For

Xamarin no MVP Conf LATAM 2019

7 days ago | Juliano Custódio

Olá... Quer saber o que é o MVP Conf LATAM 2019 e tudo o que vai rolar sobre Xamarin neste evento ? Então este post é para você !!

140: Visual Dreams and WebAssembly Wishes

7 days ago

It is time for more listener submitted lightning topics! This week we cover Xamarin.Forms Visual, how we start an app, WebAssembly wishes, career languages, and chat about people we deeply respect and admire. Follow Us Frank: Twitter, Blog, GitHub James: Twitter, Blog, GitHub Merge Conflict: Twitter, Facebook, Website, Chat on Discord Music : Amethyst Seer - Citrine by Adventureface ⭐⭐ Review Us (https://itunes.

Luis Pujols avatar

Let’s Talk Architecture with Prism – Xamarin Forms / South Florida Code Camp 2019

7 days ago | Luis Pujols

Hey Guys! On Saturday 2nd of March, I had the opportunity of participating in the 15th edition of South Florida Code Camp, that is a one-day GEEK FEST community event driven by a group of dedicated volunteers and speakers. I got the chance to talk about Architecture with Prism in Xamarin Forms. Event name:   … Continue reading "Let’s Talk Architecture with Prism – Xamarin Fo

Daniel Hindrikes avatar

Xamarin.Forms Visual

7 days ago | Daniel Hindrikes

With Xamarin.Forms 3.6 Xamarin/Microsoft is shipping a new feature, Visual. Visual was earlier a part of the Xamarin.Forms 4.0 release, but now it was included in the Xamarin.Forms 3.6 release. Material design Visual was created with the idea to make it easy for developers to implement one common user experience for both iOS and Android. […]

Peter Foot avatar

Xamarin Forms Fast Renderers – Part 1 iOS

9 days ago | Peter Foot

A Xamarin Forms Renderer provides the device-specific logic to display a Xamarin Forms control using platform-native UI. Traditionally this was done using the ViewRenderer<T,T> base class. What this actually creates in the UI hierarchy is two controls – the outer being a basic place-holder providing layout logic and the inner control being the desired native … Continue reading

James Montemagno avatar

The Beautiful & Complex FlexLayout Comes to Hanselman.Forms

9 days ago | James Montemagno

The next stage of app modernization is optimizing the layout. I take on FlexLayout for complex awesome.


Damien Doumer avatar

Building An Edit Label Custom Control in Xamarin Forms.

10 days ago | Damien Doumer

When displaying textual information to your user, you want it to be well displayed with good font size, appropriate style, text color… But you also want the user to edit this information with minimum efforts. Let’s say you have a page in your app with a title, or several labels containing text. And you want... The post Building An Edit Label Custom Control in Xamarin Forms. appeared first on Cool Coders.

The Xamarin Podcast avatar

Episode 59: POP! New docs, blogs, customer showcases, and Twitch streams!

10 days ago | The Xamarin Podcast

Lots of new great stuff to talk about this month! New, new, new web pages galore! Xamarin landing documentation page, Xamarin development blog, and customer app showcase! James tells us how to debug ASP.NET Core Web APIs from Android, and find out what POP means. All of that this month and more! Show Notes Brand new Xamarin documentation landing page! (https://docs.microsoft.com/xamarin?WT.mc_id=vsmobiledev59-podcast-masoucou) One stop shop for all the Microsoft development blogs (https://devblogs.

Trailhead Technology  avatar

Accelerate creation of Xamarin.Forms custom controls with SkiaSharpFiddle

10 days ago | Trailhead Technology

Many years ago I was working on a wind turbine app and had to create a gauge control for it. I was searching for anyRead more

James Montemagno avatar

Control Text Size on Android Bottom Navigation View

12 days ago | James Montemagno

Easily set a static text size for your tabs when using Bottom Navigation View.

Gone Mobile 85: Creating Low-Code Apps Using OutSystems with Stacey Levine

12 days ago

OutSystems allows you to do some pretty amazing things with Low to No Code. We talk to Stacey Levine about their platform to see just how much you an accomplish without coding! Special Guest: Stacey Levine.

