The Xamarin Blog avatar

Relive Xamarin Developer Summit with On-Demand Videos

an hour ago | The Xamarin Blog

This summer developers from around the world gathered for the Xamarin Developer Summit. The two-day event was packed full of deep technical content from the Xamarin team and amazing community members. For those that could not attend, we hosted a live stream of the main session hall on the Xamarin Developers YouTube channel. The post Relive Xamarin Developer Summit with On-Demand Videos appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

Matt Crombie avatar

Making iOS 13 segmented controls prettier in Xamarin.Forms

12 hours ago | Matt Crombie

Following on from my last post about iOS 13, I've since had the need to update various apps that have a segmented control. I've been using Alexander Reyes cool control Segmented Control Plugin for Xamarin.Forms (I believe there are a few others out there as well) to get keep everything nicely in XAML and working

The Xamarin Show avatar

Syncfusion Essential Studio and UI Kit for Xamarin & Xamarin.Forms

22 hours ago | The Xamarin Show

This week, James is joined by friend of the show Prabakaran, developer at Syncfusion, who shows off the latest and greatest that Syncfusion has to offer for Xamarin developers. He talks through the latest controls in the ever expanding 145+ toolkit for Xamarin and Xamarin.Forms. He also talks about the new pre-made XAML templates part of the free Essential UI Kit for Xamarin.Forms. Finally, we talk about an exciting announcement around Syncfusion being included in Visual Studio Dev Essentials.

Luis Beltran avatar

Protegido: Curso Básico de Xamarin: Implementando MVVM en Xamarin.Forms

yesterday | Luis Beltran

No hay extracto porque es una entrada protegida.

Luis Beltran avatar

Protegido: Curso Básico de Xamarin: Utilizando la cámara en Xamarin.Forms

yesterday | Luis Beltran

No hay extracto porque es una entrada protegida.

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Pull-to-refresh with Xamarin.Forms RefreshView

2 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

There are tons of great new features packed into Xamarin.Forms 4.3. A new favorite feature is CollectionView. A highly performant and flexible way of displaying a list of data in a variety of layouts. One frequently-asked question with CollectionView, or other scrolling layouts, The post Pull-to-refresh with Xamarin.Forms RefreshView appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

James Montemagno avatar

Azure DevOps Settings for Xamarin iOS 13 and Android 10 Apps

2 days ago | James Montemagno

Quick and simple steps to setup Azure DevOps to build and compile your iOS and Android applications with C# 8 and .NET Core 3.

Syncfusion  avatar

What’s New to Xamarin.Forms 4+ Webinar Q&A

2 days ago | Syncfusion

In Syncfusion’s most recent webinar, “What’s New to Xamarin.Forms 4+ Featuring Microsoft MVP Alessandro Del Sole,” Xamarin.Forms Succinctly author and... The post What’s New to Xamarin.Forms 4+ Webinar Q&A appeared first on Syncfusion Blogs.

Syncfusion  avatar

15 Tips and Tricks to Increase Your Productivity in Visual Studio 2019

2 days ago | Syncfusion

Introduction Visual Studio 2019 is packed with new features for smartly handling code for different projects. This blog compiles tips... The post 15 Tips and Tricks to Increase Your Productivity in Visual Studio 2019 appeared first on Syncfusion Blogs.

Rendy Del Rosario avatar

Social Media Authentication – Google login in Xamarin Forms

3 days ago | Rendy Del Rosario

This is the third article of the series about Social Media Authentication. In the previous one, I showed how to integrate Instagram authentication. In this… Continue ReadingSocial Media Authentication – Google login in Xamarin Forms The post Social Media Authentication – Google login in Xamarin Forms appeared first on Rendy's Website.

Marco Siccardi avatar

What I’ve learned from porting my first app ever to Android and iOS with Xamarin

3 days ago | Marco Siccardi

I finally finished to port my first app ever from Windows Phone to Android and iOS - Fishing Knots + is finally published in the Google Play Store as well as on the Apple Appstore. This post summarizes what I've learned during the process of porting.

