James Montemagno avatar

Enhanced Mobile App Versioning in Azure DevOps (VSTS) with Mobile Tasks

8 hours ago | James Montemagno

Versioning your iOS and Android apps in Azure DevOps has never been easier with my Mobile Apps Tasks extension!


Preferences (Essential API of the Week)

14 hours ago | James Montemagno

Xamarin.Essentials provides developers with cross-platform APIs for their mobile applications. On this week's Essential API of the week we take a look at Preferences, which enables you to store application preferences in a key/value store.Show Notes:Xamarin.Essentials DocumentationXamarin.Essentials Getting Started DocumentationPreferences DocumentationSource CodeFind James on: Twitter, GitHub, Blog, and his weekly development podcast Merge Conflict.

Gone Mobile 83: Diving into GrialKit and Gorilla Player with UXDivers

15 hours ago

We finally sit down with Leonardo and Diego from UXDivers to talk about their products GrialKit and Gorilla Player. GrialKit is a collection of Xamarin.Forms user controls, templates, pages, and basically a really simple way to make your app look great. Gorilla Player lets you live preview and hot reload XAML from your Xamarin.Forms products on a device or simulator. Special Guests: Diego Rivero and Leonardo Rodriguez.


132: The Life & Times of Frank Krueger

2 days ago

It is a very special week on Merge Conflict as James Montemagno gets to sit down and interview Frank Krueger about his childhood, life, career, move to independent developer, and future plans. From humble beginnings in New York, to electrical engineer, internship at Microsoft on the WPF team, business owner, world traveler, and now independent developer. You do not want to miss this episode. Follow Us Frank: Twitter, Blog, GitHub James: Twitter, Blog, GitHub Merge Conflict: Twitter, Facebook, Website Music : Amethyst Seer - Citrine by Adventureface ⭐⭐ Review Us (https://itunes.

Daniel Hindrikes avatar

Xamarin.Forms projects

2 days ago | Daniel Hindrikes

I have together with Johan Karlsson written a book Xamarin.Forms. Xamarin.Forms is a lightweight cross-platform development toolkit for building applications with a rich user interface. In this book you’ll start by building projects that explain the Xamarin.Forms ecosystem to get up and running with building cross-platform applications. We’ll increase in difficulty throughout the proje

Leomaris Reyes avatar

Tips to practice UI development in Xamarin Forms and not die trying

2 days ago | Leomaris Reyes

When we are starting to learn some tool, programming language, process or whatever new thing that we want, normally we focus on reading and practicing specifically about this topic we want to learn, we read about new features, functionalities among others by itself to improve our knowledge. But in order to have a more efficient way to learn, we are now…Continue Reading→

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Xamarin.Forms 3.5: A Little Bindable Love

4 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

This is a guest post contributed by Andrei Nitescu, a mobile developer since 2013 and frequent contributor to Xamarin.Forms. He shares about his experiences with other developers on his blog, and delivering talks whenever he has the chance. Xamarin.Forms 3.5 Xamarin.Forms 3.5-pre2 is now available in pre-release on NuGet and via your Visual Studio NuGet […] The post Xamarin.Forms 3.5: A Little Bindable Love appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

The Xamarin Podcast avatar

Episode 57: New Year - New Pod! Office Hours, Hockey App Moves, XamU Retires, and Essentials Becomes a Video Star!

4 days ago | The Xamarin Podcast

In this first episode of the New Year - and the second month in a row - James and Matt chat about the office hours that Matt's been hosting with the community. James has some big news about Hockey App ... or is that App Center now? Xamarin University is retiring, but Xamarin.Essentials is now a star of its own video series! James will give you a rundown of his hands on experiences with Xamarin.Forms 4.

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Hackathon Superweapon: F# and Fabulous

5 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

Recently, I participated in Hack for the Sea, a weekend devoted to applying tech to marine conservation. One of our local challenges was a “cross-platform mobile app for reporting marine debris.” A perfect opportunity to explore the Fabulous  project, which brings the Elmish Model-View-Update (MVU) architecture to Xamarin and F#. Hackathons are great short and […] The post Hackathon Superweapon: F# and Fabulous appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

Xamarin.Forms 101: Data Binding

5 days ago | James Montemagno

Let's take a step back in a new mini-series that I like to call Xamarin.Forms 101. In each episode we will walk through a basic building block of Xamarin.Forms to help you build awesome cross-platform native applications. This week we will look at MVVM and Data Binding to simplify development.Show Notes:Xamarin.Forms Data Binding DocumentationFind James on: Twitter, GitHub, Blog, and his weekly development podcast Merge Conflict.

