Steven Thewissen avatar

Fixing a partial button ripple effect on Samsung devices

15 hours ago | Steven Thewissen

While building our latest Xamarin app we recently ran into an issue where a button on Android would only have a partial ripple effect. This post explores the workaround we ended up implementing. What exactly do you mean? The screenshot below shows how each of the buttons in our app looks when tapping them. As […] The post Fixing a partial button ripple effect on Samsung devices appeared first on Steven Thewissen: Mobile Developer from the Netherlands.

Leomaris Reyes avatar

Replicating Food UI Sample

15 hours ago | Leomaris Reyes

Well, I tell you that I really LOVE this!😍I’m always searching different screen designs for mobile applications and I saw this one for a food application that I liked and when I saw it I definitely wanted to replicate it! The design was obtained from the Dribble following link. We will be building the first screen! Tools that I used…Continue Reading→

The Xamarin Show avatar

Color Converters (Xamarin.Essentials API of the Week)

16 hours ago | The Xamarin Show

Xamarin.Essentials provides developers with cross-platform APIs for their mobile applications. On this week's Xamarin.Essential API of the week we take a look at built in color converters and helper methods simplifying development.Show Links:Xamarin.Essentials DocumentationXamarin.Essentials Getting Started DocumentationColor Converters API DocumentationSource CodeFind James on: Twitter, GitHub, Blog, and his weekly podcast Merge Conflict.

Javier Suarez avatar

[Xamarin.Forms] Establecer el directorio de recursos en Apps UWP

yesterday | Javier Suarez

Diferentes recursos por plataformas Usando Xamarin.Forms desarrollamos (habitualmente) aplicaciones para diferentes plataformas compartiendo grandes cantidades de código. La clase Device contiene una serie de propiedades y métodos para ayudar a personalizar la UI y la funcionalidad para cada plataforma. Por ejemplo: <StackLayout> <StackLayout.Margin> <OnPlatform x:TypeArguments

Robin Schroeder avatar

Xamarin.Forms Logging with AppCenter

yesterday | Robin Schroeder

Some simple patterns for wiring up simple page navigation and click logging, using AppCenter in Xamarin.Forms The post Xamarin.Forms Logging with AppCenter appeared first on MSCTEK.

Andreas Nesheim avatar

Xamarin UI Challenge – Cruise Mobile UI, Part 2

2 days ago | Andreas Nesheim

This is a continuation of my Part 1 series of the Xamarin UI Challenge for Cruise Mobile UI. The first… The post Xamarin UI Challenge – Cruise Mobile UI, Part 2 appeared first on Andreas Nesheim.

Nigel Ferrissey avatar

XamarinBites 33

2 days ago | Nigel Ferrissey

Partly Cloudy: Mostly Cloudy (Azure CDN & Front Door)https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JdOu-NkZl2Y Simplifying Visual State Manager with TargetNamehttps://devblogs.microsoft.com/xamarin/visual-state-manager/ #XamarinForms hashtag on Twitterhttps://twitter.com/hashtag/xamarinforms?lang=en Announcing Experimental Mobile Blazor Bindingshttps://devblogs.microsoft.com/aspnet/mobile-blazor-bindings-experiment/ My First Xamarin apphttps://haacked.

Gerald Versluis avatar

Using the Xamarin.Forms Nightly Feed

2 days ago | Gerald Versluis

Whether you want to check out the latest and greatest features, or see if that bug you reported got fixed. There are a number of good reasons to check out the Xamarin.Forms Nightly Feed. In this post you will learn what the nightly feed is exactly and how you can use it yourself. What is ... Read more Using the Xamarin.Forms Nightly Feed The post Using the Xamarin.Forms Nightly Feed appeared first on Gerald Versluis.

Delpin Susai Raj avatar

Xamarin.Forms - Working with RefreshView

2 days ago | Delpin Susai Raj

In this blog post, you will learn how to implement Pull to Refresh the Entire Page using RefreshView in Xamarin.Forms.IntroductionXamarin.Forms code runs on multiple platforms - each of which has its own filesystem. This means that reading and writing files are most easily done using the native file APIs on each platform. Alternatively, embedded resources are a simpler solution to distribute data files with an app.