Hussain Abbasi avatar

Explore Prism.Forms With Prism Form Features Gallery

3 days ago | Hussain Abbasi

If you want to explore the framework, or if you are already using Prism.Forms and would like to know what all it has to offer, perhaps you are a product owner and would like to test out Prism.Forms APIs with your product, or you are a community contributor who would like to learn, share, teach, blog or speak on Prism.Forms, Prism.Forms Gallery is for you. Prism.Forms Gallery demonstrates a number of Prism and Prism.

Nigel Ferrissey avatar

XamarinBites 27

3 days ago | Nigel Ferrissey

What’s New in Xamarin.Forms 4+ featuring Microsoft MVP Alessandro Del Solehttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mjKg_kGs_-E Xamarin.Forms on Samsung Wearable and TV productshttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6sA0ybMfJYw All Things Xamarin at Microsoft Ignite 2019https://devblogs.microsoft.com/xamarin/xamarin-at-microsoft-ignite-2019/ Build Great Xamarin Apps with App Centerhttps://devblogs.microsoft.com/xamarin/app-center-xamarin-apps/ Partly Cloudy: Inform Me (Bing News API)https://www.

Syncfusion  avatar

Material Design Improvements for Syncfusion Xamarin.Forms Controls

4 days ago | Syncfusion

The Material design concept by Google has completely changed the way the Android applications are developed. By following the provided guidelines on how... The post Material Design Improvements for Syncfusion Xamarin.Forms Controls appeared first on Syncfusion Blogs.

Merge Conflict avatar

176: The Ultimate Developer Machine

4 days ago | Merge Conflict

Apple has finally put the Pro back in MacBook Pro with the new 16-inch. We discuss if this is finally the ultimate developer machine, what we would pick, why we would pick it, and if you really need to spend this month money :) Follow Us Frank: Twitter, Blog, GitHub James: Twitter, Blog, GitHub Merge Conflict: Twitter, Facebook, Website, Chat on Discord Music : Amethyst Seer - Citrine by Adventureface ⭐⭐ Review Us (https://itunes.

Nick Randolph avatar

Running Android Device Tests for Xamarin.Essentials on Windows

4 days ago | Nick Randolph

As a developer working with Xamarin or Xamarin.Forms you should be aware of the Xamarin.Essentials package that Microsoft have been developing that “provides developers with cross-platform APIs for their mobile applications”. If you haven’t taken the time to look through the source code, it’s well worth cloning the repository and taking a look. Not only … Continue reading "Running Android Device Tests for Xamarin.

Leomaris Reyes avatar

Getting started with Visual State Manager (VSM) in Xamarin Forms

5 days ago | Leomaris Reyes

When we are developing an application we usually face requirements that needs some visual changes depending of a specific control’s state. For example, we may need to increase the height of an Entry while the user is writing, but we may also need to modify the text color, the most important is that all of this must happen when the…Continue Reading→

Tomasz Cielecki avatar

Connecting to WiFi in Android 10

6 days ago | Tomasz Cielecki

Android 10 was recently released and it introduces a bunch of changes in terms of Privacy. This means that access to /proc/net from the Linux sub-system has been restricted, which requires you to use NetworkStatsManager and ConnectivityManager to get VPN information. It adds restrictions to who is allowed to enable/disable WiFi. We could previously use WifiManager.SetWifiEnabled(), but not anymore, this method will return false.

James Montemagno avatar

Is the MacBook Pro 16-inch the Ultimate Developer Laptop?

6 days ago | James Montemagno

Is the MacBook Pro 16-inch the only developer machine that you will need? Let's take a look!

John Thiriet avatar

Xamarin Android - Reference custom fonts in XML

6 days ago | John Thiriet

Using custom fonts in Android applications have always been a bit of a pain. Instead of being able to set fonts by XML, it was necessary to write code to set the desired font in a widget. To circumvent this problem, I had been using the Calligraphy library for the past couple of years, as well as embedding those fonts inside the application. At last, Android 8 (API level 26) introduced a native solution to this problem.