Evgeny Zborovsky avatar

Mocking Xamarin.Essentials

6 days ago | Evgeny Zborovsky

Xamarin.Essentials provides developers with cross-platform APIs for their mobile applications. If you never heard about Xamarin.Essentials you should get familiar with it as soon as possible! It is a great collection of APIs that is very easy to use and integrate to your projects. You can find more information in the official documentation. In order to … Continue reading Mocking Xamarin.Esse

App Links in Xamarin Forms

7 days ago | Rendy

As a mobile applications user sometimes we receive emails with url links that by clicking on them, they open an application instead of the browser.… Continue ReadingApp Links in Xamarin Forms The post App Links in Xamarin Forms appeared first on Rendy's Website.

Connectivity (Essential API of the Week)

7 days ago | James Montemagno

Xamarin.Essentials provides developers with cross-platform APIs for their mobile applications. On this week's Essential API of the week we take a look at Connectivity, which enable you to check device internet connectivity, connection type, and register for changes to connectivity.Show Notes:Xamarin.Essentials DocumentationXamarin.Essentials Getting Started DocumentationConnectivity DocumentationSource CodeFind James on: Twitter, GitHub, Blog, and his weekly development podcast Merge Conflict.


Jean-Marie Alfonsi avatar

Carousel layout + auto item size + column count = Happy New HorizontalListView !

8 days ago | Jean-Marie Alfonsi

A big update has been released for the Sharpnado.Forms.Presentation and the Sharpnado.HorizontalListView nuget packages: v0.9.8: https://github.com/roubachof/Sharpnado.Presentation.Forms It includes some real nice features and fixes some inconsistencies. Carousel layout is coming to town The ListLayout property of the HorizontalListView has

MFractor  avatar

Simplified Image Asset Management for Xamarin Apps

8 days ago | MFractor

Easily manage the image assets in your Xamarin apps with MFractors Image Manager. Working with image assets is definitely one of the most time-consuming parts of Xamarin development; adding new assets to our projects is tedious, it's hard to completely delete an image resource and there is no way to visually explore all images in our solution. With the release of MFractor v3.7, I am pleased to introduce the Image Manager, a centralised user interface that you can use to explore and manage the images in your Xamarin app.

Xamarin Month: Love and Friendship

8 days ago | Luis Matos

The Xamarin Month is an initiative that is born from the advent calendars (C#, F#) created previously in different languages. In our case we will not celebrate holidays, but we will follow a topic. Each month we celebrate the Xamarin Month will have a different theme or topic. Because the February month is the base point [...] La entrada Xamarin Month: Love and Friendship se publicó primero en Luis Matos.

131: Three Degrees of Freedom

8 days ago

It's a slow start to the new year, which means it is time to talk about what we splurged on this holiday! Frank got himself a new Oculus Go, so why not talk about the state of VR, AR, and MR! Follow Us Frank: Twitter, Blog, GitHub James: Twitter, Blog, GitHub Merge Conflict: Twitter, Facebook, Website Music : Amethyst Seer - Citrine by Adventureface ⭐⭐ Review Us (https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/merge-conflict/id1133064277?mt=2&ls=1) ⭐⭐ SUPPORT US ON PATREON: patreon.

Leomaris Reyes avatar

Simple way to add a Tabbed Page in our screens in Xamarin Forms

9 days ago | Leomaris Reyes

In some App’s is required to navigate within the same screen throughout  different sections with their own design and information, each one independent of the other. To do it, we have a page type named: TabbedPage. Let’s learn how to implement it. What is a tabbed page? It’s a page that contains different tabs or sections that make possible the navigation between…Continue Reading→

Charlin Agramonte avatar

Adjusting elements when keyboard shows in Xamarin Forms

11 days ago | Charlin Agramonte

When developing forms, a good practice is that when the keyboard is shown we shouldn’t hide the text entries behind it. Instead of that the text entry should raise up while typing. This is pretty easy to do in Xamarin Forms, by just adding the entry inside the Scrollview and that’s it. But what happens […] The post Adjusting elements when keyboard shows in Xamarin Forms appeared first on XamGirl.

