Leomaris Reyes avatar

Let’s use the SearchBar control in Xamarin Forms

8 hours ago | Leomaris Reyes

This time I will tell you about the SearchBar, which is a control that allows us make a search of a specific information between a set of these. To understand better, I will be display these topics in the following sets: 🔹 SearchBar basic structure 🔹 Implementing SearchBar Page Let’s start!!! SearchBar basic structure To understand better, is important to know…Continue Reading→

Jim Bennett avatar

Xamarin ❤ F#

yesterday | Jim Bennett

Xamarin and Xamarin.Forms need no introduction. I'm sure by now you are well aware of these technologies and have seen many examples of building cross-platform mobile apps using C#. If not, I can highly recommend my book Xamarin in Action which if you follow this link and use code

Ryan Davis avatar

Introduction to ARKit (Redux)

yesterday | Ryan Davis

At the Sydney Mobile .Net Developers February 2019 Meetup, I gave another rendition of my talk from last year on ARKit - Apple's Augmented Reality (AR) - framework for mobile. You can see more about the original talk on my earlier post. To keep it fresh, I updated the Earthbound-themed demo app to include two new demos - one demonstrating image tracking, and another showing how you can use SpriteKit scenes as materials for your virtual nodes.

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Xamarin Developer Blog is Getting an Update!

2 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

Next week, the Xamarin Developer Blog will be migrating to a new platform with a modern, clean design and powerful features that will make it easy for you to discover and share great content. Starting now you will see the Microsoft developer blogs – Visual Studio, IoTDev, and Premier Developer – moved to a centralized […] The post Xamarin Developer Blog is Getting an Update! appeared first on Xamarin Blog.


Luis Beltran avatar

Tres buenos amigos: Bot Framework SDK v4, LUIS y Xamarin (Parte 3)

2 days ago | Luis Beltran

Esta publicación es parte del Mes Xamarin, una iniciativa liderada por Luis Matos. Revisa ésta y muchas más publicaciones interesantes relacionadas con Xamarin publicadas por y para miembros de la comunidad. ¿Quieres ser parte de esta...

James Montemagno avatar

Xamarin.Forms: Drop Shadow/Elevation on Android Bottom Navigation TabbedPage

3 days ago | James Montemagno

Adding a drop shadow to your bottom navigation views has never been so simple... with a single property!

Xamarin.Forms 101: Command Parameters

3 days ago | James Montemagno

Let's take a step back in a new mini-series that I like to call Xamarin.Forms 101. In each episode we will walk through a basic building block of Xamarin.Forms to help you build awesome cross-platform iOS, Android, and Windows applications in .NET. This week we will look at passing parameters into commands with MVVM. Show Notes:Xamarin.Forms Data Binding DocumentationXamarin.Forms 101: CommandsFind James on: Twitter, GitHub, Blog, and his weekly development podcast Merge Conflict.

Luis Pujols avatar

Wowza Client Plugin For Xamarin [PRE-RELEASE]

3 days ago | Luis Pujols

Hey Guys! Recently we had the need for supporting streaming and broadcast playback for one of our App’s, making use of the Wowza Media Services but the only issue was that they were only available on their iOS and Android native SDK’s. Well not anymore!🥳XamBoy and I got to work and now we have just … Continue reading "Wowza Client Plugin For Xamarin [PRE-RELEASE]"

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Visual Studio Mobile Developer Podcast: Releases, Previews, and Roadmaps!

4 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

The Visual Studio Mobile Developer Podcast features Matt Soucoup and James Montemagno discussing the latest and greatest in mobile and cloud development. In this episode, we discuss the best of what’s yet to come … in Visual Studio 2019 Preview 2 and Visual Studio for Mac 8.0 Preview, that is! Podcast Highlights Highlights from this […] The post Visual Studio Mobile Developer Podcast: Releases, Previews, and Roadmaps! appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

Mes Xamarin: Enamorate de Xamarin.Forms Shell

4 days ago

Como parte de la celebración del Mes Xamarin quiero compartir con ustedes uno de las funciones que amaras del preview de Xamarin.Forms 4, sin importar si estas iniciando en el desarrollo móvil o tienes años de experiencia estoy seguro que esta actualización te hará muy feliz.En las pasadas semanas una nueva version preview de Xamarin.Forms fue lanza la cual incluye muchos cambios y mejoras, y enseguida les mostrare una de esas nuevas funciones que sin duda hara que se enamoren de Xamari.

Xamarin Month: Fall in Love with Xamarin.Forms Shell

4 days ago

As part of the Xamarin Month celebration I want to share with you one of the features that you'll love about Xamarin.Forms 4 preview, no matter if you are starting with mobile development using Xamarin or you have experience working with it, this update will make you happy.In the past weeks a new preview version of Xamarin.Forms was released which includes a lot of major updates changes for the Xamarin.

