Daniel Hindrikes avatar

GitHub Actions for TinyMvvm

40 minutes ago | Daniel Hindrikes

To build and publish TinyMvvm I have used Azure Pipelines and a classic build pipeline together with a release pipeline. For the upcoming 3.0 release (in preview right now) I have migrated the pipeline to GitHub Actions. There are several reasons for that: I want to make the CI/CD open so all can see what […]

Telerik avatar

Exploring What's New in Xamarin Essentials 1.6

2 days ago | Telerik

Take a look with me at some of the exciting features previewed for Xamarin Essentials 1.6, including integrated APIs and official macOS support! Howdy!! ‍♀️ I hope you are doing well! This time, I come with an amazing topic about the Preview from Xamarin Essentials 1.6. As you know, Xamarin Essentials is a superhero that came to us to make our lives easier, giving us the advantage of having a set of useful APIs in the same Nuget package, thus improving our application development days.

Telerik avatar

Intro to Xamarin Essentials

9 days ago | Telerik

In this article we take a look at Xamarin.Essentials, Microsoft's official cross-platform library for accessing native features in your Xamarin apps. Xamarin.Forms makes creating a beautiful and functional mobile app possible straight out of the box. Sooner or later, though, you’ll want access to some native functionality of the device. You may need access to the device’s precise location, or maybe to detect a device shake or open the phone dialer.


Charlin Agramonte avatar

Simplifying Bindable Properties with Type Converters in Xamarin Forms

2 days ago | Charlin Agramonte

A Type Converter allows you to convert values from a type to a different type, this is helpful when creating bindable properties in Xamarin Forms because it saves you a lot of time and validation code. In this article, I’m going to show you a few use cases where you can use it. NOTE: If […] The post Simplifying Bindable Properties with Type Converters in Xamarin Forms appeared first on XamGirl.

Merge Conflict avatar

229: Selling iOS Apps on M1 Apple Silicon

3 days ago | Merge Conflict

The time has come! We can finally start shipping and selling iOS apps on macOS devices powered by Apple M1 Silicon! We discuss all the pros and cons and things you probably didn't think you should be considering. Follow Us Frank: Twitter, Blog, GitHub James: Twitter, Blog, GitHub Merge Conflict: Twitter, Facebook, Website, Chat on Discord Music : Amethyst Seer - Citrine by Adventureface ⭐⭐ Review Us (https://itunes.


The Xamarin Podcast avatar

Episode 82: iRel8

5 days ago | The Xamarin Podcast

iRel8 (https://irel8.org/the-app/) is an amazing app built with Xamarin that helps people during the toughest moments in life. iRel8 facilitates mental wellness using Xamarin - find out the heartfelt story behind this app in this episode of the Xamarin podcast. Follow Us: * James: Twitter (https://twitter.com/jamesmontemagno), Blog (https://montemagno.com), GitHub (http://github.com/jamesmontemagno), Merge Conflict Podcast (http://mergeconflict.

James Montemagno avatar

Enabling C# 9 in Xamarin & .NET Standard Projects

5 days ago | James Montemagno

Enabling C# 9 in non-.NET 5 projects is super simple with just a few lines of code. Checkout how to do it in your projects.

Steven Thewissen avatar

Improving the touch targets in your apps using Xamarin.Forms

5 days ago | Steven Thewissen

We can interact with our phones in different ways, but the most commonly used one is through touch. But what makes for good touch targets and how can we improve upon what we get out of the box in Xamarin.Forms? Let’s take a look! Allow me to preface this post with the fact that I’m... The post Improving the touch targets in your apps using Xamarin.Forms appeared first on Steven Thewissen: Mobile Developer from the Netherlands.

Delpin Susai Raj avatar

Xamarin.Forms - File Browser

5 days ago | Delpin Susai Raj

 In this blog post, you will learn how to pick files from your device, Drive, iCloud in Xamarin.Forms. Introduction Xamarin.Forms code runs on multiple platforms - each of which has its own filesystem. This means that reading and writing files is most easily done using the native file APIs on each platform. Alternatively, embedded resources are a simpler solution to distribute data files with an app.

