Kym Phillpotts avatar

Xamarin.Forms UI Challenges - Pizza Shop

yesterday | Kym Phillpotts

Pizza is like the entire food pyramid. And This Xamarin UI Challenge, like our friend the pizza, has lots of delicious ingredients including animations, transitions, custom buttons, fonts and a sprinkle of SkiaSharp. Nom Nom. The Design This is a great looking design called Pizza Shop app Interaction created by Bidyut Kumar Bera. It’s a lovely playful design that uses thoughtful animations and transitions to enhance the user experience of the app.

The Xamarin Show avatar

MFractor for Windows | The Xamarin Show

yesterday | The Xamarin Show

This week, James is joined by Matthew Robbins from the MFractor team who shows off the brand new version of MFractor with Windows support! MFractor adds several features so you can make great Xamarin and Xamarin.Forms apps faster. It includes tons of refactoring for C#, XAML, and more! So Tune In!Time Codes:[00:00] Intro to MFractor[02:30] XAML Analysis[07:00] Refactoring Styles & Intellisense[11:20] ViewModel Association[16:10] Grid Intellisense and Refactoring[18:00] Image ManagementShow Links:MFractorBlog: Introduction to MFractorXamarin Show - Intro to MFractorFollow @JamesMontemagnoNever Miss an Episode: Follow @TheXamarinShowUseful Links:Learn more about XamarinLearn more about Xamarin.

MFractor avatar

Simplifying Grids In Xamarin.Forms

2 days ago | MFractor

In Xamarin.Forms, the Grid is a powerful layout container where we can use rows and columns to place controls. Historically, we would declare our rows and columns using the Grid.RowDefinitions or Grid.ColumnDefinitions properties. To create a row or column, we would define a new RowDefinition or ColumnDefinition element and specify its size: <Grid VerticalOptions="FillAndExpand"> <Grid.

The Xamarin Blog avatar

.NET Virtual Events in July

2 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

With life gone virtual, there are tons of new ways to take your development skills to the next level! Below are just a few of the amazing online events, streams, and videos to tune into this July. Stay active with your developer communities through upcoming .NET and Xamarin events. The post .NET Virtual Events in July appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

Syncfusion avatar

Why Should You Choose Essential UI Kit to Develop Xamarin Applications?

2 days ago | Syncfusion

Howdy!  🙋‍♀In this post I will be talking about a topic that tends to elicit many questions, especially for beginners... The post Why Should You Choose Essential UI Kit to Develop Xamarin Applications? appeared first on Syncfusion Blogs.

Samir GC avatar

Xamarin Forms OTP Verification and Validation Twilio

2 days ago | Samir GC

OTP verification are very much essential for 2 Factor authentication which adds extra layer of security. So we are going to implement a basic application for the implementation of OTP validation in Xamarin forms application. If you want to go through whole setup process then watch this tutorial : https://youtu.be/gA2KugrGIog So first thing first : Read More

Steven Thewissen avatar

Revisiting the base page concept using ContentView – Part 1

3 days ago | Steven Thewissen

A while ago I wrote a blog about using the concept of a base page in Xamarin.Forms. Since people are still looking at options to swap out native controls for custom implementations due to complex visual requirements it might be worth revisiting this topic! Due to the length of this blog post, I’ve added an... The post Revisiting the base page concept using ContentView – Part 1 appeared first on Steven Thewissen: Mobile Developer from the Netherlands.

Jean-Marie Alfonsi avatar

Xamarin.Forms Segmented Control with Sharpnado 1.7

3 days ago | Jean-Marie Alfonsi

https://github.com/roubachof/Sharpnado.Presentation.Forms A fresh new version of the Sharpnado lib is here \o/ Featuring: Segmented Control (iOS style) TabHostView with custom shadows Sharpnado.Shadows v1.0.2 MaterialFrame with AcrylicBlur v1.1.1 As always find all the following code in the Silly! app repo

Daniel Hindrikes avatar

Building a Rating Control using Xamarin.Forms Shapes

3 days ago | Daniel Hindrikes

In the release of Xamarin.Forms 4.7, Microsoft introduced a Shapes, an API to draw shapes without having to use an external library like SkiaSharp. In this blog post I will show how you can use Xamarin.Forms and Shapes to create a rating control without using an external library. The complete code for this control can […]

Charlin Agramonte avatar

Simple Two Cards Transition Control in Xamarin Forms

4 days ago | Charlin Agramonte

I recently developed a simple control to transition between two cards using an overlay animation in Xamarin Forms. In this post, I want to share the result and also explain how I achieved each of my requirements. Let’s start When creating a custom control the first thing that comes to my mind is to separate […] The post Simple Two Cards Transition Control in Xamarin Forms appeared first on XamGirl.

