Javier Suarez avatar

[Xamarin UI Challenge] Art Plant Mall (English Version)

3 hours ago | Javier Suarez

The challenge I am going for a new user interface challenge with Xamarin.Forms. In this article, we are going to take as reference a Dribbble design (by JIANGGM), and we will try to replicate it using Xamarin.Forms step by step. The challenges of the sample Despite being a nice design, there are no very complex … Sigue leyendo →

Javier Suarez avatar

[Xamarin UI Challenge] Art Plant Mall

3 hours ago | Javier Suarez

El reto Volvemos a por un reto de interfaz de usuario con Xamarin.Forms. En este artículo, vamos a tomar como referencia un diseño de Dribbble (por JIANGGM), que intentaremos replicar con paso a paso. Vamos a intentar replicar la UI del diseño paso a paso en Xamarin.Forms. Los retos del ejemplo A pesar de ser … Sigue leyendo →

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Recapping Xamarin Developer Summit

17 hours ago | The Xamarin Blog

The first-ever Xamarin Developer Summit has come to a close. The Xamarin team had an action-packed two days of announcements, talks, and hanging out with our community in Houston! Here is a recap of some of the most important pieces you may have missed if you weren’t able to join in person or watch through the live streams.  The post Recapping Xamarin Developer Summit appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

The Xamarin Show avatar

Phone Dialer (Xamarin.Essentials API of the Week)

20 hours ago | The Xamarin Show

Xamarin.Essentials provides developers with cross-platform APIs for their mobile applications. On this week's Xamarin.Essential API of the week we take a look at the Phone Dialer API enabling your app to open the default phone dialer to enable your users to place a phone call.Show Notes:Xamarin.Essentials DocumentationXamarin.Essentials Getting Started DocumentationPhone Dialer API DocumentationSource CodeFind James on: Twitter, GitHub, Blog, and his weekly development podcast Merge Conflict.


Jean-Marie Alfonsi avatar

The Run Away! app: Drawing gradient lines on top of Maps with SkiaSharp

22 hours ago | Jean-Marie Alfonsi

The most wanted piece Since the Xamarin.Forms: it works post, this feature was the most wanted piece. Hi Roubachof, Hope all is well. I can across your sharpnado site and was impressed with what you were doing with xamrin and SkiaSharp. I'm trying to implement something similar with my

David Britch avatar

Cross-platform imaging with Xamarin.Forms and SkiaSharp II

yesterday | David Britch

Previously, I wrote about combining Xamarin.Forms and SkiaSharp to create a cross-platform imaging app. SkiaSharp offers a number of different approaches for accessing pixel data. I went with the most performant approach for doing this, which is to use the GetPixels method to return a pointer to the pixel data, dereference the pointer whenever you want to read/write a pixel value, and use pointer arithmetic to move the pointer to other pixels.

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Snppts – Beautiful UI Snippets for Xamarin.Forms

2 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

Guest Post: Steven Thewissen is a Xamarin developer, Microsoft MVP, and author from the Netherlands with a knack for all things graphical. He co-founded Snppts and also creates/maintains several NuGet packages for Xamarin. He loves to drink coffee, IPA beers, and keep up the illusion that he is any good at soccer and gaming. The post Snppts – Beautiful UI Snippets for Xamarin.Forms appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

Kerry W. Lothrop avatar

15: What’s up with MvvmCross? With Tomasz Cielecki

2 days ago | Kerry W. Lothrop

On episode 15 of DevTalk, I speak to Tomasz Cielecki aka Cheesebaron about MvvmCross, a framework for developing native cross-platform apps using .NET and Xamarin. Links: MvvmCross MvvmCross on Twitter Xamarin Slack with the MvvmCross Channel

Javier Suarez avatar

Probando Xamarin.Forms XAML Hot Reload

2 days ago | Javier Suarez

Iterar en UI Si, conozco esa sensación. Hablo de los segundos esperando a desplegar la App de nuevo en un emulador o dispositivo para probar los últimos cambios en UI trabajando con Xamarin.Forms. Realizando la misma tarea varias veces se vuelve en algo que podría/debería ser más eficiente. En el pasado Xamarin Developer Summit se … Sigue leyendo →