Jean-Marie Alfonsi avatar

Sharpnado.HorizontalListView 1.8: reveal animations

7 days ago | Jean-Marie Alfonsi

https://github.com/roubachof/Sharpnado.HorizontalListView Version 1.8 breaking changes Namespace changed from Sharpnado.Presentation.Forms.HorizontalListView to Sharpnado.HorizontalListView. HorizontalListView, like MaterialFrame, Tabs and Shadows, now uses the same xml namespace: http://sharpnado.com. Because of how works xaml compilation, you need to add code in your App.

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Fabulous: Going Beyond Hello World

8 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

This is a guest blog by Timothé Larivière. Timothé is the maintainer of Fabulous: Functional App Development and a Microsoft MVP. You can find him on Twitter @Tim_Lariviere. In Fabulous: Functional App Development, we saw how to leverage functional programming and the Model-View-Update (MVU) architecture to build mobile and desktop apps with Fabulous. The post Fabulous: Going Beyond Hello World appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

MFractor avatar

Introducing The App Icon Importer

9 days ago | MFractor

MFractor 4.4 Now Available Today I'm happy to announce the release of MFractor 4.4! 🥳MFractor 4.4 adds support for Visual Studio Mac 8.8, fixes some bugs in IntelliSense and adds our latest and greatest feature, the App Icon Importer wizard. Introducing The App Icon Importer Ever needed to update the launcher image for your Android and iOS apps? You either need to create and add each image size one-by-one or use an online app icon creation tool and then manually add it into your project.

Kerry W. Lothrop avatar

50: Getting your work to 120%. With James Montemagno

9 days ago | Kerry W. Lothrop

On episode 50 of DevTalk I speak to James Montemagno about productivity and motivation. Links: .NET Conf 2020 Microsoft Learn

Merge Conflict avatar

228: .NET Conf 2020 & Apple M1 Event Recap

10 days ago | Merge Conflict

This last week was crazy! .NET Conf 2020, .NET 5, Visual Studio 16.8, XAML Hot Reload 2.0, Xbox Series S/X launch, Apple M1 Events, and so much more! Follow Us Frank: Twitter, Blog, GitHub James: Twitter, Blog, GitHub Merge Conflict: Twitter, Facebook, Website, Chat on Discord Music : Amethyst Seer - Citrine by Adventureface ⭐⭐ Review Us (https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/merge-conflict/id1133064277?mt=2&ls=1) ⭐⭐ Machine transcription available on http://mergeconflict.

The Xamarin Podcast avatar

Episode 81: November is for .NET 5

13 days ago | The Xamarin Podcast

This month James and Matt talk about the new Apple silicone, XBox ... and of course some Xamarin and Azure too! .NET 5 is out! And with that there are some great Xamarin enhancements in the latest version of Visual Studio. Find out how to update your Android manifest files so you can still send emails in Android 11. And there's a new version of Azure Mobile App Services ... what?!? Show Notes New Releases .

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Recapping Xamarin Highlights from .NET Conf 2020

13 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

Tuesday, we kicked off the 10th .NET Conf with nonstop sessions from .NET team and community members! Xamarin had a huge presence throughout Day 1, and we got a ton of questions about all the things we showed off. Here’s a recap of what you might have seen and how you can get started using it today! The post Recapping Xamarin Highlights from .NET Conf 2020 appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

Delpin Susai Raj avatar

Xamarin.Forms - Custom TitleView

13 days ago | Delpin Susai Raj

 In this blog post, you will learn how to create a custom TitleView in Xamarin.Forms. Introduction Xamarin.Forms code runs on multiple platforms - each of which has its own filesystem. This means that reading and writing files is most easily done using the native file APIs on each platform. Alternatively, embedded resources are a simpler solution to distribute data files with an app.

Brandon Minnick avatar

Using Immutable Objects with SQLite-Net

14 days ago | Brandon Minnick

SQLite-NET has become the most popular database, especially amongst Xamarin developers, but it hasn't supported Immutable Objects, until now! Thanks to Init-Only Properties in C#9.0, we can now use Immutable Objects with our SQLite database!

