Daniel Hindrikes avatar

You only need an OneTime binding

6 hours ago | Daniel Hindrikes

When creating a binding in Xamarin.Forms, the default is that you create an OneWay binding (except for input elements that have TwoWay bindings), this means that it updates the view from the ViewModel whenever the value in the ViewModel changes. But often you don't need an OneWay binding, you only need an OneTime binding, but […]

Merge Conflict avatar

213: GPT-3

20 hours ago | Merge Conflict

Is GPT-3 set to take over the world? Find out on this week's podcast! Follow Us Frank: Twitter, Blog, GitHub James: Twitter, Blog, GitHub Merge Conflict: Twitter, Facebook, Website, Chat on Discord Music : Amethyst Seer - Citrine by Adventureface ⭐⭐ Review Us (https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/merge-conflict/id1133064277?mt=2&ls=1) ⭐⭐ Machine transcription available on http://mergeconflict.fm

The Xamarin Blog avatar

.NET Virtual Events in August

3 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

Let’s take your development skills to the next level in this new virtual reality! Below are just a few of the amazing online events, streams, and videos for you to tune into this August. As well as ways to stay active with your developer communities through upcoming .NET and Xamarin events. The post .NET Virtual Events in August appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

Gerald Versluis avatar

XamarinCommunityToolkit: an introduction

3 days ago | Gerald Versluis

Today I can proudly introduce to you the XamarinCommunityToolkit package! In this post you will read all about this package (also known as XamarinCommunityToolkit). What it does, my vision for it and how you can use it, today! — UPDATE!!!1!!1!1!; once again naming has proven to be hard. Despite our best intensions, it seems that ... Read more XamarinCommunityToolkit: an introduction The post XamarinCommunityToolkit: an introduction appeared first on Gerald Versluis.

Gerald Versluis avatar

Xamarin.Forms RowDefinition & ColumnDefinition through binding

3 days ago | Gerald Versluis

Under one of my YouTube videos about the simplified grid RowDefinition and ColumnDefinition syntax, I got the question how to do this in with data-binding. In this post I will write about that so that everyone can benefit. How To Databind the RowDefinition and ColumnDefinition From some quick testing I don’t think there is an ... Read more Xamarin.Forms RowDefinition & ColumnDefinition through binding The post Xamarin.

Charlin Agramonte avatar

Show/Hide password using EventTrigger in Xamarin Forms

4 days ago | Charlin Agramonte

A common requirement in mobile applications is the ability to show/hide a password field. Googling I discovered that there are many ways to do it, some people create a custom control, others prefer to use a custom renderer, effects, etc. In this post, I want to show you a very simple way to achieve this […] The post Show/Hide password using EventTrigger in Xamarin Forms appeared first on XamGirl.

Rendy Del Rosario avatar

Creating a Binding Library in Xamarin (Part. 2)

6 days ago | Rendy Del Rosario

In the first part of this article, I covered how to create a binding library in Xamarin by creating one of the Pay.Card SDK. In… Continue ReadingCreating a Binding Library in Xamarin (Part. 2) The post Creating a Binding Library in Xamarin (Part. 2) appeared first on Rendy's Website.

Merge Conflict avatar

212: Model-View-Update (MVU) - What, Why, How

7 days ago | Merge Conflict

It is all in the name - Model-View-Update (MVU) - What, Why, How Follow Us Frank: Twitter, Blog, GitHub James: Twitter, Blog, GitHub Merge Conflict: Twitter, Facebook, Website, Chat on Discord Music : Amethyst Seer - Citrine by Adventureface ⭐⭐ Review Us (https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/merge-conflict/id1133064277?mt=2&ls=1) ⭐⭐ Machine transcription available on http://mergeconflict.fm

Mark Allibone avatar

Creating a login flow with Xamarin Forms Shell

4 months ago | Mark Allibone

Since the release of Xamarin Forms 4.5, Shell now supports modal navigation. Since one of my highest ranking blog posts is how to create a login page with Xamarin Forms. I thought it was time to revisit the topic and look at how to implement a login page using the Shell.So what is so special about a login page? Well, to state the obvious, the user should only be able to exit it after entering a correct login.