Javier Suarez avatar

[Offtopic] Me uno al equipo de Xamarin.Forms

2 days ago | Javier Suarez

Nuevos retos Hace ya un tiempo que entre a formar parte de Microsoft, en concreto siendo parte del equipo de Visual Studio para macOS. Todo un reto y una gran experiencia!. Me he encontrado un fantástico equipo donde he logrado aprender en muchas áreas (trabajo en remoto, gestión, código, testing, etc.) y donde espero haber … Sigue leyendo →

Merge Conflict avatar

158: Everything Is Awesome

2 days ago | Merge Conflict

It is official.... worst day in history.... MacBook Adorable is officially gone :( That makes us think.... what hardware should we buy to develop on, what software should we use, and what should we do now. Follow Us Frank: Twitter, Blog, GitHub James: Twitter, Blog, GitHub Merge Conflict: Twitter, Facebook, Website, Chat on Discord Music : Amethyst Seer - Citrine by Adventureface ⭐⭐ Review Us (https://itunes.

Javier Suarez avatar

Conversando sobre Xamarin en Viernes de Punto Net

2 days ago | Javier Suarez

Viernes de .net Viernes de Punto Net es un canal de Youtube de habla hispana organizado por Claudio Sanchez y Leomaris Reyes, dedicado a promover tecnologías .NET en español. Conversando sobre Xamarin Recientemente, he tenido el placer de poder participar y charlar sobre .Net y especialmente de Xamarin. Fue una conversación amena e informal pero … Sigue leyendo →

Damien Doumer avatar

Using Bootstrap and Material Font Icons in Xamarin Forms

2 days ago | Damien Doumer

We love everything that makes the process of building beautiful applications easier. Using font Icons in Xamarin Forms apps makes this easier. Having to skip the process of creating and adding manually every icon for our application is just awesome. Font Icons are a great tool which we can leverage for this purpose. Several months... The post Using Bootstrap and Material Font Icons in Xamarin Forms appeared first on Cool Coders.

Elbrinner da Silva Fernandes avatar

Eventos y meetup sobre Xamarin

3 days ago | Elbrinner da Silva Fernandes

Está semana hemos tenido el evento más importante sobre Xamarin del año, el Xamarin Developer Summit. Se puede ver todas las sesiones en los siguientes enlaces:   Día 1: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YJ8TiRCsLl4 Día 2: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t1cQsenAmNo Puedes conocer más sobre este evento en la página oficial: https://xamarindevelopersummit.

Kym Phillpotts avatar

Xamarin.Forms UI Challenges - Day vs Night

4 days ago | Kym Phillpotts

Sometimes when developing Xamarin.Forms user interfaces you get to a point where you just need to handle the drawing yourself, and for that SkiaSharp is invaluable. And that’s one of the core pieces of this UI Challenge, using SkiaSharp to create controls that are unlike any other. First, I should mention that this amazing design concept that we are reproducing was created by Ionut Zamfir over at Dribbble.

Peter Foot avatar

Xamarin macOS Binding Libraries

4 days ago | Peter Foot

In creating an IOBluetooth binding for Xamarin Mac I learned about Objective Sharpie and binding libraries. There is little documentation on this but it is fairly similar to Xamarin iOS and for that there is a lot more source material. The output from Objective Sharpie gives you binding definitions which you can use in a … Continue reading Xamarin macOS Binding Libraries →

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Xamarin.Essentials welcomes tvOS, watchOS, and Tizen

4 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

This week marked the launch of Xamarin.Essentials 1.2 packed full of new enhancements and optimizations. The main highlight is the new file preview features enabling you to send, view, and email files from a single cross-platform API. We are actively seeking feedback on these features. The post Xamarin.Essentials welcomes tvOS, watchOS, and Tizen appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

Suthahar Jegatheesan avatar

How to build 64-bit Xamarin Android Application

4 days ago | Suthahar Jegatheesan

Google announced all Android app should support 64-bit architectures from Aug 1, 2019. 64-bit CPUs deliver faster, richer experiences for your users. Google Play will continue to support 32-bit apps for now, but as of August 1, 2019 all new apps and updates that include native code must have 64-bit versions as well as 32-bit versions when publishing to Google Play. This ruling applies to apps written in native, Xamarin or apps with links to third-party native libraries.

The Xamarin Podcast avatar

Episode 63: The Heat Is On! Hot(!!)Reload Is Out!