Martin Zikmund avatar

How a simple row or column span can make or break your Xamarin.Forms Grid

12 days ago | Martin Zikmund

Today I will share a pretty surprising issue with you. It took me a while to debug and hence this…

Luis Pujols avatar

Streaming on Xamarin Forms – Xamarin Online LATAM FEST

12 days ago | Luis Pujols

Hey Guys! The last Tuesday, I had the opportunity of participating on a great initiative of the Xamarin LATAM Community lead by Luis Beltrán, that has the objective of sharing knowledge monthly with the community online, I got the chance to talk about Live-streaming on Xamarin Forms using the newly pre-release Wowza Client Plugin. Event … Continue reading "Streaming on Xamarin Forms –

Accelerometer (Xamarin.Essentials API of the Week)

13 days ago | James Montemagno

Xamarin.Essentials provides developers with cross-platform APIs for their mobile applications. On this week's Essential API of the week we take a look at Accelerometer, which enables you monitor the device's accelerometer sensor, which indicates the acceleration of the device in three-dimensional space.Show Notes:Xamarin.Essentials DocumentationXamarin.Essentials Getting Started DocumentationAccelerometer DocumentationSource Code: Tilt MazeSource CodeFind James on: Twitter, GitHub, Blog, and his weekly development podcast Merge Conflict.

Gerald Versluis avatar

Unselected and Selected Tab Color for TabbedPage in Xamarin.Forms

14 days ago | Gerald Versluis

Some time ago, Android had a platform-specific implemented that allowed you to set the tab color for a selected and unselected tab separately. After that, an issue was opened on GitHub, to also implement this for iOS. In this post, I will describe how I implemented this feature, now for iOS, Android, and UWP and ... Read moreUnselected and Selected Tab Color for TabbedPage in Xamarin.Forms The post Unselected and Selected Tab Color for TabbedPage in Xamarin.

139: Foldables == Tablets on Demand

14 days ago

Regardless if you want a foldable phone or not they are coming! In fact they are here today with new devices from Samsung and Huawei! We give our thoughts on the foldable revolution and their impact on mobile application development. Follow Us Frank: Twitter, Blog, GitHub James: Twitter, Blog, GitHub Merge Conflict: Twitter, Facebook, Website, Chat on Discord Music : Amethyst Seer - Citrine by Adventureface ⭐⭐ Review Us (https://itunes.

Showing tooltips in Xamarin Forms

16 days ago | Rendy

Sometimes we want to show a quick piece of information by tapping on a view, this is commonly known as a tooltip. Recently I was… Continue ReadingShowing tooltips in Xamarin Forms The post Showing tooltips in Xamarin Forms appeared first on Rendy's Website.

James Montemagno avatar

Modernizing Hanselman.Forms: A Customizable Brand Mobile App

16 days ago | James Montemagno

Time to update the lovely Hanselman.Forms mobile application built with Xamarin.Forms. I will be live streaming and collaborating with the community for updates!

Xamarin.Forms 101: Control Reference Binding (View-to-View)

17 days ago | James Montemagno

Let's take a step back in a new mini-series that I like to call Xamarin.Forms 101. In each episode we will walk through a basic building block of Xamarin.Forms to help you build awesome cross-platform iOS, Android, and Windows applications in .NET. This week we will learn how to use control reference binding to data bind a value of one control to another!Show Notes:Xamarin.Forms Data Binding DocumentationXamarin.

Javier Suarez avatar

[Xamarin.Forms Challenge] My Tasks

18 days ago | Javier Suarez

Introducción Según evoluciona de Xamarin.Forms, llegan más y más opciones que simplifican la creación de diferentes elementos de la interfaz de usuario. En el estado actual de Xamarin.Forms se pueden conseguir aplicaciones nativas de gran escala, con interfaces cuidadas y con alta integración con la plataforma. Hay que tener en cuenta el conjunto de Custom … Sigue leyendo →

Leomaris Reyes avatar

Xamarin Online LATAM Fest LIVE: Tips to become a technical blogger, my experience as Xamarin Blogger

18 days ago | Leomaris Reyes

About the video: Event name:                                    Xamarin Online LATAM Fest, January 2019 LIVE Name:                                     Why becoming a blogger help you grow in your career: My experience as…Continue Reading→

Esteban Solano avatar

Xamarin+Open Source=Love, Una historia que no acaba

18 days ago | Esteban Solano

Como parte del #mesXamarin #XamarinMonth/#MesXamarin, comparto un poco de mi historia con Xamarin y lo mucho que he recibido y aprendido de esta tecnología y su gran comunidad. ¡El tiempo vuela! Vamos cerrando Febrero 2019 (casi 15% del año consumido ya) y los años se pasan rápido. No hace nada que conocí Xamarin por primera vez, por allí de 2015, y a pesar de que no era algo fácil de acceder tuve la oportunidad de conocerlo a través de terceros y un poco de vista a lo lejos.

Martin Zikmund avatar

Removing Row and Column Spacing from Xamarin.Forms Grid

18 days ago | Martin Zikmund

Xamarin.Forms Grid allows us to specify spacing between individual rows and columns using RowSpacing and ColumnSpacing properties. While this is…

Gerald Versluis avatar

Gur.Codes(); MFractor episodes: Font Importer & Image Assets Manager

19 days ago | Gerald Versluis

I have been recording videos for a while now, named Gur.Codes();. And I’ll admit it, I have been really releasing videos consequently. But recently, I have been taking it up again and recorded two videos about an extension that I love: MFractor. About MFractor MFractor is a plugin for Visual Studio for Mac, founded by ... Read moreGur.Codes(); MFractor episodes: Font Importer & Image Assets Manager The post Gur.