Vicente Guzman avatar

Getting Started with the Telerik SideDrawer Control in Xamarin.Forms

7 days ago | Vicente Guzman

It is normal to see a side menu in every application that allows the user to navigate to other sections quickly and as a Xamarin developer, we know that there are several ways to implement this option, some complex and others not so much. Considering this, Telerik decided to create the SideDrawer control that allows... Leer más →

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Announcing the 2019 Xamarin Hacktoberfest Awards

7 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

When we announced our participation in Hacktoberfest 2019 at the beginning of this month, we had no idea that we would get this kind of response. There were 178 pull requests opened by 72 contributors this year. Nearly double the number of pull requests we received last year. The post Announcing the 2019 Xamarin Hacktoberfest Awards appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

Syncfusion  avatar

Syncfusion Xamarin Controls Now Part of Microsoft Visual Studio Dev Essentials!

7 days ago | Syncfusion

We are delighted to announce the addition of Syncfusion’s Essential Studio for Xamarin as an exclusive benefit to members of... The post Syncfusion Xamarin Controls Now Part of Microsoft Visual Studio Dev Essentials! appeared first on Syncfusion Blogs.

Ryan Davis avatar

Using Diffable Data Sources in Xamarin.iOS

7 days ago | Ryan Davis

iOS13 includes a large number of exciting new features, some of which I outlined in a previous post. One addition in the release that has received less attention is the new option for UITableView and UICollectionView data source configuration - the 'diffable data source'. The aim of diffable data sources is to greatly simplify the interactions between a dataset and UITableView/UICollectionView when changes occur, by allowing UIKit itself to manage the diffing, reload and animation of sections and cells.


Matthew Soucoup avatar

Partly Cloudy Episode 5 Recap: If The Shell Fits

8 days ago | Matthew Soucoup

Add some user interface polish by harnessing the power of Xamarin.Forms Shell!

Matthew Soucoup avatar

Partly Cloudy Episode 4 Recap: Who Are You?

8 days ago | Matthew Soucoup

Who says adding authentication to an app has to be difficult? Tune in to see how easy it can be with App Center Auth!

Rendy Del Rosario avatar

Getting device media and show it using Xamarin Forms

8 days ago | Rendy Del Rosario

A few months ago I wrote an article about selecting multiple images/videos in Xamarin Forms, this sample works perfectly when you are using the default… Continue ReadingGetting device media and show it using Xamarin Forms The post Getting device media and show it using Xamarin Forms appeared first on Rendy's Website.

Syncfusion  avatar

What’s New With C# 8.0 – Using Declaration

9 days ago | Syncfusion

With the C# 8.0 update, Microsoft has introduced the using declaration feature. This feature allows us to declare a disposable... The post What’s New With C# 8.0 – Using Declaration appeared first on Syncfusion Blogs.

The Xamarin Blog avatar

All Things Xamarin at Microsoft Ignite 2019

9 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

This year at Microsoft Ignite the Xamarin team was everywhere! We were really excited to be able to meet with so many amazing developers building stunning applications with Xamarin and that we were able to answer their questions. In addition to being at three booths in the developer area, The post All Things Xamarin at Microsoft Ignite 2019 appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

Nigel Ferrissey avatar

XamarinBites 26

10 days ago | Nigel Ferrissey

Uno Platform for Xamarin.Forms Developershttps://platform.uno/xamarin-forms/ Thinking outside of the box with Xamarin.Formshttps://channel9.msdn.com/Events/Xamarin/Xamarin-Developer-Summit-2019/Thinking-outside-of-the-box-with-XamarinForms Partly Cloudy: Who Are You (App Center Auth)https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3RqI-mPmPIA Infinite Scroll With the Xamarin Forms Collection Viewhttps://doumer.me/infinite-scroll-with-the-xamarin-forms-collection-view/ Introducing the Snppts Community Challenge!https://www.