4 days ago | The Xamarin Podcast

It's July and we're in Houston for the Xamarin Developer Summit!! And it's 🔥🔥🔥hot hot hot🔥🔥🔥!! But it's not the temperature outside - it's because Xamarin.Forms XAML now has HOT RELOAD! 🔥🔄 If that's not mind bending enough - we cover a ton of other great stuff in this pod too! There's a ton, ton, ton of new Android improvements. AndroidX, startup tracing, JetPacks - find out what those all are! Did you know that Tizen supports Xamarin.

Leomaris Reyes avatar

Simple way to create a Floating Button in Xamarin Forms

5 days ago | Leomaris Reyes

When we are creating some UI, there are some parts that may seem complicated, this may be true or not, it all depends on how we do the implementation, one example of this can be adding a Floating button in our screen, that’s why in this post we will be learning how to do this in a very simple way!.…Continue Reading→


Gerald Versluis avatar

Hot Reload: Now Available in Xamarin.Forms

5 days ago | Gerald Versluis

A feature that is highly anticipated, has now been launched: XAML Hot Reload for Xamarin.Forms. If you have seen the keynote at the Xamarin Developer Summit you have already seen this in action.The keynote also included a whole lot of more awesome stuff! But in this post, I will show you a bit more on ... Read moreHot Reload: Now Available in Xamarin.Forms The post Hot Reload: Now Available in Xamarin.

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Announcing XAML Hot Reload for Xamarin.Forms

5 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

Today at Xamarin Developer Summit, we announced XAML Hot Reload for Xamarin.Forms, which enables you to make changes to your XAML UI and see them reflected live, without requiring another build and deploy. XAML Hot Reload for Xamarin.Forms speeds up your development and makes it easier to build, The post Announcing XAML Hot Reload for Xamarin.Forms appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

Nigel Ferrissey avatar

XamarinBites 10

6 days ago | Nigel Ferrissey

Tiled image animations with Xamarin.Formshttps://marcofolio.net/xamarin-tiled-image-animations/ Xamarin.Forms 4.1, Check box, Fonts and so much morehttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cEzn7klYDPI Credit card payment UI in Xamarin.Formshttps://xamgirl.com/credit-card-payment-ui-in-xamarin-forms/ TabBar Badge component by Adrian Seceleanuhttps://github.com/xabre/xamarin-forms-tab-badge Using Fiddler to debug your http callshttps://nicksnettravels.

Ryan Davis avatar

How to have your Xamarin.iOS 13 preview cake and Emit it too

6 days ago | Ryan Davis

As you might have read, Xamarin recently released the first of its Xcode 11 previews, which provide early access to in-progress Xamarin bindings for the new iOS and macOS SDKs. These are useful if you want to start working with new and updated frameworks like Sign in with Apple, PencilKit, SoundAnalysis and ARKit3 - all of which except for the latter are baked into the first preview. Even if you don't want to work with new frameworks, these previews let you test how your apps behave when targeting iOS13 - so you can find out whether changes like UIViewController.

Gone Mobile 87: Couchbase Mobile Update with Robert Hedgpeth

7 days ago

It's been a few years since we've talked Couchbase on the show, so with their recent release of Couchbase Mobile 2.5 we thought we'd bring Robert Hedgpeth on to catch us up! Special Guest: Robert Hedgpeth.

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Xamarin Developer Summit Live Streams!

7 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

The Xamarin Developer Summit is right around the corner! The two-day conference starts this Thursday in Houston, Texas. It will be packed with TONS of amazing sessions and workshops for Xamarin developers. Don’t worry if you aren’t able to attend in person this year. The post Xamarin Developer Summit Live Streams! appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

Charlin Agramonte avatar

Credit Card Payment UI in Xamarin Forms

7 days ago | Charlin Agramonte

Let’s start Adding your credit card information in an application involves many validations since you want to make sure that all information is added properly. There are a few things we can do to improve the user experience when adding this information such as presenting the form in a nice friendly way and adding instant […] The post Credit Card Payment UI in Xamarin Forms appeared first on XamGirl.

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Xamarin.Forms 4.1.0 Stable Now Available

8 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

Today we are happy to announce Xamarin.Forms 4.1 availability on NuGet. Our 3.0.0 series of releases focused heavily on growing Xamarin.Forms by filling in the gaps. We learned that this should be available by default and want to continue effectively growing Xamarin.Forms to best meet your needs and improve productivity. The post Xamarin.Forms 4.1.0 Stable Now Available appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

David Britch avatar

Cross-platform imaging with Xamarin.Forms and SkiaSharp

9 days ago | David Britch

Back in the Xamarin.Forms 1.x days, I attempted to show the power of Xamarin.Forms development by writing a cross-platform imaging app. This was a mistake. While I produced a working cross-platform app, the majority of the code was platform code, joined together through DependencyService calls from a shared UI. If anything, it showed that it wasn’t easily possible to create a cross-platform imaging app with shared code.