Kerry W. Lothrop avatar

40: The road to publishing GitTrends. With Brandon Minnick

4 days ago | Kerry W. Lothrop

On episode 40 of DevTalk I speak to Brandon Minnick about the road to publishing the developer productivity app GitTrends. Links: GitTrends Star history Chrome extension

Merge Conflict avatar

208: WWDC Detox + DTK Hype

4 days ago | Merge Conflict

Frank lost his phone, James bought an iPhone, and WWDC is over! Follow Us Frank: Twitter, Blog, GitHub James: Twitter, Blog, GitHub Merge Conflict: Twitter, Facebook, Website, Chat on Discord Music : Amethyst Seer - Citrine by Adventureface ⭐⭐ Review Us (https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/merge-conflict/id1133064277?mt=2&ls=1) ⭐⭐ Machine transcription available on http://mergeconflict.fm

Marco Kuiper avatar

Colorful Geometric Background using Xamarin.Forms Shapes

4 days ago | Marco Kuiper

Xamarin recently added new functionality for developers to build mobile apps: Xamarin.Forms Shapes. As the name suggest, it allows developers to create shapes without being restricted to rectangles or ellipses. At this time, this power is only unleashed when setting the “Shapes_Experimental“-flag but it has some great potential. I wanted to build something using Shapes and went looking for some design inspiration.

Leomaris Reyes avatar

Voluntic: Xamarin Forms Introduction webinar

5 days ago | Leomaris Reyes

Event name:                                  Voluntic: Xamarin Forms Introduction webinar Talk name:                                     Introduction to Xamarin Forms Language:                          …Continue Reading→

Udara Alwis avatar

Playing Audio with the MediaManager Plugin for Xamarin.Forms!

5 days ago | Udara Alwis

Let me show you how to play Audio in Xamarin.Forms across Android, iOS and Windows UWP using the super easy plug and play MediaManager Plugin. So you wanna play Audio in your Xamarin.Forms app? Stream an audio file over the internet or stored locally in your device Gallery? Listening to songs or podcasts even when … Continue reading Playing Audio with the MediaManager Plugin for Xamarin.

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Xamarin.Forms Shell Quick Tip – Easy Back Navigation

7 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

Xamarin.Forms Shell introduced route based navigation to Xamarin.Forms applications to easily navigate through applications and also pass data through query properties. Sometimes in your application it is not always about navigating forward to pages, but it is about navigating backwards when your users perform an action. The post Xamarin.Forms Shell Quick Tip – Easy Back Navigation appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

The Xamarin Show avatar

F# Fabulous - Beyond MVU Basics | The Xamarin Show

8 days ago | The Xamarin Show

This week, James is joined once again with designer and architect of F# Don Syme and Fabulous maintainer Timothé Larivière. They are back to talk more in-depth about building Xamarin mobile apps with F# and Fabulous. This approach combines functional programming and MVU style of development create a lovely environment for build apps. Time Codes:[00:00] Recap of Fabulous[03:00] Fabulous + ML from Faisal Waris[05:40] Architect of a Fabulous App[15:30] Contact App Walkthrough[25:00] Custom Controls and StylingShow Links:FabulousBlog: How to become a Fabulous developerGitHub: BERT QAGitHub: Fabulous ContactsGitHub: Fabimals SampleGitHub: Fabulous WeatherGitHub: Fabulous PlanetsFollow @JamesMontemagnoNever Miss an Episode: Follow @TheXamarinShowUseful Links:Learn more about XamarinLearn more about Xamarin.

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Xamarin Podcast: //Build 2020 Recap

8 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

Keeping up with the latest in .NET, C#, Xamarin, and Azure is easier than ever. Co-hosts Matt Soucoup and James Montemagno cover a range of topics relevant to Xamarin developers from designing mobile apps to identity management. In this month’s episode, The post Xamarin Podcast: //Build 2020 Recap appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

Andrew Hoefling avatar

Xamarin.Forms Fancy Flyout Menu

8 days ago | Andrew Hoefling

Xamarin.Forms provides a great set of controls for building cross-platform apps including Flyout Menus. Often the default controls don't meet your design needs and you need to build something custom. Xamarin.Forms provides rich APIs for styling and animating just about anything you can imagine. Let's build a fancy animating Flyout Menu!