James Montemagno avatar

Use C# 8 In Any .NET Project Today

10 days ago | James Montemagno

The time is now to use C# 8 everywhere. You don't have to be targeting .NET Core 3 or .NET Standard 2.1 to use C# 8, I show you how!

Luis Pujols avatar

Debugging hiccups in Xamarin and how to overcome them

11 days ago | Luis Pujols

Hey Guys! When developing our projects sometimes we may face tedious bugs or debugging hiccups that may not seem obvious at first how to solve them, I decided to start recollecting the ones I have faced and here are a few with their solution. Timespan Formatting You must be careful when working with formating and … Continue reading "Debugging hiccups in Xamarin and how to overcome them"


Mahmoud Ali avatar

Xamarin.Forms – Usando font icon do jeito certo com Fontello

11 days ago | Mahmoud Ali

Trabalhar com imagens nos aplicativos não é uma tarefa fácil, principalmente quando estamos trabalhando com Android. A fragmentação no tamanho das telas é muito grande, e nem sempre as telas se encaixam corretamente nos application resources. Por estes motivos, sempre que possível tentamos trabalhar com font icons.… Continue lendo

Syncfusion  avatar

How to Load Appointments on Demand via Web Services in Xamarin.Forms Scheduler

11 days ago | Syncfusion

When developing Xamarin applications for Android, iOS, and UWP platforms, the most prevalent requirement is the ability to access data... The post How to Load Appointments on Demand via Web Services in Xamarin.Forms Scheduler appeared first on Syncfusion Blogs.

Merge Conflict avatar

175: #nullable enable

11 days ago | Merge Conflict

The time is now! Turn on C# 8 in all of your projects and enable Nullable Reference Types! James is a convert and he explains why in this week's pod. Follow Us Frank: Twitter, Blog, GitHub James: Twitter, Blog, GitHub Merge Conflict: Twitter, Facebook, Website, Chat on Discord Music : Amethyst Seer - Citrine by Adventureface ⭐⭐ Review Us (https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/merge-conflict/id1133064277?mt=2&ls=1) ⭐⭐ Machine transcription available on http://mergeconflict.

Samir GC avatar

Xamarin Forms Shimmer’s using Xamarin.Forms.Skeleton

11 days ago | Samir GC

Skeleton text is a popular strategy that help to load a content properly by rendering a blank placeholder that roughly matches the size of the expected content. This was made popular by Facebook, but is now used on many popular apps and websites. Today we are going to implement shimmer’s inside Xamarin forms APP. Plugin […]

Damien Doumer avatar

Infinite Scroll With the Xamarin Forms Collection View

11 days ago | Damien Doumer

Hello friends, Xamarin Forms is continuously getting better and it comes with a lot of improvements in every new release. Be it in performance aspects or the addition of new controls, we Xamarin Forms developers have several brand new features. Last year I wrote an article about the new paradigm (Shell) for building apps with... The post Infinite Scroll With the Xamarin Forms Collection View appeared first on Cool Coders.


Vicente Guzman avatar

Identificación Biométrica: Autenticación con huella dactilar en Xamarin.Forms

13 days ago | Vicente Guzman

Seamos honestos, hoy en día utilizamos nuestro móvil 24h al día ya sea para el ocio, trabajo, vida personal, etc,… por que lo que lo hace portador de abundante información personal. Considerando esto, ¿somos consientes de si en verdad nuestra información está debidamente protegida?. Y es que además de los conocidos sistemas de PIN y... Leer más →

The Xamarin Podcast avatar

Episode 67: Partly Forms-y With a Chance of Visual Studio

14 days ago | The Xamarin Podcast

In this month's episode James and Matt talk a bit about everything. From previewing this year's HUGE Ignite Conference, to talking about the incredible bumper on Matt's new Channel 9 show - Partly Cloudy - the guys hit it all this month. They also discuss the new release of Xamarin.Forms 4.3 , and how to find out what's new with the new stuff! James explains the new App Bundle Support coming to Visual Studio - and why that's a great thing for you and your Android applications! That and a ton of great Azure goodness too! Plus the Pick of the Pod! As always, get yourself some free Azure here (https://azure.