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Xamarin Community Toolkit Hacktoberfest 2020 Recap

14 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

It has been hard to miss, for the past month Hacktoberfest was upon us again. As announced in our previous blogpost, the Xamarin Community Toolkit participated as well, here is a little summary of how we did. Xamarin Community Toolkit If you have missed what the Xamarin Community Toolkit is, The post Xamarin Community Toolkit Hacktoberfest 2020 Recap appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

Merge Conflict avatar

227: Databases!

17 days ago | Merge Conflict

Let's talk about databases! SQLite, No-SQL, LiteDB, CoreData, and so much more! All the options! Follow Us Frank: Twitter, Blog, GitHub James: Twitter, Blog, GitHub Merge Conflict: Twitter, Facebook, Website, Chat on Discord Music : Amethyst Seer - Citrine by Adventureface ⭐⭐ Review Us (https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/merge-conflict/id1133064277?mt=2&ls=1) ⭐⭐ Machine transcription available on http://mergeconflict.

Damien Doumer avatar

JWT Social auth with ASP.net core and Xamarin Essentials

17 days ago | Damien Doumer

With just a few lines of code, we made JWT social auth with ASP.net core and Xamarin Essentials functionality in our mobile app. There Microsoft’s MSAL library for more advanced authentication scenarios. But for small size mobile applications, this approach is good enough. Especially if you are willing to prototype quickly. References https://devblogs.microsoft.com/xamarin/authentication-xamarin-essentials-aspnet/?WT.

David Britch avatar

Display SVGs as TabbedPage tab icons in Xamarin.Forms

19 days ago | David Britch

A common question that Xamarin.Forms users ask is “how the hell do I get my TabbedPage to display SVG-based tab icons?” A quick look at the TabbedPage doc reveals a couple of hints:iOS – The TabbedRenderer has an overridable GetIcon method that can be used to load tab icons from a specified source. This override makes it possible to use SVG images as icons on a TabbedPage.Android – The TabbedPageRenderer for Android AppCompat has an overridable SetTabIconImageSource method that can be used to load tab icons from a custom Drawable.


Samir GC avatar

Xamarin Forms Upper and Lower Case

20 days ago | Samir GC

 664 total views,  3 views today

Tomasz Cielecki avatar

New WiFi API in Android 11

23 days ago | Tomasz Cielecki

Android 10 messed up royally with removing the API to add networks and connect to it on a users device. The API was removed and as an alternative they gave us: A suggestion API, which shows a low priority notification, suggesting to connect to a given network. This notification would need to be swiped down a couple of times to reveal the YES/NO options. Then the device might choose not to connect to it anyways.

The Xamarin Blog avatar

.NET Conf 2020 and Virtual Events in November

23 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

Virtually tune-in to communities around the world through amazing online events, streams, and recordings this November. Stay connected to your developer communities through the upcoming .NET Conf 2020, virtual Meetups, community stand-ups, podcasts, and more! And discover new ways to get started with .NET tutorials and hosting your own virtual experiences. The post .NET Conf 2020 and Virtual Events in November appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

Kerry W. Lothrop avatar

49: Becoming and being a Microsoft MVP. With Glenn Versweyveld

23 days ago | Kerry W. Lothrop

On this episode of DevTalk I speak to Glenn Versweyveld about becoming and being a Microsoft MVP. Links: Microsoft MVP Program and MVP profiles 47: The Xamarin Community and XamExpertDay. With Saamer Mansoor

Merge Conflict avatar

226: Universal Custom Data Link Schemes

24 days ago | Merge Conflict

We are tweaking and tuning our apps past the beta summer with small fun quirks from Apple and Google. Follow Us Frank: Twitter, Blog, GitHub James: Twitter, Blog, GitHub Merge Conflict: Twitter, Facebook, Website, Chat on Discord Music : Amethyst Seer - Citrine by Adventureface ⭐⭐ Review Us (https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/merge-conflict/id1133064277?mt=2&ls=1) ⭐⭐ Machine transcription available on http://mergeconflict.

John Thiriet avatar

Creating a Xamarin Android binding library - Preparation

24 days ago | John Thiriet

Introduction Creating a Xamarin Android binding library is not an easy task. As I have done quite a lot of those on private or public SDKs, I decided to give you my feedback on how I actually do it. Of course, as every library is different, this will not be a solution for every native library out there. Think of this as a reusable template of tasks you can apply whatever the library you are trying to bind.