Javier Suarez avatar

Un vistazo a Mobile Blazor Bindings

2 days ago | Javier Suarez

Introducción Recientemente se anunciaban los Mobile Blazor Bindings. Hablamos de un proyecto experimental que consiste en añadir bindings para poder desarrollar aplicaciones móviles nativas para Android e iOS usando C# y .NET utilizando el modelo de desarrollo de Blazor y la síntaxis Razor para definir la UI de la aplicación. Los componentes de UI se … Sigue leyendo →

Merge Conflict avatar

185: Frank Hates Dark Mode

2 days ago | Merge Conflict

We are back talking about designing beautiful applications that span both light and dark modes. While maybe he doesn't hate dark mode, he has great tips and tricks that we discuss to make your app pop. Follow Us Frank: Twitter, Blog, GitHub James: Twitter, Blog, GitHub Merge Conflict: Twitter, Facebook, Website, Chat on Discord Music : Amethyst Seer - Citrine by Adventureface ⭐⭐ Review Us (https://itunes.

Jesús Angulo avatar

Xamarin.Forms: Personalizando el control Entry

2 days ago | Jesús Angulo

Si han trabajado con Xamarin.Forms habrán notado que nuestro control más usado , el control Entry , que usamos como caja de texto luce muy distinto en iOS y en Android. Ahora, en nuestros diseños muchas veces necesitamos personalizarlos y hacer que luzcan iguales para lograr excelentes diseño.


Mikolaj Kieres avatar

Create Xamarin.Forms Android App Bundle (aab) and release it to Google Play Store with DevOps

4 days ago | Mikolaj Kieres

I've decided to update my DevOps CD pipeline for one of my applications to produce the aab package instead of the apk. Why you might ask? Mainly because I wanted to decrease the size of my app package, which in turn should potentially result in more downloads and/or less uninstalls.

Marco Siccardi avatar

#XfEffects: Forms Effect to automatically scale FontSize on Label

4 days ago | Marco Siccardi

In this second post of my #XfEffects series, I am going to show you how to make the text of a Label grow and shrink within a defined range, based on the Xamarin.Forms.NamedSize enumeration.

The Xamarin Show avatar

Best Practices - Advanced Async / Await | The Xamarin Show

5 days ago | The Xamarin Show

This week, James is joined by friend of the show Dean Faizel, Microsoft Mobile Customer Advisory Team Engineer, who talks us through the best practices when using async and await for mobile development.Show Links:Docs - Asynchronous ProgrammingDocs - Xamarin Async SupportBlog - Getting Started with Async / AwaitSource CodeFind James on: Twitter, GitHub, Blog, and his weekly podcast Merge Conflict.

Martin Zikmund avatar

Custom fonts in Uno Platform

5 days ago | Martin Zikmund

Custom fonts are super useful to make your application match company brand and to create vector-based font icons. Let’s take…

Damien Doumer avatar

Xamarin Forms Tips, Navigate to a Page and Wait Results

6 days ago | Damien Doumer

Hi friends, here we are again, my first blog post in 2020. Today we will talk about how to navigate to a page and wait results. This can be really useful by making our code easier to read, as compared to using Xamarin Forms’ Messaging Center each time a page needs to send back results... The post Xamarin Forms Tips, Navigate to a Page and Wait Results appeared first on Cool Coders.

Matthew Soucoup avatar

Partly Cloudy Episode 8 Recap: Mostly Cloudy (CDN & Front Door)

6 days ago | Matthew Soucoup

Find out how to speed up Azure so it can server requests faster to the users of your mobile app, no matter where in the world they might be.

Juliano Custódio avatar

Background Services – Xamarin.Forms 4.x

6 days ago | Juliano Custódio

Este artigo tem o intuito de demonstrar como você pode implementar Background Services em seus Apps feitos com Xamarin.Forms de uma forma simples, rápida e fácil.