Leomaris Reyes avatar

Replicating Schedule UI in Xamarin Forms

9 days ago | Leomaris Reyes

Howdy!!! 💁‍♀ In this case we are going to replicate a Calendar / Schedule UI obtained from Dribble. You can check the design  here! ⚠ Before starting, to get the best out of the post, I’ll leave you some instructional notes so that you have a better experience reproducing the UI: ➖ At the beginning, you will see an image…Continue Reading→

Gerald Versluis avatar

Create a Google Chromecast app with Xamarin.Forms in under 10 minutes

9 days ago | Gerald Versluis

While I was waiting in between builds, I decided to put on some radio in the background. I started looking for a good app on my desktop I found TuneIn, which is nice. But I couldn’t Chromecast it to my Google Nest Mini device. I got the impression that TuneIn isn’t much more than a ... Read more Create a Google Chromecast app with Xamarin.Forms in under 10 minutes The post Create a Google Chromecast app with Xamarin.

Syncfusion avatar

Goodbye Xamarin.Forms, Hello MAUI!

9 days ago | Syncfusion

The following post was written by guest blogger Vicente G. Guzmán Lucio, From May 19 to 21, Microsoft held its... The post Goodbye Xamarin.Forms, Hello MAUI! appeared first on Syncfusion Blogs.

Merge Conflict avatar

207.5: WWDC20 Recap

9 days ago | Merge Conflict

We are off to WWDC 2020! Or... watching the keynote from our house in quarantine. We break down all of the latest apple announcements from WWDC including macOS 11, iOS 14, tvOS 14, and watchOS 7! Follow Us Frank: Twitter, Blog, GitHub James: Twitter, Blog, GitHub Merge Conflict: Twitter, Facebook, Website, Chat on Discord Music : Amethyst Seer - Citrine by Adventureface ⭐⭐ Review Us (https://itunes.

MFractor avatar

Introduction To Dialogs In Xamarin.Forms

11 days ago | MFractor

When developing mobile applications, dialogs are a foundational building block in our tool-belt. We can use dialogs to show a confirmation message, to indicate when the app is working or even display a rich input form that appears over our main user interface. As this article is intended for absolute beginners, we'll introduce the core concepts and terminology for using dialogs, get you started with the most current dialog frameworks and provide a quick reference on the main dialog types.

Leomaris Reyes avatar

Learning about Converters in Xamarin Forms

12 days ago | Leomaris Reyes

When we are developing an application it is normal that we need to transfer data of the same type, as we already know to do this, we use Data Bindings. Doing this is very easy, especially if we can do the conversion implicitly. But what happens when we want to pass data with different values? To do it we use…Continue Reading→

Damien Doumer avatar

5 useful Xamarin Forms Snippets

12 days ago | Damien Doumer

While building Xamarin Forms applications there are several things which you find yourself repeating again and again. These might include creating value converters, markup extensions e.t.c. These repetitions could be made a lot easier using Xamarin Forms Snippets. And that is what we are covering today. This article is part of my contribution to the Read More The post 5 useful Xamarin Forms Snippets appeared first on Cool Coders.

Samir GC avatar

Xamarin Forms Bottom Slider

12 days ago | Samir GC

Lets implement Sliders inside our Xamarin Forms Application with out using any plugin. Yes, I am correct with out using any plugins. We will be using beautiful C# to implement the sliders animations. Step1 : Plugin required : https://www.nuget.org/packages/Plugin.DeviceOrientation/Note : This plugin is required to identify if the screen is in horizontal or vertical orientation Read Mo

Daniel Hindrikes avatar

Xamarin.Forms Projects – Second Edition

13 days ago | Daniel Hindrikes

The second edition of Xamarin.Forms Projects is now published. You can buy it from Packt or Amazon. It will also be available in other book stores. More Information An example-driven guide to help you build native cross-platform mobile apps using Xamarin, .NET Core 3, and Visual Studio 2019. Set up Xamarin.Forms for building native apps […]

Marco Siccardi avatar

Scroll to any item in your Xamarin.Forms CollectionView from your ViewModel

14 days ago | Marco Siccardi

In this post, I am going to show you how we can easily extend CollectionView to implement ScrollTo-functionality through DataBinding from a ViewModel (for both grouped and non-grouped data sources).