Charlin Agramonte avatar

Plug and play animations in Xamarin Forms

5 days ago | Charlin Agramonte

Animations are important when developing a mobile app, it can make any boring application into a super fun one. Xamarin Forms makes it really easy to work with animations in the code behind but what if we want to create some simple animations that we can add to any control in a very easy way. […] The post Plug and play animations in Xamarin Forms appeared first on XamGirl.

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Easily Check Mobile Device Connectivity with Xamarin.Essentials

5 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

One of the best parts of a mobile device is their instant access to the internet. As a mobile app developer, it’s great to be able to pull data from the server to our apps to provide users with a delightful experience. Of course, until your user puts their device on airplane mode or hits […] The post Easily Check Mobile Device Connectivity with Xamarin.Essentials appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

Clipboard (Xamarin.Essentials API of the Week)

5 days ago | James Montemagno

Xamarin.Essentials provides developers with cross-platform APIs for their mobile applications. On this week's Essential API of the week we take a look at Clipboard, which enables you to easily get and set text to the system wide clipboard.Show Notes:Xamarin.Essentials DocumentationXamarin.Essentials Getting Started DocumentationClipboard DocumentationSource CodeFind James on: Twitter, GitHub, Blog, and his weekly development podcast Merge Conflict.


Gerald Versluis avatar

Zooming the Android WebView in Xamarin.Forms

5 days ago | Gerald Versluis

Oops, I did it again… Another PR got merged into Xamarin.Forms, this time adding the ability to set op zooming on the WebView on Android. In this post, I will show you what was added and how you can use it. Everybody was WebView zooming, ha! Before this change, it was only possible to enable ... Read moreZooming the Android WebView in Xamarin.Forms The post Zooming the Android WebView in Xamarin.

Gerald Versluis avatar

Pick Date/Time in Xamarin UITest

5 days ago | Gerald Versluis

For the past few weeks, I have been busy writing automated UI tests for a Xamarin.Forms app. At some point, I ran into the limitation that there was no apparent way to pick date and times. This post will provide you with the code to do just that. Possibly this post is more a “note ... Read morePick Date/Time in Xamarin UITest The post Pick Date/Time in Xamarin UITest appeared first on Gerald Versluis.

Martz  avatar

Fun with crossplatform gestures and 360 videos

5 days ago | Martz

Crossplatform gestures and 360 videos Touch management is handled quite differently on Android and iOS. Xamarin.Forms offers a nicely designed abstraction, inspired from the iOS APIs, which works across Android, iOS and UWP. Seek and volume Gestures can be useful to provide effective UX for seeking on videos and changing volume. Let’s see how we can implement exactly that. We need a view that receives touch and we will display information on which actions it takes depending on the gestures.


136: I Love PInvoke

6 days ago

When you need to get something done, sometimes you have to write some C++. Or sometimes you have no choice because you were handed a C++ library and why not expose a beautiful C# layer to call form your mobile apps. Seems easy right? We take a look at the why, how, and struggles with doing so. Follow Us Frank: Twitter, Blog, GitHub James: Twitter, Blog, GitHub Merge Conflict: Twitter, Facebook, Website, Chat on Discord Music : Amethyst Seer - Citrine by Adventureface ⭐⭐ Review Us (https://itunes.

Matthew Soucoup avatar

5 Azure Offerings I ❤️ For Xamarin Development

6 days ago | Matthew Soucoup

As part of the February 2019 28 days of Xamarin Community Love - find out the Five Azure offerings that I ❤️ the most for Xamarin Development!

Daniel Causer avatar

FFImageLoading + Lottie = 😍

7 days ago | Daniel Causer

February is the Xamarin Month and I was designated to post on the 10th, so here I am! I would also like to thank Luis Matos for putting up this event together. This year’s theme is Love and Friendship with this in mind, I’m sharing the story of what drove me to write this custom control. Last year while … Continue reading FFImageLoading + Lottie = 😍 →

Leomaris Reyes avatar

Why becoming a Blogger help you grow in your career: My Personal experience as Xamarin Blogger

7 days ago | Leomaris Reyes

I have been received messages from many different people, inspired by my work, asking me about how can they grow up in their career, how can they start becoming a Xamarin Blogger, what skills do they need to have, which advices can I give them, among other questions. That’s why in this time, I took a time to write about my experience being a…Continue Reading→

Tomasz Cielecki avatar

Make Your Own Azure DevOps Build Light

8 days ago | Tomasz Cielecki

Click to watch the YouTube video: I had a colleague at a previous work place, which had made a Philips Hue light, light up red when our bamboo build of our Xamarin Apps was failing, light up green if everything was OK. This is a pretty good way to have a visual indicator in the entire team if something is being checked in which is failing our builds. I decided to give this a go as well. However, with a Micro Controller Unit (MCU) instead, since it costs much less than a Philips Hue setup and it will require less moving parts.