Jesús Angulo avatar

Mi experiencia usando LiveXAML

12 days ago | Jesús Angulo

Hola techies, hoy quiero escribir acerca de una herramienta fantástica para Xamarin pero antes de eso, hablemos un poco del contexto. Si ustedes aman Xamarin tanto como yo de seguro en el pasado han sentido una gran molestia al ver que otras opciones en el mercado tienen la capacidad de

Rating swipe control in Xamarin Forms

12 days ago | Rendy

Recently I created a simple rating control, which basically shows the rating value according to the value selected (Poor/Fair/Good/Good/Excellent). Basically, after tapping an element it… Continue ReadingRating swipe control in Xamarin Forms The post Rating swipe control in Xamarin Forms appeared first on Rendy's Website.

Visual Azure Provisioning From a Whiteboard

12 days ago | James Montemagno

On this week's Xamarin Show, James is joined by good friend Christos Matskas who shows off a beautiful Xamarin application that is infused with AI to generate a full Azure backend just by drawing pictures on a white board. You don't want to miss this mind blowing demo and walkthrough of the code.Show Notes:Source CodeConnect(); KeynoteChristos on TwitterFind James on: Twitter, GitHub, Blog, and his weekly development podcast Merge Conflict.

Mahmoud Ali avatar

Retrospectiva 2018 | Conheça os conteúdos que foram TOP 10 no Blog da Lambda3

12 days ago | Mahmoud Ali

UOU! 2018 passou voando, não é verdade? E como em todos os anos aqui na Lambda3 a gente reserva um espaço dedicado para fazer a retrospectiva com os assuntos mais lidos em nosso blog durante todo o ano. via GIPHY De modo geral, o blog teve um crescimento na audiência de 6% maior de visualizações se comparado ao ano anterior, com um total de 16.194 views, enquanto em que em 2017 tivemos pouco mais de 15 mil visitas.

David Britch avatar

Using the Retry Pattern with Azure Storage from Xamarin.Forms

12 days ago | David Britch

Back in 2017 I wrote about transient fault handling in Xamarin.Forms applications with the retry pattern. Transient faults include the momentary loss of network connectivity to services, the temporary unavailability of a service, or timeouts that arise when a service is busy. These faults can have a huge impact on the perceived quality of an application. Therefore, applications that communicate with remote services should ideally be able to:Detect faults when they occur, and determine if the faults are likely to be transient.

Giampaolo Tucci avatar

Xamarin Android: Il grande mistero degli Android API Level - Seconda e ultima parte

12 days ago | Giampaolo Tucci

Nella scorsa parte stavamo analizzando gli scopi e utilizzi dei valori targetSdkVersion e target framework. Come accennato questi valori servono per gestire il fatto che le nuove versioni di Android propongono non solo nuove funzionalità e nuovi template, ma anche in alcuni casi possono eliminare o modificare istruzioni e funzionalità preesistenti. >> Osservazione 9Il targetSdkVersion è usato solo a runtime, e indica la versione di Android per la quale la nostra app è ottimizzata.

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Xamarin and .NET Community Events in January

13 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

It’s a new year with tons of new and awesome community-run events scheduled this month. Get the full list of mobile developer engagements happening all over the world through our Community page. There you will also find new Meetups, links to Github and StackOverflow, as well as the .NET Twitter, Gitter, and Facebook pages. As […] The post Xamarin and .NET Community Events in January appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

Evgeny Zborovsky avatar

Dynamically changing the selected tab tint color in Xamarin.Forms

13 days ago | Evgeny Zborovsky

Android Since Xamarin.Forms 3.1 a TabbedPage.BarSelectedItemColor property has been introduced and we can simply use it to achieve our goal. XAML: <TabbedPage xmlns:android="clr-namespace:Xamarin.Forms.PlatformConfiguration.AndroidSpecific;assembly=Xamarin.Forms.Core" android:TabbedPage.BarSelectedItemColor="Red"> </TabbedPage> C#: Xamarin.Forms.PlatformConfiguration.AndroidSpecific.