Merge Conflict avatar

157: FOMO UI Design

9 days ago | Merge Conflict

This week we switch it up and take a look at one of the most amazing and yet terrible UI/UX experiences and how it impacts our own apps design and the industry at large. Follow Us Frank: Twitter, Blog, GitHub James: Twitter, Blog, GitHub Merge Conflict: Twitter, Facebook, Website, Chat on Discord Music : Amethyst Seer - Citrine by Adventureface ⭐⭐ Review Us (https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/merge-conflict/id1133064277?mt=2&ls=1) ⭐⭐ Machine transcription available on http://mergeconflict.

Andrew Hoefling avatar

The Coordinate System in Xamarin.Forms and Android

9 days ago | Andrew Hoefling

This month is Xamarin UI July and this article is the July 8th 2019 Featured Blog where we will learn about the Cartesian Coordinate System and how it applies to Computer Graphics, Xamarin.Forms and the different platforms that our mobile app run on. 

Luis Beltran avatar

A (r)evolution for displaying data: Xamarin.Forms CollectionView

9 days ago | Luis Beltran

This entry is part of the Xamarin UI July initiative led by Steven Thewissen. Check this publication and several other interesting blog posts written by the Xamarin community members with special focus on UI, an important...

Mikolaj Kieres avatar

Creating custom Xamarin.Forms loading indicator with animations

10 days ago | Mikolaj Kieres

It's inevitable that, as a mobile app developer, you will need to show a loading indicator in your app. These are mostly used to inform users that the application needs to do some "thinking" and the users are required to wait until the process is completed.

Esteban Solano avatar

[email protected], se viene el Xamarin Developer Summit 2019! Nos vemos en Houston, TX!

10 days ago | Esteban Solano

Esta semana tendra lugar la conferencia mas importante en años enfocada en desarrollo movil con Xamarin con grandes ponentes y actividades de la comunidad el 11-12 de Julio, 2019Sobre el eventoEl Xamarin Developer Summit tendrá lugar en Woodlands (Houston), Texas y sin duda será un evento que la comunidad Xamarin ha venido esperando desde hace tiempo desde el aclamado Xamarin Evolve 2016, el cual significó un antes y después en eventos Xamarin por el nivel de contenido, participantes y el impacto que tuvo en la comunidad .

Luis Pujols avatar

Android Auto Backup and why we need to manage it properly in Xamarin

10 days ago | Luis Pujols

As Xamarin Forms Developers even though we are developing most of our code in Forms, we still need to be attentive to each native platform features and how their ecosystem evolves and how does this affect our apps, a common case is using Shared Preferences each platform deals with them differently and that brings me … Continue reading "Android Auto Backup and why we need to manage it properl

The Xamarin Show avatar

Xamarin.Forms 4.1: CheckBox, Fonts, and so much more | The Xamarin Show

12 days ago | The Xamarin Show

This week, James is joined yet again by friend of the show David Ortinau, Xamarin SDK & Xamarin.Forms Program Manager, to inform us of the awesome new enhancements in Xamarin.Forms 4.1 including a CheckBox, updated Fonts, and so much more!Show Links:Blog: Introducing Xamarin.Forms 4.1Xamarin.Forms 4.1 Release NotesFind James on: Twitter, GitHub, Blog, and his weekly podcast Merge Conflict.

David Britch avatar

OAuth 2.0 for Native Apps using Xamarin.Forms

13 days ago | David Britch

About two years ago I wrote some samples that demonstrate using Xamarin.Forms to implement OAuth 2.0 for Native Apps. This spec represents the best practices for OAuth 2.0 authentication flows from mobile apps. These include:Authentication requests should only be made through external user agents, such as the browser. This results in better security, and enables use of the user’s current authentication state, making single sign-on possible.

Daniel Hindrikes avatar

The Code Behind: Xamarin.Forms 4

13 days ago | Daniel Hindrikes

Det är snart dags för semester, men innan det passar Daniel och Johan på att prata genom vad som är nytt i Xamarin.Forms.