Generating beautiful frames for your iOS & Android screenshots instantly

15 days ago

Adding device frames to screenshots is now a single command!Continue reading on ITNEXT »

Leomaris Reyes avatar

Xamarin Assemble: Using Refit to consume Restful web service in Xamarin Forms talks

10 days ago | Leomaris Reyes

Event name:                                  Xamarin Assemble Talk name:                                     Using Refit to consume Restful web service in Xamarin Forms Language:                    …Continue Reading→

Jesse Liberty avatar

Jon Galloway: VS Mac & More

10 days ago | Jesse Liberty


The Xamarin Show avatar

Xamarin.Forms 4.7 - Shapes, Paths, and App Themes!

11 days ago | The Xamarin Show

This week, James is joined by Jacob Kirsch, Program Manager for Xamarin, who walks us through the latest and greatest features that Xamarin.Forms 4.7 introduced. This includes the awesome new drawing API with shapes and paths, app theme support update, and new grid optimizations.Time Codes:[00:00] Intro[02:50] Simplified Grid & Column Definitions[04:45] Multi-Bindings[06:57] Shapes & Paths[10:45] App Theme - Light & Dark Mode[13:00] Documentation & Wrap-upShow Links:Xamarin.

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Drawing UI with Xamarin.Forms Shapes and Paths

11 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

Xamarin.Forms 4.7 introduces drawing controls for Shapes and Paths. These are powerful new cross-platform controls that use the familiar control syntax from UWP and WPF. As well as use the native graphics libraries on each target platform. SkiaSharp and NGraphics have long been the “Go-To” The post Drawing UI with Xamarin.Forms Shapes and Paths appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

Nick Randolph avatar

Don’t Judge XAML Based On Lines of Code

12 days ago | Nick Randolph

For those following the on-going discussion around the future of XAML and specifically the use of XAML in DotNetMaui/Xamarin.Forms, this post is a follow on from two great posts discussing the options that are, or will be, available for Xamarin.Forms developers as we move forward with DotNetMaui: Mobile Blazor Bindings – Getting Started + Why … Continue reading "Don’t Judge XAML Based On Lines of Code" The post Don’t Judge XAML Based On Lines of Code appeared first on Nick's .

Luis Matos avatar

Taking your apps design to the next level with Xamarin Forms

12 days ago | Luis Matos

As I mentioned on other occasions, there are many things to consider when designing mobile apps. Today users are much more demanding and the market is very competitive. If it is true that every year that passes the development of mobile applications gains popularity but with it come interesting challenges to face. One of these […] La entrada Taking your apps design to the next level with Xamarin Forms se publicó primero en Luis Matos.

Jean-Marie Alfonsi avatar

Gittrends lags: A Tale Of CollectionView and Garbage Collector

12 days ago | Jean-Marie Alfonsi

Previously on Game of Leaks I'm super interested by what is causing precisely the many GC collections. Will try to dig into this. https://t.co/qnrfFMSZjR— Jean-Marie Alfonsi (@Piskariov) July 14, 2020 So here is what I dug so far:) First I forked the Gittrends repo,

Runar Ovesen Hjerpbakk avatar

Golden Ratio Calculator++ 2020.1

13 days ago | Runar Ovesen Hjerpbakk

Golden Ratio Calculator++ version 2020.1 is ready for iOS 13 and dark mode! I’ve also added improvements based on your feedback: The calculated value is automatically added to the clipboard for easier sharing with other apps The ratio selection box is no longer empty when no named ratios are selected Width and Height can be separately adjusted in any orientation Golden Ratio C

Logesh Palani avatar

Xamarin Forms PayUMoney Integration

13 days ago | Logesh Palani

Introduction     Today, we are going to see how to integrate the PayUMoney Payment Gateway with Xamarin.Forms Application. I did this payment gateway using WebView and custom renderer, am not using any PayUMoney SDK. In Xamarin Forms WebView default HTTP method is GET. But here I write code for WebView renderer and changing the HTTP method GET into POST and passing an encoded string from shared to platform-specific and added this string as the Body of the POST method.

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Mastering Multilingual in Xamarin.Forms

13 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

This is a guest blog post by Charlin Agramonte. Charlin is a Microsoft MVP. She writes Xamarin articles in her blog xamgirl.com and you can find her on Twitter at @Chard003. Multilingual support is one of the most common requirements for mobile apps. The post Mastering Multilingual in Xamarin.Forms appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

MFractor avatar

Android Debug Bridge For Xamarin Developers

14 days ago | MFractor

Introduction ADB, Android Debug Bridge, is a useful command line utility for interacting with Android devices for debugging and diagnostic purposes. Xamarin developers can use ADB to install/uninstall packages, inspect running apps, push and pull files and check error logs. One of the main reasons to use ADB is to work out what's happening on your devices when things aren't going right. As .