Delpin Susai Raj avatar

Xamarin.Forms - Getting started with Prism

6 days ago | Delpin Susai Raj

In this blog post, you will learn how to use Prism in existing Xamarin.Forms app.IntroductionXamarin.Forms code runs on multiple platforms - each of which has its own filesystem. This means that reading and writing files are most easily done using the native file APIs on each platform. Alternatively, embedded resources are a simpler solution to distribute data files with an app.MVVMMVVM - Model View ViewModelMVVM Is the design pattern to separate the user interface & business logic concerns.

The Xamarin Show avatar

Device Display Information (Xamarin.Essentials API of the Week)

7 days ago | The Xamarin Show

Xamarin.Essentials provides developers with cross-platform APIs for their mobile applications. On this week's Xamarin.Essential API of the week we take a look at the Device Display API that enables you to get information about the current display of the device. This include size, orientation, and a lot more.Show Links:Xamarin.Essentials DocumentationXamarin.Essentials Getting Started DocumentationDevice Display Information API DocumentationSource CodeFind James on: Twitter, GitHub, Blog, and his weekly podcast Merge Conflict.

Jean-Marie Alfonsi avatar

TaskLoaderView 2.0: Let's burn IsBusy=true!

7 days ago | Jean-Marie Alfonsi

This post is the natural follow-up to my Free Yourself From IsBusy=true from the XamExpertDay in Cologne: https://twitter.com/Piskariov/status/1188825195831857153 The TaskLoaderView component is freeing itself from the Sharpnado.Presentation.Forms repo and is receiving a lot of new features! User custom views Skeleton loading ErrorNotificationView

Nigel Ferrissey avatar

XamarinBites 32

8 days ago | Nigel Ferrissey

Xamarin.Forms – LoginFlowhttps://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/samples/xamarin/xamarin-forms-samples/navigation-loginflow/ Adding Shortcuts in Xamarin Formshttps://xamgirl.com/adding-shortcuts-in-xamarin-forms/ Skiasharp: Building Gradient ProgressBar for Xamarin.Formshttps://somostechies.com/skiasharp-building-gradient-progressbar-for-xamarin-forms/ Accessibility in Xamarin.Formshttps://www.mfractor.

Rendy Del Rosario avatar

Sign in with Apple in Xamarin Forms

8 days ago | Rendy Del Rosario

iOS 13 provides a way to authenticate users in applications by using their Apple Id account. In this post, I will show you how to… Continue ReadingSign in with Apple in Xamarin Forms The post Sign in with Apple in Xamarin Forms appeared first on Rendy's Website.

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Simplifying Visual State Manager with TargetName

8 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

The Visual State Manager (VSM) has been around since Xamarin.Forms 3.0, but we’re not done developing it. One of the things we really wanted to add is the ability to change a property on any child element within scope. Up until now, The post Simplifying Visual State Manager with TargetName appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

Syncfusion  avatar

Introducing Xamarin.Forms Date Picker

8 days ago | Syncfusion

Date Picker is a new component introduced to Syncfusion’s Xamarin.Forms component list in Essential Studio 2019 Volume 4. Date Picker... The post Introducing Xamarin.Forms Date Picker appeared first on Syncfusion Blogs.

Merge Conflict avatar

184: Building 3D Apps with SceneKit

9 days ago | Merge Conflict

2D, 3D, VR, MR, all the things with SceneKit! Frank talks about his adventures into creating a full 3D application that IS NOT A GAME with SceneKit! Follow Us Frank: Twitter, Blog, GitHub James: Twitter, Blog, GitHub Merge Conflict: Twitter, Facebook, Website, Chat on Discord Music : Amethyst Seer - Citrine by Adventureface ⭐⭐ Review Us (https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/merge-conflict/id1133064277?mt=2&ls=1) ⭐⭐ Machine transcription available on http://mergeconflict.

John Thiriet avatar

Mobile - Analyse your application network

9 days ago | John Thiriet

Introduction Most mobile applications require network connection. Unfortunately, analysing calls is not so easy. Ask most developers how to do and we will get such answers: A call is failing, and we do not know why? Let’s debug the application and put a breakpoint before the call. We need the duration how the call. Let’s put a stopwatch around the call and print the result in a console. We need to simulate an error to see how the application is behaving.