Ryan Davis avatar

From Xamarin Native to Xamarin.Forms (CODE Magazine)

14 days ago | Ryan Davis

"Native or Forms"? is one of those fundamental questions that almost every team looking to start a Xamarin-based project needs to make a call on. The question implies an either/or arrangement, and the reality is that the majority of Xamarin projects do end up being either 'all Native' or 'all Forms'. In the recently released special .NET Core 3 Focus edition of CODE Magazine, I wrote about a situation in which a project moved from a Xamarin Native architecture to being a hybrid of both Xamarin.


Xablu  avatar

Xamarin for Healthcare: Training Philips VitalHealth Team

15 days ago | Xablu

At the end of October, we were present at Philips VitalHealth to provide a one-week training focused on gaining experience with Xamarin development. Our Microsoft MVP Developer, Nico Milcoff, spend the week with their eager development team. Nico traveled a very long distance; from Rosario, Argentina to finally end up in the Veluwe to reach Uddel, where VitalHealth is located. VitalHealth focuses on improving people’s health and enabling better health .

Luis Beltran avatar

Primer Calendario de Adviento de Xamarin en Español

16 days ago | Luis Beltran

Los Calendarios de Adviento son una iniciativa en la que voluntarios de las diversas comunidades tecnológicas comparten conocimiento de su autoría normalmente a través de una publicación de blog (pero no está limitado, también...

Vulcan Lee avatar

Xamarin.Forms 快速上手 與 XAML 使用教學 雙修電子書

16 days ago | Vulcan Lee

Xamarin.Forms 快速上手 與 XAML 使用教學 雙修電子書更多關於 Xamarin.Forms 開發技術文章,可以參考 這裡對於已經具備擁有 .NET / C# 開發技能的開發者,可以使用 Xamarin.Forms Toolkit 開發工具,便可以立即開發出可以在 Android / iOS 平台上執行的 App;對於要學習如何使用 Xamarin.Forms & XAML 技能,現在已經推出兩本電子書來幫助大家學這這個開發技術。這兩本電子書內包含了豐富的逐步開發教學內容與相關觀念、各種練習範例,歡迎各位購買。想要購買 Xamarin.Forms 快速上手 電子書,請點選 這裡想要購買 XAML in Xamarin.Forms 基礎篇 電子書,請點選 這裡關於 Xamarin.Forms 快速上手這是一本帶領 Xamarin.

Luis Pujols avatar

Mobile DevOps Made Easy – TampaCC

16 days ago | Luis Pujols

I recently had the opportunity of participating for the first time at Tampa Code Camp which was hosted on Keiser University this past 26 of October by the Tampa Dev Community, where I had the opportunity of giving a series of talks taking our attendees from Zero to Hero on Mobile Development with Xamarin and … Continue reading "Mobile DevOps Made Easy – TampaCC"

Luis Pujols avatar

Let’s Talk Architecture with Prism – TampaCC

16 days ago | Luis Pujols

Hey Guys! I recently had the opportunity of participating for the first time at Tampa Code Camp which was hosted on Keiser University this past 26 of October by the Tampa Dev Community, where I had the opportunity of giving a series of talks taking our attendees from Zero to Hero on Mobile Development with … Continue reading "Let’s Talk Architecture with Prism – TampaCC"

Brandon Minnick avatar

Xamarin.UITest: Is a ListView (or RefreshView) Refreshing?

16 days ago | Brandon Minnick

Automated UITesting has become critical for publishing mobile apps and almost every Xamarin.Forms app has ListView. But how can we determine if our ListView is refreshing? Let's find out!