Rendy Del Rosario avatar

Creating a Xamarin Binding Library for iOS And Android (Part. 1)

14 days ago | Rendy Del Rosario

As a Xamarin Developer, there are situations where we want to use a native (Objective C, Swift, Java, Kotlin, etc) library. To do this, we… Continue ReadingCreating a Xamarin Binding Library for iOS And Android (Part. 1) The post Creating a Xamarin Binding Library for iOS And Android (Part. 1) appeared first on Rendy's Website.

Merge Conflict avatar

211: Failure To Launch

14 days ago | Merge Conflict

Fit & Finish! That is our topic this week and try to understand what is in Frank's way of shipping his app. Follow Us Frank: Twitter, Blog, GitHub James: Twitter, Blog, GitHub Merge Conflict: Twitter, Facebook, Website, Chat on Discord Music : Amethyst Seer - Citrine by Adventureface ⭐⭐ Review Us (https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/merge-conflict/id1133064277?mt=2&ls=1) ⭐⭐ Machine transcription available on http://mergeconflict.

Saamer Mansoor avatar

Quick ways to free space on your Xamarin Mac machine

4 months ago | Saamer Mansoor

A Xamarin Developer’s ScrollContinue reading on Medium »

Saamer Mansoor avatar

Using Xamarin University resources to learn mobile development

23 days ago | Saamer Mansoor

The beginner’s guide to learn C#-based native iOS & Android development!Continue reading on Medium »

Nick Randolph avatar

DotNetMaui (Xamarin.Forms) is Not a XAML Platform

16 days ago | Nick Randolph

Yeh I know I’m going to get a ton of abuse about how this title is just click bait but before you start with the comments, hear me out. Firstly, the title is actually just missing a word DotNetMaui is Not JUST a XAML Platform In this post we’ll go through why DotNetMaui/Xamarin.Forms is/is not … Continue reading "DotNetMaui (Xamarin.Forms) is Not a XAML Platform" The post DotNetMaui (Xamarin.

Rendy Del Rosario avatar

Online Talk – Mastering Prism in Xamarin Forms @ Xamarin Assemble

16 days ago | Rendy Del Rosario

Xamarin Assemble is the largest annual Argentine event on Mobile Cross Platform application development. The main objective of Xamarin Assemble is to establish the best… Continue ReadingOnline Talk – Mastering Prism in Xamarin Forms @ Xamarin Assemble The post Online Talk – Mastering Prism in Xamarin Forms @ Xamarin Assemble appeared first on Rendy's Website.

Luis Pujols avatar

Mobile App Redesign for Developers: GitTrends

16 days ago | Luis Pujols

Polishing and working with UI/UX design can feel intimidating and like we definitely need a Designer in our team to get out a production-ready app design. In this series, you will be able to learn key tools, resources, and workflow you can use to start building clean and immersive app designs as a Developer. The … Continue reading "Mobile App Redesign for Developers: GitTrends"

Charlin Agramonte avatar

Online Talk – Mastering Prism in Xamarin Forms @ Xamarin Assemble

16 days ago | Charlin Agramonte

Xamarin Assemble is the largest annual Argentine event on Mobile Cross Platform application development. The main objective of Xamarin Assemble is to establish the best speakers in the Xamarin community under one roof and provide knowledge to students and professionals. On July 18, Rendy Del Rosario and I participated in this great event giving a […] The post Online Talk – Mastering Prism in Xamarin Forms @ Xamarin Assemble appeared first on XamGirl.

MFractor avatar

Migrating ListView To CollectionView in Xamarin.Forms - Benefits

4 months ago | MFractor

Introduction Lists are a fundamental and inescapable part of mobile applications. Think of your favourite email client or social media app; without a doubt they present scrolling vertical list of emails or posts. In Xamarin.Forms, we can use the ListView to display vertical scrolling lists of items. However, Xamarin.Forms 4.3 introduced CollectionView as its successor. CollectionView simplifies many aspects of ListView and also adds new features.