Opening the doors of the universe – Experience 2018

15 days ago | Luis Matos

As 2018 comes to an end, we are ready for this 2019. This has been a fantastic year, I am very grateful for the support of the community in a general way. For me, the most important thing, more than helping,   is to be able to touch the people lives in the most positive and meaningful way. Less than 5 months ago I started this blog in order to reach more people [...] La entrada Opening the doors of the universe – Experience 2018 se publicó primero en Luis Matos.

Gone Mobile 82: Building Fabulous Apps Using F# with Jim Bennett

15 days ago

It's been awhile since we've had a good F# discussion, so for our final episode of 2018 we decided to fix that. Join us as we talk to Jim Bennett about the latest and greatest in the world of F# and how it's becoming a better option than ever before for building mobile apps! Special Guest: Jim Bennett.

130: 2018 Retrospective & 2019 Predictions

15 days ago

It is that wonderful time of the year where we get to reflect back on all of the amazing stuff from 2018 and also give our 2019 (and beyond) predictions in the world of development. We also take your questions for our end of the year lightning topics including: C# features we want, .NET Standard vs Shared Project, Xamarin.Forms 5.0, Microprocessors, and learning languages. Follow Us Frank: Twitter, Blog, GitHub James: Twitter, Blog, GitHub Merge Conflict: Twitter, Facebook, Website Music : Amethyst Seer - Citrine by Adventureface ⭐⭐ Review Us (https://itunes.

Martz  avatar

PulseMusic - music player design with Skia and LibVLC

16 days ago | Martz

PulseMusic - stylish music player with Skia and LibVLC In February 2015, Anish Chandran, a Microsoft UX and Visual designer, posted on Dribble and Behance an original music player UX concept. In August 2018, Javier Suárez Ruiz implemented and published on GitHub a Xamarin.Forms (iOS/Android) UI implementation of the audio player view of the PulseMusic concept by Anish. As mentioned in the readme: The main objective of the sample is to show the creation of the Player’s UI (circular progress, rotating cover, etc.

Luis Pujols avatar

Creating Custom Controls Part 2: SliderView

18 days ago | Luis Pujols

Hey Guys! In the first part of this series of articles about creating custom controls, we learned how to create an ExtendedListView that supports Infinite Scrolling and Commands to handle business logic directly on our ViewModels. In this article we are going to see our next use case which is creating a Custom Stepper + … Continue reading "Creating Custom Controls Part 2: SliderView"

Vicente Guzman avatar

ImageButton [Xamarin.Forms]

19 days ago | Vicente Guzman

Introducción Normalmente como desarrolladores necesitamos hacer que una imagen cuente con determinada acción al tocarla, como por ejemplo que nos lleve a otra sección de la aplicación, esto porque nuestros usuarios así lo intuyen al ver una imagen, ya sea un icono o una fotografía, esta última para verla más grande. En Xamarin anteriormente no … Sigue leyendo ImageButton [Xamarin.Forms] U

Mark Allibone avatar

Building Xamarin iOS library wrappers with Azure DevOps Build Pipelines

19 days ago | Mark Allibone

Azure DevOps, formerly known as Visual Studio Team Services or VSTS for short, allows you to create automated release pipelines for all different kind of projects. One of the nice things is that you get free build time for opensource projects. So why not give it a spin and look if I can set up the build pipeline for my open source project PureLayout.Net. The PureLayout.Net library is a wrapper of the PureLayout iOS library written in Objective-C which allows you to quickly layout your UI in code.

Xamarin Universe: a call to action

20 days ago | Luis Matos

The Xamarin Universe is an initiative that seeks to unify all resources (communities, resources, jobs, etc.) within the same environment. This initiative aims to make the community aware of those resources that Xamarin developers unknown and are highly needed. Sometimes, many of those resources help us work in a productive way or simply help us find those things we [...] La entrada Xamarin Universe: a call to action se publicó primero en Luis Matos.

A Smarter DI Container for Xamarin.Forms

20 days ago | Stephen Marcus

They got it wrong with IOC containers, but that can be fixed. The post A Smarter DI Container for Xamarin.Forms appeared first on Marcus Technical Services.