Delpin Susai Raj avatar

Xamarin.Forms - Enable Default Zooming in Webview

14 days ago | Delpin Susai Raj

In this blog post, you will learn how to enable webview default zooming in xamarin forms. Introduction  Xamarin.Forms code runs on multiple platforms, each of which has its own filesystem. This means that reading and writing files are most easily done using the native file APIs on each platform. Alternatively, embedded resources are a simpler solution to distribute data files with an app.

Damian Mehers avatar

Code snippets for Xamarin Forms XAML Platform-specifics

14 days ago | Damian Mehers

This post is part of Luis Matos Code Snippets’ Xamarin Month In the early days of Xamarin Forms, if you wanted to use a platform-specific feature of a page or a view, you’d have to write a custom renderer. Later came effects, which were a little less painful. But the game-changer was when Microsoft decided […]

Logesh Palani avatar

Toast in Xamarin Forms

17 days ago | Logesh Palani

Introduction  This blog, we are going to see how to implement Toast Message in Xamarin Forms for Android and iOS. This project, we can use dependency injection to display toast and not using any third-party plugin. The android has a default widget for toast but iOS has an only alert controller.    Let’s start the story  Step 1:  Create Xamarin Forms Mobile App in Visual Studio for Mac.

The Xamarin Show avatar

Cross-platform Images Simplified with Resizetizer.NT | The Xamarin Show

15 days ago | The Xamarin Show

This week, James is joined by friend of the show and Xamarin Engineer Lead, Jonathan Dick. Are you tired of copying files in and out of different folders? Are you tired of worrying about different image resolutions? Then ResizetizerNT is for you! An amazing library from Jon that enables you to add all of your images into your .NET Standard project and have them resized and added to the correct platform folders and build time! You have to check this awesome library out.

Logesh Palani avatar

Expandable List View in Xamarin Android

15 days ago | Logesh Palani

Introduction       This article, we are going to learn how to use ExpandableListView in Xamarin Android and I’ll show the demo for the Expandable ListView in Xamarin.Android application. In the ListView, you can click any one item and it will expand and show the sub list or sub-items of the selected item and you can select or click the subview items with click events.

Bohdan Benetskyi avatar

Xamarin Magic Code Snippets

15 days ago | Bohdan Benetskyi


John Thiriet avatar

Using ConfigureAwait to improve your application

2 years ago | John Thiriet

I love async await ! In my opinion, the last time we got something as powerful as this was Linq. Of course, without Tasks it would not be as interesting as it is today. If you have never heard of it, async await is basically a syntaxic sugar on steroids and can refer to Microsoft’s documentation to learn more about it (link at the end of this post). A glance at the past Before it was available, on platforms such as Windows Phone or Windows RT, asynchronous programming was done the old way : public class MyService { public void Process() { // Do something in another thread then call the ProcessCompleted event } public event EventHandler ProcessCompleted; } public class MyViewModel { private readonly MyService _myService; public MyViewModel() { _myService = new MyService(); _myService.

Nick Randolph avatar

Xamarin DevOps Snippets (aka Pipeline Templates)

15 days ago | Nick Randolph

Louis Matos has put together Xamarin Month with the topic of Code Snippets – Check out Louis’ blog for the full month of snippet. In this post I’m going to cover some code snippets that use Pipeline Templates in order to setup a Azure DevOps pipeline for your Xamarin application. Azure Pipeline Templates are a way … Continue reading "Xamarin DevOps Snippets (aka Pipeline Templates)" The post Xamarin DevOps Snippets (aka Pipeline Templates) appeared first on Nick's .

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Xamarin.Forms 4.7: Grid Column & Row Definitions, Multi-Bindings, Shapes & Paths, and More!

16 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

Today, the Xamarin.Forms team is releasing Xamarin.Forms 4.7 with a collection of feature additions and improvements. These new features will let you unleash your full creative abilities when developing Xamarin.Forms applications. Simplified Grid Row & Column Definitions Before Xamarin.Forms 4.7, you would have to specify each column and row definition separately. The post Xamarin.Forms 4.7: Grid Column & Row Definitions, Multi-Bindings, Shapes & Paths, and More! appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

Rendy Del Rosario avatar

Xamarin Forms Prism Code Snippets

16 days ago | Rendy Del Rosario

This article is part of the code snippets June calendar by Luis Matos, click here to check all the great contributions. When developing a Xamarin… Continue ReadingXamarin Forms Prism Code Snippets The post Xamarin Forms Prism Code Snippets appeared first on Rendy's Website.