MFractor avatar

Migrating ListView to CollectionView in Xamarin.Forms - User Interface

3 months ago | MFractor

Introduction In part two of our Migrating ListView to CollectionView series, we'll cover how to migrate your ListView cells so you can use them in a CollectionView. Cells Setting your cell with a ListView uses a DataTemplate but requires your view to be contained within a ViewCell class. It looked a bit like this: Data Templates <ListView.ItemTemplate> <DataTemplate> <ViewCell> <controls:ItemView/> </ViewCell> </DataTemplate> </ListView.

MFractor avatar

Migrating ListView To CollectionView in Xamarin.Forms - Interactivity

3 months ago | MFractor

Introduction In part three of our Migrating ListView to CollectionView series, we will look at handling user interaction in CollectionView's by adding cell tap, swipe context actions, and pull to refresh. Tapping Cells Tapping cells on ListView we used the ItemTapped event which I will omit for brevity because I assume everyone already knows how to use it. Because CollectionView has more features than ListView, it's a little different to get item tap setup.

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Xamarin Podcast: Inverter Converter and Xamarin.Forms 4.7

17 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

Keeping up with the latest in .NET, C#, Xamarin, and Azure is easier than ever. Co-hosts Matt Soucoup and James Montemagno cover a range of topics relevant to Xamarin developers from designing mobile apps to identity management. In this month’s episode, The post Xamarin Podcast: Inverter Converter and Xamarin.Forms 4.7 appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

Marco Siccardi avatar

Create scrollable tabs in Xamarin.Forms with CollectionView and CarouselView

17 days ago | Marco Siccardi

This post will show you how to create a scrollable tabs list that gets synchronized with items in a CarouselView in Xamarin.Forms.

The Xamarin Show avatar

Hot Restart - Easily Debug to iOS Devices

18 days ago | The Xamarin Show

This week, James is joined by Maddy Leger, Program Manager for Xamarin Tooling, who shows off Hot Restart, one of the coolest new features of Xamarin. Easily deploy your Xamarin.Forms based iOS application directly to your iOS device over USB from Windows! Maddy walks through how to get started, what is needed, and what is coming in the future.Time Codes:[00:00] Intro[01:30] Intro to the 🔥 tools[04:45] Setting up & using Hot Restart[12:00] Future Plans & Wrap-upShow Links:Docs - Hot Restart for iOSXamarin.

The Xamarin Blog avatar

App Themes for Xamarin.Forms

18 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

All major OSes now support dark and light app themes, and Xamarin.Forms 4.7 has arrived to make this easy to add to your applications. In fact, if you do nothing at all, your Xamarin.Forms apps will respect the user’s OS preference. The post App Themes for Xamarin.Forms appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

Leomaris Reyes avatar

.NET Latino: Improving our UI skills in Xamarin Forms talk

18 days ago | Leomaris Reyes

Event name:                                  .NET Latino Talk name:                                    Improving our UI skills in Xamarin Forms talk Language:                        …Continue Reading→

ReactiveUI avatar

In Praise of Elevated Values

2020 years ago | ReactiveUI

In Praise of Elevated Values Always Wear Protection You know what you don't get when you work with Enumerables and Observables? This. I hate NullReferenceExceptions. There's a very simple reason why you don't get them, of course, and that's because both IEnumerable and IObservable are a sort of a collection, and a collection is special in LINQ and Functional Programming terms because of how you apply functions to it.

Logesh Palani avatar

Xamarin iOS PayUMoney Payment Integration #PayUMoney

20 days ago | Logesh Palani

Introduction   This article we are going to see, how to implement PayUMoney payment integration in Xamarin iOS. Before we start, I’ll do this payment gateway through WebView, I’ve tried to bind native library to Xamarin iOS Library, but my bad luck, it was a failure, so I have moved into WebView.

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Introducing C# Markup for Xamarin.Forms

19 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

This is a guest blog by Vincent Hoogendoorn. Vincent is a hands-on .NET architect, Xamarin veteran, CSharpForMarkup author, contributor of the C# Markup feature in Xamarin.Forms and co-founder of the Dutch Mobile .NET Developers meetup. Vincent works as Architect & Lead Mobile at Anywhere365. The post Introducing C# Markup for Xamarin.Forms appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

Logesh Palani avatar

Toast in Xamarin Forms

one month ago | Logesh Palani

Introduction  This blog, we are going to see how to implement Toast Message in Xamarin Forms for Android and iOS. This project, we can use dependency injection to display toast and not using any third-party plugin. The android has a default widget for toast but iOS has an only alert controller.    Let’s start the story  Step 1:  Create Xamarin Forms Mobile App in Visual Studio for Mac.