Jesús Angulo avatar

Using Xml Namespaces to optimize your imports in Xamarin.Forms

9 days ago | Jesús Angulo

Learn how to optimize your xmlns imports with this new feature available in Xamarin.Forms 3.5

The Xamarin Podcast avatar

Episode 58: Releases and Previews and Roadmaps!

9 days ago | The Xamarin Podcast

In this episode, James and Matt discuss the latest previews of Visual Studio and Visual for Mac. There's new stuff for Xamarin.Forms, Android keeps on getting faster, App Center's new features are mapped out, and C++ makes an appearance?!? Tune in for all of this and more! Show Notes Download the Visual Studio 2019 Preview (https://visualstudio.microsoft.com/vs/preview/?WT.mc_id=mobiledevpodcast-podcast-masoucou) What's in VS 2019 For You! (https://blog.

Jesús Angulo avatar

Usando Xml Namespaces para optimizar tus imports en Xamarin.Forms

9 days ago | Jesús Angulo

Aprende a optimizar tus imports xmlns con esta nueva característica de Xamarin.Forms 3.5.

Marco Siccardi avatar

Handle AtomicPay’s webhook with Microsoft Azure (Part 3/3) – sending push notifications with Notification Hub

10 days ago | Marco Siccardi

In this third and last post of the series on handling AtomicPay's webhook, I will show you how to prepare your Azure Function to send push notifications (using Android as an exemplary receiver).

Steven Thewissen avatar

Creating an encyclopedia page in Xamarin.Forms

10 days ago | Steven Thewissen

If you frequent this blog you probably know I like creating cool-looking stuff in Xamarin.Forms. Since that’s what I like doing, why would I stop? So here’s another one! Finding inspiration for one of these can be really simple. There are numerous sites out there like Behance or Dribbble where a lot of creative artists … Continue reading "Creating an encyclopedia page in Xamarin.

Luis Pujols avatar

Fixing ListView Offset on Pull to Refresh in Xamarin iOS

10 days ago | Luis Pujols

Hey Guys! Recently I came upon an issue using ListViews in iOS on Xamarin Forms with the pull to refresh feature enabled, that caused the first item in my listview to be scrolled off screen each time the refresh on the list completed. Once I noticed this behavior, I began to think on ways we … Continue reading "Fixing ListView Offset on Pull to Refresh in Xamarin iOS"

Luis Beltran avatar

Tres buenos amigos: Bot Framework SDK v4, LUIS y Xamarin (Parte 2)

10 days ago | Luis Beltran

Esta publicación es parte del Mes Xamarin, una iniciativa liderada por Luis Matos. Revisa ésta y muchas más publicaciones interesantes relacionadas con Xamarin publicadas por y para miembros de la comunidad. ¿Quieres ser parte de esta...

MFractor  avatar

Using Custom Fonts In Xamarin.Forms

11 days ago | MFractor

Learn to use MFractors font importer to add new font assets to your Android and iOS apps in seconds. Custom fonts are one of the back-bones of modern app development. They are critical to a business's branding and icon fonts like FontAwesome or Ionicons are increasingly used as a replacement for image icons. In Xamarin.Forms, we include the font asset into each platform project and use the FontFamily property to apply the fonts in XAML.

The Xamarin Blog avatar

5 Things You’ll Love in Xamarin.Forms 3.5

11 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

Although Valentine’s Day isn’t for a few more days, we just couldn’t wait to celebrate the love by sharing a new stable release of Xamarin.Forms – 3.5. Your engagement and contributions with Xamarin have been heartwarming, and we love working with you. Every month we survey Xamarin developers in Visual Studio and via Twitter while […] The post 5 Things You’ll Love in Xamarin.

Jim Bennett avatar

Prototyping your first cloud-connected IoT project using an MXChip board and Azure IoT hub.

11 days ago | Jim Bennett

Learn how to build an internet connected fan using the MXChip Azure IoT dev kit and Azure IoT Hub

Showing options on top of the keyboard in Xamarin Forms

12 days ago | Rendy

There are scenarios when using a text editor that we want to show some options on the top of the keyboard. For example, a compose… Continue ReadingShowing options on top of the keyboard in Xamarin Forms The post Showing options on top of the keyboard in Xamarin Forms appeared first on Rendy's Website.