Daniel Hindrikes avatar

Autofac vs TinyIoC

16 days ago | Daniel Hindrikes

I recently added a resolver that is powered by TinyIoC to TinyMvvm because I got a request to do so because they said that performance was better. I have used Autofac for many years and I have never had any problems with it. But I decided to replace Autofac with TinyIoC in one app that […]

Samir GC avatar

ImageCircleTut21

16 days ago | Samir GC

Your download will begin in 25 seconds.  1,496 total views,  1 views today

Daniel Hindrikes avatar

TinyIoC for TinyMvvm

17 days ago | Daniel Hindrikes

There was an issue created for TinyMvvm regarding to use TinyIoC as the IoC-container. I had created an implementation of IResolver for Autofac. But now I decided to create one for TinyIoC too. The implementation for it can be installed via the NuGet package, TinyMvvm.TinyIoC, https://www.nuget.org/packages/TinyMvvm.TinyIoC. The code for setting up the container and the […]

Marco Kuiper avatar

Commonly used code in Xamarin.UITest

17 days ago | Marco Kuiper

If you’re trying to create automated tests for your Xamarin app, you must have stumbled across Xamarin.UITest. It’s a great way to bring the quality of your application to the next level. Just make sure to apply the best practices when using Xamarin.UITest (especially the Page Object Pattern) otherwise your code can get messy really fast. But when everything is set up properly, you can automatically test your application through the UI on over 1000 devices using Visual Studio App Center! When creating a new app in Visual Studio, simply select the checkbox “Add an automated UI Test project” to add an UITest to your application.

Kerry W. Lothrop avatar

39: .NET MAUI and the future of Xamarin. With David Ortinau

18 days ago | Kerry W. Lothrop

On episode 39 of DevTalk I speak to David Ortinau about the future of Xamarin and .NET MAUI. Links: Xamarin.Forms 5.0 roadmap Introducing .NET Multi-platform App UI .NET MAUI on Github 16: Cross-platfom apps using F# and Fabulous. With Mark Allibone

Delpin Susai Raj avatar

Xamarin.Forms - Working with PDFView and Pinch Zoom

18 days ago | Delpin Susai Raj

In this blog post, you will learn how to implement PDF view with pinch-zoom in xamarin forms. Introduction  Xamarin.Forms code runs on multiple platforms, each of which has its own filesystem. This means that reading and writing files are most easily done using the native file APIs on each platform. Alternatively, embedded resources are a simpler solution to distribute data files with an app.

Merge Conflict avatar

206: IoT Build Status with BuildLight

18 days ago | Merge Conflict

Frank is off with another #holidayhack... in June with his BuildLight project! Follow Us Frank: Twitter, Blog, GitHub James: Twitter, Blog, GitHub Merge Conflict: Twitter, Facebook, Website, Chat on Discord Music : Amethyst Seer - Citrine by Adventureface ⭐⭐ Review Us (https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/merge-conflict/id1133064277?mt=2&ls=1) ⭐⭐ Machine transcription available on http://mergeconflict.

Udara Alwis avatar

So I took up on TravelMonkey, the Xamarin + Cognitive Services Challenge!

20 days ago | Udara Alwis

Let me share my little adrenaline filled panic adventure into earning some awesome Xamarin Swag! from the Xamarin + Cognitive Challenge hosted by Microsoft, the TravelMonkey Challenge! 😀 Well it’s come to 2020, in the middle of a pandemic, a lock down, and it’s been a while since I took up on an actual challenge … Continue reading So I took up on TravelMonkey, the Xamarin + Cogn

The Xamarin Podcast avatar

Episode 74: Build 2020 Updates

21 days ago | The Xamarin Podcast

//Build 2020 just happened - remotely! James and Matt recap all of the great Xamarin announcements - and then you can go out and watch all the sessions. Plus this episode covers how to build iOS extension while reusing some Xamarin.Forms pages a new Azure + Mobile documentation center and so much more. And of course, the Azure Service of the Month and Pick of the Pod! Show Notes Latest News Xamarin Build Updates (https://devblogs.


Nick Randolph avatar

Consuming REST API with Swagger / OpenAPI in Xamarin and Uno Applications

22 days ago | Nick Randolph

I still recall the simplicity of standing up a SOAP service and adding a service reference via Visual Studio by simply entering the url to the WSDL – this scenario just worked…. until we moved on. There was a rapid progression away from the overly prescriptive XML based world of SOAP to REST based APIs. … Continue reading "Consuming REST API with Swagger / OpenAPI in Xamarin and Uno Applications" The post Consuming REST API with Swagger / OpenAPI in Xamarin and Uno Applications appeared first on Nick's .