Brandon Minnick avatar

Adding a Search Bar to Xamarin.Forms.NavigationPage

25 days ago | Brandon Minnick

31 Oct 2020 Update: Updated for AndroidX + Xamarin.EssentialsLet's look at how to add the native search bar control into the Xamarin.Forms.NavigationPageBoth Xamarin.iOS and Xamarin.Android offer the capability to natively add a search bar to the navigation bar using UISearchController and SearchView, respectively. But,

Charlin Agramonte avatar

Stop doing IsVisible=“true/false” to Show/Hide Views in RunTime in Xamarin Forms

28 days ago | Charlin Agramonte

When developing UI a common use case is to hide/show a View according to a certain condition, when thinking on how to do this the first thing that comes to mind is to add an IsVisible property and just hide/show it according to a condition but doing that has performance implications since hiding an element […] The post Stop doing IsVisible=“true/false” to Show/Hide Views in RunTime in Xamarin Forms appeared first on XamGirl.

Jean-Marie Alfonsi avatar

Sharpnado.Tabs 2.0: Xamarin.Forms tabs receive a Badge of honor

28 days ago | Jean-Marie Alfonsi

https://github.com/roubachof/Sharpnado.Tabs Fully customizable Underlined tabs, bottom tabs, Segmented control, scrollable tabs Badge on tabs Component oriented architecture Layout your tabs and ViewSwitcher as you want Shadows included in TabHost Bindable What's really new A BadgeView with a lot of customization Full UWP support! Bindable layout

Almir Vuk avatar

How to Add Custom App Actions In Xamarin.Forms app

one month ago | Almir Vuk

How to add custom app-actions to your Xamarin.Forms app using Xamarin.Essentials. This blog post will show you how!

Merge Conflict avatar

225: Frank Got Catalyst for Xamarin.iOS Working!

one month ago | Merge Conflict

You heard it! Frank Got Catalyst for Xamarin.iOS Working! Follow Us Frank: Twitter, Blog, GitHub James: Twitter, Blog, GitHub Merge Conflict: Twitter, Facebook, Website, Chat on Discord Music : Amethyst Seer - Citrine by Adventureface ⭐⭐ Review Us (https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/merge-conflict/id1133064277?mt=2&ls=1) ⭐⭐ Machine transcription available on http://mergeconflict.fm


Delpin Susai Raj avatar

Xamarin.Forms - Mobile Network Speed Check(Slow or Fast) in Android

one month ago | Delpin Susai Raj

In this blog post, you will learn how to check you mobile network speed(slow or speed) using android native in Xamarin.Forms. Introduction Xamarin.Forms code runs on multiple platforms - each of which has its own filesystem. This means that reading and writing files is most easily done using the native file APIs on each platform. Alternatively, embedded resources are a simpler solution to distribute data files with an app.

The Xamarin Podcast avatar

Episode 80: Seeing AI

one month ago | The Xamarin Podcast

Seeing AI (https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/ai/seeing-ai?rtc=1) is an app for iOS that narrates the world around you. And it's built with Xamarin and Azure. In this episode of the Xamarin Podcast, Matt talks to the folks behind Seeing AI. The history of the app, how it was built, and the challenges and successes encountered along the way. All of this in this episode of the Xamarin Podcast. Download Seeing AI (https://apps.

The Xamarin Blog avatar

In-app reviews for your Android apps

one month ago | The Xamarin Blog

This is a guest blog by Saamer Mansoor. Saamer is a tinkerer and an app developer at TheFirstPrototype.com. You can find him on Twitter @saamerm, writing on Medium, and contributing to Open Source on GitHub. When Android’s Play Core v1.8 was released in August 2020, The post In-app reviews for your Android apps appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

The Xamarin Show avatar

Xamarin.Forms 5 Is Here!

one month ago | The Xamarin Show

This week, James is joined by David Ortinau, Xamarin Principal Program Manager, who is here to talk about all of the goodies that are available in the brand new release Xamarin.Forms 5.0! He walks us through what is in, what is out, and what are the major themes of the release. This includes final releases of Brushes, CarouselView, Drag & Drop, RadioButton, Shapes, and so much more!Show Links:Blog: Xamarin.