Jesús Angulo avatar

Boton con degradado para Xamarin.Forms usando NControl

19 days ago | Jesús Angulo

En este post construiremos un botón con gradiente de fondo para Xamarin.Forms usando la librería NControl. NControl utiliza NGraphics para dibujar de forma eficiente de modo cross-platform.Empecemos...Alguna vez te has topado con algún diseño que incluya gradientes por ejemplo en botones, si? yo también. Xamarin.Forms no


Maps (Xamarin.Essentials API of the Week)

20 days ago | James Montemagno

Xamarin.Essentials provides developers with cross-platform APIs for their mobile applications. On this week's Essential API of the week we take a look at Maps, which enables you to open the default map application on the users device to a specific location or start navigation to a location.Show Notes:Xamarin.Essentials DocumentationXamarin.Essentials Getting Started DocumentationMaps DocumentationSource CodeFind James on: Twitter, GitHub, Blog, and his weekly development podcast Merge Conflict.


Charlin Agramonte avatar

Quick tip – Floating Decimal Text in Xamarin Forms

20 days ago | Charlin Agramonte

Recently I was talking with my designer pal Claudio, about the importance of the little details when developing a mobile app, little things such as colors, formatted text can change the user experience. In this article I’m going to show you a quick tip on how to show the decimal numbers in a better way. […] The post Quick tip – Floating Decimal Text in Xamarin Forms appeared first on XamGirl.

Visual: The future of Xamarin Forms

20 days ago | Luis Matos

Shell, Visual and CollectionView are the new features highlighted in the new version of Xamarin.Forms 4.0. You can see more about this update here. In case, if you did not find out, this publication belongs to the first #XamarinMonth where a calendar is shared with recent content from incredible authors that will make you blow [...] La entrada Visual: The future of Xamarin Forms se publicó primero en Luis Matos.

138: Organized Productivity

21 days ago

When was the last time you completely tore apart your work space and optimized it for full productivity? We are talking about creating a unique, organized, and happy work office that you actually want to come to every day. We talk about our recent experiences in creating a great work at home experience. Follow Us Frank: Twitter, Blog, GitHub James: Twitter, Blog, GitHub Merge Conflict: Twitter, Facebook, Website, Chat on Discord Music : Amethyst Seer - Citrine by Adventureface ⭐⭐ Review Us (https://itunes.


Luis Pujols avatar

Sharing is Caring – Xamarin Forms and Prism Template Pack

22 days ago | Luis Pujols

Hey Guys! Recently I got to help out a member of our Xamarin Forms Developer Community on Facebook called Elsa Bodhi she’s a great Software Developer from the Netherlands, that’s learning Xamarin from scratch and I got to introduce her to some new concepts she could use to improve her Xamarin app’s one of which … Continue reading "Sharing is Caring – Xamarin Forms and

Overlay view in Xamarin Forms

23 days ago | Rendy

A year ago we had a particularly interesting UX request from one of our customer’s applications, which was showing an overlay with a transparent shape… Continue ReadingOverlay view in Xamarin Forms The post Overlay view in Xamarin Forms appeared first on Rendy's Website.

Jérôme Giacomini avatar

EntityFramework Core et Sqlite : Upsert/Replace

24 days ago | Jérôme Giacomini

Aujourd’hui je devais insérer ou mettre à jour massivement des milliers de lignes dans une base de données SQLite en utilisant Entity Framework Core. Le contexte Une approche simple pour effectuer cette opération pourrait être : de vérifier si la ligne existe en base de données de l’insérer si elle n’existe pas de la mettre à jour si elle existe Cependant, cette approche est anti-performante car, pour chaque ligne à mettre à jour, il faudrait effectuer deux requêtes.

James Montemagno avatar

Xamarin.Forms: Fully Customize Bottom Tabs on Android & Turn Off Shifting

24 days ago | James Montemagno

Fully customize those bottom tabs on Android for Xamarin.Forms apps and turn off shifting completely with a few lines of code.

Five Things to Love About Xamarin.Forms 3.5

24 days ago | James Montemagno

This week, James is joined yet again by friend of the show David Ortinau, Xamarin SDK & Xamarin.Forms Program Manager, tells us all about the latest features to love in Xamarin.Forms 3.5. You don't want to miss this awesome episode packed with features such as Bindable Layout, Accessibility Support, and tons of community contributions.Show Links:GitHub: Little Things PlaygroundBlog: 5 Things You'll Love in Xamarin.