Mahmoud Ali avatar

XFXamlCValidateOnly: Diminuindo mais ainda o tempo de build em apps Xamarin.Forms

11 days ago | Mahmoud Ali

No ano de 2019 o grande foco da equipe do Xamarin foi melhorar a experiência de desenvolvimento na plataforma Xamarin, isso incluiu melhorias em tempo de build, ferramentas de produtividade, como o hot reload, diminuição no tamanho do app, tempo de startup, etc.… Continue lendo

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Tips and Tricks for XAML Hot Reload

11 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

Happy 2020, Xamarin community! To kick start your productive new year, we want to share some favorite tips for XAML Hot Reload for Xamarin.Forms. With XAML Hot Reload, you can make changes to your XAML files, hit save, and immediately see those changes reflected in your running app! The post Tips and Tricks for XAML Hot Reload appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

The Xamarin Podcast avatar

Episode 69: Happy New Decade!

12 days ago | The Xamarin Podcast

New Year - New Decade - New Pod!! This month James and Matt recover from their holiday hacks to go over the latest and greatest in the world of Xamarin! There's a new version of Xamarin.Essentials out for the new year. And the new year also brings back a look at the top blogs and videos of 2019. Whew - the community sure came up with a ton of great ideas for the Santa Talk Challenge and Matt & James talk about the best.

Leomaris Reyes avatar

Learning about Embedded Images in Xamarin Forms

12 days ago | Leomaris Reyes

Hello everybody! I hope that you all had excellent Christmas & New Year parties and had a great time with your loved ones! 💚💕Now is the time to continue learning!  (Voice saying yes 😎) In this article will be learning about Embedded Images. So… 💭 I imagine that at some point in your developer life when you are adding images to…Continue Reading→

The Xamarin Show avatar

Best Practices - When to use async void | The Xamarin Show

12 days ago | The Xamarin Show

This week, James is joined by friend of the show Dean Faizel, Microsoft Mobile Customer Advisory Team Engineer, who talks us through the best practices of using async void and how to avoid it.Show Links:Docs - Asynchronous ProgrammingDocs - Xamarin Async SupportBlog - Getting Started with Async / AwaitSource CodeFind James on: Twitter, GitHub, Blog, and his weekly podcast Merge Conflict.

Jesús Angulo avatar

Skiasharp: Building Gradient ProgressBar for Xamarin.Forms

12 days ago | Jesús Angulo

I've started to create an application to keep track of the progress of the books I am reading (something like goodreads but with a nicer interface). So for the design, I was looking for ideas in dribble and I found some interesting designs like https://dribbble.com/shots/5632432-Book-App-UI/attachments

Logesh Palani avatar

How to use Multiple View Controller in Single Page in Xamarin iOS

12 days ago | Logesh Palani

IntroductionIn this blog, I will explain how to handle multiple view controllers on a single page in Xamarin iOS. If you're interested in learning this, just read the entire post. Since there is no default functionality for showing multiple view controllers in iOS. Some of the application designs are complicated too. In such circumstances hiding & showing views in single ViewController is really not the smart way.


Ryan Davis avatar

Adventures in Low Overhead Dependency Injection using DryIocZero

12 days ago | Ryan Davis

Dependency Injection (DI) might be one of the more polarising topics in the Xamarin community. In general, you're either on board with it and use it religiously - or - you're wrong ⁽ʲᵘˢᵗ ᵏᶦᵈᵈᶦⁿᵍ⁾. The price for the privilege of a DI container is some overhead - both at startup, when service registrations are made, and during runtime, as dependencies are resolved. In this post, I'll look a little bit at using a library called DryIocZero - a lesser known sibling of the popular DryIoC framework - to help minimise the overhead associated with the use of DI.