Logesh Palani avatar

Expandable List View in Xamarin Android

one month ago | Logesh Palani

Introduction       This article, we are going to learn how to use ExpandableListView in Xamarin Android and I’ll show the demo for the Expandable ListView in Xamarin.Android application. In the ListView, you can click any one item and it will expand and show the sub list or sub-items of the selected item and you can select or click the subview items with click events.

Delpin Susai Raj avatar

Xamarin.Forms - Debugging WebView

19 days ago | Delpin Susai Raj

In this blog post, you will learn how to debugging WebView in xamarin forms. Introduction  Xamarin.Forms code runs on multiple platforms, each of which has its own filesystem. This means that reading and writing files are most easily done using the native file APIs on each platform. Alternatively, embedded resources are a simpler solution to distribute data files with an app. Debugging Webview Mobile developers are facing major difficulties for debugging web URLs.

Leomaris Reyes avatar

Replicating Real Estate Property details UI in Xamarin Forms

20 days ago | Leomaris Reyes

Howdy!!! 💁‍♀ In this case we are going to replicate a Real Estate UI obtained from Dribble. You can check the design  here! ⚠ Before starting, to get the best out of the post, I’ll leave you some instructional notes so that you have a better experience reproducing the UI: ➖ At the beginning, you will see an image with…Continue Reading→

Udara Alwis avatar

XAMVVM-03 SpecFlow BDD UnitTesting with Xamarin.Forms!

20 days ago | Udara Alwis

Let’s explore the possibilities of the awesome SpecFlow Behavior Driven Testing Framework with Xamarin.Forms! I’m a huge enthusiast of writing clean and highly testable code, and in that pursuit, I believe Test Driven Development for the win! 😉 Oh also, UnitTesting for life yo! 😛 Problem with just UnitTests! They’re very useful when we need … Continue reading XAMVVM-03 SpecFlow BDD UnitTesting with Xamarin.

Gerald Versluis avatar

Disable bounce effect on CollectionView in your Xamarin.Forms iOS app

20 days ago | Gerald Versluis

I noticed a StackOverflow question where the author was interested in disabling the bounce effect for CollectionView. They had a method for ListView, but was now looking on how to do it for CollectionView on iOS. I put together a small sample, let me tell you what I did. The Bounce Effect If you have ... Read more Disable bounce effect on CollectionView in your Xamarin.Forms iOS app The post Disable bounce effect on CollectionView in your Xamarin.

Daniel Hindrikes avatar

Building a styleable “Content Button” using PancakeView

20 days ago | Daniel Hindrikes

Sometimes you need a more flexible button than the one that is shipped with Xamarin.Forms. That was the case for me with the app I am working with right now. I wanted to be able to have more flexible content and I also wanted to style it more than I was able to when I […]

Daniel Hindrikes avatar

TinyMvvm 2.4.1

21 days ago | Daniel Hindrikes

Today, I released a new version of TinyMvvm, 2.4.1. The release contains this: Added ShellViewBase to optimize how ViewModels are created. Before the ViewModel was created during OnAppearing when using Shell navigation. It also ran Initialize during OnAppearing. But there are cases where you want it to run earlier, so I added a new class […]

Merge Conflict avatar

210: I Should Buy a Mac Mini Every Summer

21 days ago | Merge Conflict

Beta summers, favorite C# 9 features, best new cross-platform app frameworks, and USB-C on this week's lightning topics! Follow Us Frank: Twitter, Blog, GitHub James: Twitter, Blog, GitHub Merge Conflict: Twitter, Facebook, Website, Chat on Discord Music : Amethyst Seer - Citrine by Adventureface ⭐⭐ Review Us (https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/merge-conflict/id1133064277?mt=2&ls=1) ⭐⭐ Machine transcription available on http://mergeconflict.

Brandon Minnick avatar

Improving CollectionView Scrolling

22 days ago | Brandon Minnick

Sometimes scrolling a Xamarin.Forms.CollectionView (especially on Android) can be choppy. Let's take a look at how to fix it!