Leomaris Reyes avatar

Handling strings in our XAML’s

21 days ago | Leomaris Reyes

In this article, I just covered a few recollections of some simple but important topics to improve our Xaml’s and that are too needed and to useful in everyday life to develop an application. I hope these topics are useful for you. Let’s start! 😎 We will be learning the following topics: ✔ Concatenating strings ✔ Adding special characters to the texts ✔ Making

129: Never Nullable (Null Bad)

22 days ago

We enter the world of C# 8 nullable reference types! What does the migration look like? What are the benefits? Should you be turning on all the flags right now in your apps and libraries? Follow Us Frank: Twitter, Blog, GitHub James: Twitter, Blog, GitHub Merge Conflict: Twitter, Facebook, Website Music : Amethyst Seer - Citrine by Adventureface ⭐⭐ Review Us (https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/merge-conflict/id1133064277?mt=2&ls=1) ⭐⭐ SUPPORT US ON PATREON: patreon.

Jim Bennett avatar

Fabulous Santa Tracker

23 days ago | Jim Bennett

'Twas the night before Christmas, and all through the house... For millions of people worldwide, Christmas eve is a time of magic. Children are excited and unable to sleep because... Santa is coming tonight!!!! This is the one night of the year you want a stranger to come into your

Martin Zikmund avatar

Supporting Chinese localization in UWP apps

24 days ago | Martin Zikmund

I have recently come across this challenging question on Stack Overflow. The OP, my friend Touseef, tried to add Chinese translation to his UWP app via a RESW file but unfortunately failed. The system didn’t even recognize the app as supporting Chinese culture and even the built-in texts like Settings in the NavigationView stayed in

Leomaris Reyes avatar

Applying MVVM design pattern

25 days ago | Leomaris Reyes

As Developers, we all want our code to work, but if we just write code, chances are we end up with a complex code, and really hard to read, we all want our code to be clean, organized and easy to read, that’s where Design Patterns come into play. But exactly why do we use it?  Design patterns offers us…Continue Reading→

Luis Pujols avatar

Let’s Create A Xamarin Plugin

25 days ago | Luis Pujols

Hey Guys! Recently, I have received a few messages from the community asking me mostly 2 questions: “How were you able to create 2 Xamarin Plugins in the last few months” and “What was your experience while creating them, what tools did you use?”, so this week’s post is inspired by those two questions and … Continue reading "Let’s Create A Xamarin Plugin"

Matthew Soucoup avatar

Two ListViews on the Same Page?!? No Way!

26 days ago | Matthew Soucoup

Ever want to put 2 list views of data on the same page in Xamarin.Forms, but you knew it wasn't a good idea? Well - this post will show you a way around it!

Marcos Cobeña Morián avatar

Xamarin.Forms XAML

26 days ago | Marcos Cobeña Morián

In the same way we continuously refactor our C# code we should trait XAML one equally. As we layout screens there uses to be pieces which can be reused here and there. After some years working with Xamarin.Forms —plus some more with WPF and co.— I've learnt from others, and my own experience, how to scaffold good XAML which maintains its good shape as time goes by. Split into chapters, I'll try to cover everything expressed in XAML: Xaml Styler and App structure (this one) Colors Control Templates Converters Font Styles Global Styles Sizes Styles Xaml Styler Thanks to Daniel Martín we've been using Xaml Styler in our last project.

Best Practices for User Interface Automation

26 days ago | James Montemagno

This week, James is joined by friend of the show Sweeky Satpathy, Software Engineer on the Mobile Customer Advisory Team, who shows how to be successful writing user interface tests for Xamarin iOS and Android applications. She walks us through how to get started and best practices of using "page-object" pattern. Sample: UITest Page -Object PatternWiki: UITest Page-Object PatternTailwinds SampleTailwinds Sample UITestsFind James on: Twitter, GitHub, Blog, and his weekly development podcast Merge Conflict.

Damien Doumer avatar

5 Reasons Why The Xamarin.Forms Shell Will Increase Your Productivity.

26 days ago | Damien Doumer

Hello friends, Xamarin.Forms 4.0 Preview was made available for some time already, and it has several features which I’m excited about. These features where announced months ago, but the one which caught my attention was the Xamarin.Forms Shell. This feature is not yet available on the UWP platform as I’m writing this blog post today.... The post 5 Reasons Why The Xamarin.Forms Shell Will Increase Your Productivity.