Sebastian Jensen avatar

Eigene Schriftarten in Xamarin.Forms Apps

12 days ago | Sebastian Jensen

Manchmal möchte man eine andere Schriftart als die Standard-Schrift in seiner Xamarin.Forms App verwenden. In diesem Beitrag möchte ich kurz zeigen, wie man zunächst eine eigene Schriftart den jeweiligen Projekten hinzufügen kann und dann natürlich auch, wie man diese verwenden kann. Ich habe mich hier für die Einbindung einer Google Font entschieden, aber technisch funktioniert dies mit jeder beliebigen Schriftart.

Marco Siccardi avatar

Use NuGets for your common Xamarin (Forms) code (and automate the creation process)

12 days ago | Marco Siccardi

When it comes to cross-platform development, some of you probably have code they use again and again - just like I do. Some time ago, I started to organize these snippets into libraries and pack them as NuGet packages. In this post, I'll show you how to do the same and automate package creation and (local) distribution.


Share (Xamarin.Essentials API of the Week)

12 days ago | James Montemagno

Xamarin.Essentials provides developers with cross-platform APIs for their mobile applications. On this week's Essential API of the week we take a look at Share, which enables you to easily share links and text to other applications using share dialogs.Show Notes:Xamarin.Essentials DocumentationXamarin.Essentials Getting Started DocumentationShare DocumentationSource CodeFind James on: Twitter, GitHub, Blog, and his weekly development podcast Merge Conflict.


Javier Suarez avatar

[VS4Mac] Samples Importer, acceder a ejemplos nunca fue más fácil

13 days ago | Javier Suarez

Introducción A la hora de aprender un lenguaje o framework es ideal contar con una buena documentación, pero, contar con ejemplos complementarios es aún mejor si cabe. Poder ver el código, modificarlo y probar los resultados. Gran parte de la documentación Xamarin cuenta con ejemplos oficiales asociados disponibles en GitHub.  ¿Y si pudiésemos acceder a … Sigue leyendo →

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Using Existing C++ Libraries in Cross-Platform Xamarin.Forms Applications

13 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

There are many libraries developed using C or C++ which can be brought to bear when creating Xamarin-based mobile apps such as those leveraged by Microsoft’s Hyperlapse Mobile and Pix Camera in order to achieve high performance image processing. This article, “Use C/C++ Libraries With Xamarin“, walks through developing a C# wrapper for a given native […] The post Using Existing C++ Libraries in Cross-Platform Xamarin.

Martin Zikmund avatar

10 lovely things you should tell your friends about Xamarin ❤

13 days ago | Martin Zikmund

This article is part of the Xamarin Month February 2019. Thanks, Luis Matos (@luismatosluna on Twitter) for the cool initiative! Xamarin…

135: Aspirational Office

13 days ago

Is working from home the future or is it just a pipe dream? What is the correct setup when it comes to equipment and what issues can you run into? This week we take a look at our own situation and discuss the positive and negatives. Follow Us Frank: Twitter, Blog, GitHub James: Twitter, Blog, GitHub Merge Conflict: Twitter, Facebook, Website, Chat on Discord Music : Amethyst Seer - Citrine by Adventureface ⭐⭐ Review Us (https://itunes.

Leomaris Reyes avatar

Simple tips to make better your Xamarin Experience on iOS

14 days ago | Leomaris Reyes

There are certain topics that are simple but often really hard to find online and we can spend dead hours only to find out how simple they are!, Today I will share with you some tips that are really simple, but can ease our Xamarin experience on iOS a lot. Things like how change the simulator orientation or how change…Continue Reading→

Sebastian Jensen avatar

Buch-Tipp: Xamarin.Forms Solutions von Gerald Versluis und Steven Thewissen

14 days ago | Sebastian Jensen

Seit kurzem gibt es ein neues Buch von Gerald, welches auf den Namen Xamarin.Forms Solutions hört und zusammen mit Steven geschrieben wurde. Nachdem ich bereits vom letzten Buch Xamarin.Forms Essentials sehr angetan war, konnte ich es mir natürlich nicht nehmen lassen mir auch das neue Werk zu holen und direkt zu lesen. In diesem Beitrag möchte ich nun meine Eindrücke bzgl. des Buchs mit euch teilen.

Daniel Hindrikes avatar

Xamarin ♥ Azure SignalR Service

14 days ago | Daniel Hindrikes

Azure SignalR Service is a service in Microsoft Azure that makes it possible for developers to build applications with real-time communications without having to think about how to host it. Azure will handle all that for us. If you are interested to learn more about SignarlR service and Xamarin apps there is a chapter in […]

Luis Beltran avatar

Azure Table Storage with Xamarin.Forms

15 days ago | Luis Beltran

This is the second post of the series on Azure Storage & Xamarin. Besides, this entry is part of Xamarin Month, which is an initiative by Luis Matos. Read other interesting publications and learn from the experts in...