Marco Kuiper avatar

Tiled image animations with Xamarin.Forms

13 days ago | Marco Kuiper

One of the things I really like about web development, is the usage of the background-position CSS property. It allows you to move a background image around within its container. jFancyTile: A jQuery tile shifting image viewer plugin, realies heavily on this technique. Sadly, Xamarin doesn’t have a property like CSS that we can use out-of-the-box to recreate that effect. But, with some help of FFImageLoading, we can get the same results.

The Xamarin Blog avatar

iOS 13 Preview Release Now Available

13 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

Today, we are excited to share our first preview release focused on support for iOS 13 and Xcode 11! With today’s preview, you can begin building applications using Xcode 11 and start integrating new APIs for iOS 13. APIs such as “Sign in with Apple”, The post iOS 13 Preview Release Now Available appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

Rendy Del Rosario avatar

Introducing xUber – Uber clone using Xamarin Forms

13 days ago | Rendy Del Rosario

About this article This article is my contribution to #XamarinUIJuly, which is basically a series of blog posts where every day of July a Xamarin… Continue ReadingIntroducing xUber – Uber clone using Xamarin Forms The post Introducing xUber – Uber clone using Xamarin Forms appeared first on Rendy's Website.

David Britch avatar

What’s new in CollectionView in Xamarin.Forms 4.1

14 days ago | David Britch

Xamarin.Forms 4.1 was released on Monday, and as well as new functionality such as CheckBox, it includes a number of updates to CollectionView. The main CollectionView updates are outlined below. Item Spacing By default, each item in a CollectionView lacks empty space around it. This can now be changed by setting properties on the items layout used by the CollectionView. For a ListItemsLayout, set the ItemSpacing property to a double that represents the empty space around each item.

Suthahar Jegatheesan avatar

Xamarin Forms: How to Read SMS and verify OTP automatically in android without using SMS read permission

14 days ago | Suthahar Jegatheesan

Introduction:Google is considering the users privacy seriously, it has updated its Google Play Developer Policy which restricting SMS, CALL_LOG access. If your app does not require access to Call Log or SMS permissions, you must remove the permissions from your app's manifest.For apps requesting access to the SMS or Call Log permissions, the intended and permitted uses include default SMS handling, default phone handling, or Assistant handling capability, you should only access Call Log or SMS permissions when your app falls within permitted uses and only to enable your app’s critical core functionality.

The Xamarin Show avatar

SMS (Xamarin.Essentials API of the Week)

14 days ago | The Xamarin Show

Xamarin.Essentials provides developers with cross-platform APIs for their mobile applications. On this week's Xamarin.Essential API of the week we take a look at the SMS API enabling your app to open the default SMS application with an optional specified message to send to a recipient.Show Notes:Xamarin.Essentials DocumentationXamarin.Essentials Getting Started DocumentationSMS API DocumentationSource CodeFind James on: Twitter, GitHub, Blog, and his weekly development podcast Merge Conflict.

Thiago Bertuzzi avatar

LiveXaml vs HotReload

14 days ago | Thiago Bertuzzi


Steven Thewissen avatar

Create a kickass banking app using a BasePage in Xamarin

14 days ago | Steven Thewissen

Have you ever had a scenario where using the built-in navigation bar and other UI elements simply didn’t cut it? Perhaps it’s been suggested to you by a designer that the default elements are just ugly. Simply roll your own and start using a base page! About this post You may have seen or read … Continue reading "Create a kickass banking app using a BasePage in Xamarin" The post Create a kickass banking app using a BasePage in Xamarin appeared first on Thewissen.

Martz  avatar

Crossplatform local network browsing and media playback

15 days ago | Martz

Crossplatform local network browsing and media playback One of the great features of libvlc is that it can play all sorts of network streams. This is possible thanks to a huge number of supported network protocols. Classic network protocols such as FTP, HTTP, RTP and RTSP are well supported, but what about the usual media servers / network shares protocols? Browsing your own medialibrary at home Home media servers, NAS and other network shares most frequently communicate through SMB or UPnP.

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Xamarin and .NET Community Developer Events in July

15 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

Jumpstart your next mobile development project by networking with your local community and getting the latest updates about Xamarin and .NET related technologies. Discover upcoming developer events happening this July, including conferences and virtual opportunities around the world! A full list of developer engagements can be found through our Community page. The post Xamarin and .NET Community Developer Events in July appeared first on Xamarin Blog.