Delpin Susai Raj avatar

Xamarin.Forms - Network Speed Monitor

one month ago | Delpin Susai Raj

 In this blog post, you will learn how to monitor you network speed in Xamarin.Forms. Introduction Xamarin.Forms code runs on multiple platforms - each of which has its own filesystem. This means that reading and writing files is most easily done using the native file APIs on each platform. Alternatively, embedded resources are a simpler solution to distribute data files with an app.

Kerry W. Lothrop avatar

48: Moving from Xamarin.iOS to Swift. With Damian Mehers

one month ago | Kerry W. Lothrop

On this episode of DevTalk I speak to Damian Mehers about applying your Xamarin.iOS knowledge using Apple’s Swift. Links: Episode 38 with Immo Landwerth Combine .NET Code Contracts Fody C# Source Generators Kotlin/Native as an Apple Framework Swift on Android

Rendy Del Rosario avatar

Battery efficient background time-based location updates on iOS

one month ago | Rendy Del Rosario

When tracking location updates on iOS, there are certain scenarios where we want to get regular location updates based on time as if used wisely,… Continue ReadingBattery efficient background time-based location updates on iOS The post Battery efficient background time-based location updates on iOS appeared first on Rendy's Website.

Merge Conflict avatar

224: iPhone 12 is here with magnets!

one month ago | Merge Conflict

That is right, we are back with another full breakdown of a lovely apple event. This time it is the Apple Homepod Mini and iPhone 12 event. Follow Us Frank: Twitter, Blog, GitHub James: Twitter, Blog, GitHub Merge Conflict: Twitter, Facebook, Website, Chat on Discord Music : Amethyst Seer - Citrine by Adventureface ⭐⭐ Review Us (https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/merge-conflict/id1133064277?mt=2&ls=1) ⭐⭐ Machine transcription available on http://mergeconflict.

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Query & Interact with Apps in Android 11 with Package Visibility

one month ago | The Xamarin Blog

Android 11 introduced several exciting updates for developers to integrate into their app experience including new device and media controls, enhanced support for foldables, and a lot more. In addition to new features there are also several privacy enhancements that developers need to integrate into their application when upgraded and re-targeting to Android 11. The post Query & Interact with Apps in Android 11 with Package Visibility appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

Gerald Versluis avatar

OTP Auto-Fill Entry for iOS with Xamarin.Forms

one month ago | Gerald Versluis

I have to admit, after reading the tweet below I assumed it was about iOS, but of course this should have also been about Android. Anyway, I implemented the iOS APIs on how to catch that One-Time Password (OTP) that you might receive through a text and let it be autofilled in your Entry. TL;DR, ... Read more The post OTP Auto-Fill Entry for iOS with Xamarin.Forms appeared first on Gerald Versluis.

Nick Randolph avatar

Thinking Out Loud: Events, Messaging and Mvvm Navigation with XAML Frameworks

one month ago | Nick Randolph

This post will explores mvvm navigation further, employing the latest c# 9 code generator to reduce the boilerplate code that developers have to write. The post Thinking Out Loud: Events, Messaging and Mvvm Navigation with XAML Frameworks appeared first on Nick's .NET Travels.

Delpin Susai Raj avatar

Enable Dark Mode in iOS Simulator

one month ago | Delpin Susai Raj

 Make sure your iOS version should be iOS 13 or LaterGoto Settings in your iOS Simulator.Now scroll down in settings, you're able to see the Developer in the list. Click Developer.Now, Enable the Dark Appearance toggle. Your simulator will behave dark mode.Your simulator is Dark Mode.I hope you have understood how to enable the dark mode in iOS Simulator.Thanks for reading. Please share your comments and feedback.

Delpin Susai Raj avatar

Xamarin.Forms - Support Dark Mode

one month ago | Delpin Susai Raj

In this blog post, you will learn how to give support Dark Mode in Xamarin.Forms. Introduction Xamarin.Forms code runs on multiple platforms - each of which has its own filesystem. This means that reading and writing files is most easily done using the native file APIs on each platform. Alternatively, embedded resources are a simpler solution to distribute data files with an app. Dark Mode Nowadays iOS and Android apps should support both Dark and Light Theme.