Jesús Angulo avatar

Gradient ProgressBar para Xamarin.Forms usando Skiasharp

13 days ago | Jesús Angulo

Empece a ‌crear una aplicación para llevar cuenta de el progreso de los libros que estoy leyendo (algo así como goodreads pero con una interfaz mas bonita). En cuanto el diseño, en dribble encontre algunas ideas interesantes como esta https://dribbble.com/shots/5632432-Book-App-UI/attachments de Carlos Han. Para implementarla

Charlin Agramonte avatar

Adding Shortcuts in Xamarin Forms

13 days ago | Charlin Agramonte

Very often we want ways to improve our apps user experience to make users more productive and comfortable using it, often we see that by pressing an app icon it displays a menu of quick options, which is a pretty handy and quick improvement if used wisely for relevant actions. This concept has different names […] The post Adding Shortcuts in Xamarin Forms appeared first on XamGirl.

Steven Thewissen avatar

Using Firebase Analytics in your Xamarin.Forms app

13 days ago | Steven Thewissen

We all know and love Microsoft’s AppCenter offering when it comes to analytics and crash reporting for our mobile apps. But what if you’re one of those people that are interested in even more in-depth usage statistics? Let’s take a look at Firebase Analytics to satisfy our need for statistics! I’ve done posts about analytics […] The post Using Firebase Analytics in your Xamarin.

MFractor  avatar

Accessibility in Xamarin.Forms

13 days ago | MFractor

Author: Les Brown In the last American census, it was estimated that 18.7% of the population has some type of disability and of those, according to the Pew Internet Project, 54% utilize internet connected services and devices. In other words, the consumers of our web and mobile applications who have disabilities, in some cases, outnumber the total users in countries like South Korea, Mexico and Spain (Accessibility, Interactive).


The Xamarin Blog avatar

Top Xamarin Videos of 2019

13 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

Each week, we bring to you great developer content and deep dives from the team and community in the form of Xamarin videos. In addition to our regularly scheduled shows you will find the Xamarin Community Standups and event recordings including the Xamarin Developer Summit. The post Top Xamarin Videos of 2019 appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

Matthew Soucoup avatar

Partly Cloudy Episode 7 Recap: Ctrl + S (App Center Data)

13 days ago | Matthew Soucoup

Learn how to easily save data to Azure Cosmos DB using App Center

Ricardo Prestes avatar

Verificando versão do app com Xamarin.Essentials

13 days ago | Ricardo Prestes

Fala galera. Neste primeiro post do ano vou falar de algo que preciso fazer em quase todos os apps que trabalho e acredito que muitos outros devs também, que é identificar se o usuário está abrindo o app pela primeira vez ou se está abrindo o app pela primeira vez em uma determinada versão.

Peter Foot avatar

MediaElement Enhancements

13 days ago | Peter Foot

In the process of digging into a native exception when disposing the MediaElementRenderer on iOS I came across the closest thing I would get to the source of the problem. Because the resulting stacktrace contains redacted elements there was no hope of fixing the issue, so in the end I decided to rewrite the renderer … Continue reading MediaElement Enhancements →

Syncfusion  avatar

Easily Animate Your Xamarin Applications with Lottie Animations

13 days ago | Syncfusion

Adding simple animations to any application will make it look better. Xamarin.Forms provides native options to work with animations, but... The post Easily Animate Your Xamarin Applications with Lottie Animations appeared first on Syncfusion Blogs.

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Top Xamarin Blog Posts of 2019

14 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

2019 was an awesome year for Xamarin developers! It was packed full with new releases, exciting events, and product announcements. As well as brand new features to boost productivity and accelerate mobile development. Each week on the Xamarin blog, we aim to keep developers up to date with all of the happenings in the Xamarin universe. The post Top Xamarin Blog Posts of 2019 appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

The Xamarin Show avatar

Device Information (Xamarin.Essentials API of the Week)

14 days ago | The Xamarin Show

Xamarin.Essentials provides developers with cross-platform APIs for their mobile applications. On this week's Xamarin.Essential API of the week we take a look at the Device Info API that can give developers information about the device they are using.Show Links:Xamarin.Essentials DocumentationXamarin.Essentials Getting Started DocumentationDevice Information API DocumentationSource CodeFind James on: Twitter, GitHub, Blog, and his weekly podcast Merge Conflict.