Luis Matos avatar

CSharp for Markup in Xamarin Forms

21 hours ago | Luis Matos

CSharp for Markup in Xamarin Forms. It has always been possible to use CSharp code (C#) to create views in Xamarin Forms, but the truth is that with all the features that XAML has in favor it can be a bit difficult for new developers to make the decision to use CSharp. With the appearance [...] La entrada CSharp for Markup in Xamarin Forms se publicó primero en Luis Matos.

Runar Ovesen Hjerpbakk avatar

Fabulous Xamarin Forms

yesterday | Runar Ovesen Hjerpbakk

As an avid C# user, I sometimes forget F# is a fully supported language for creating cross-platform apps using Xamarin. Fabulous is a fabulous framework for crafting apps with the ultra-simple Model-View-Update architecture, know from Elm and Flutter, using F# and Xamarin Forms. The functional nature of F# enables new patterns, and this post will teach you to craft your next app using F#, the Model-View-Update architecture and immutable models.

The Xamarin Show avatar

Xamarin.Forms 101: Control Templates

2 days ago | The Xamarin Show

Let's take a step back in a new mini-series that I like to call Xamarin.Forms 101. In each episode we will walk through a basic building block of Xamarin.Forms to help you build awesome cross-platform iOS, Android, and Windows applications in .NET. This week we take a look at building the theme of your XAML app to be consistent across pages using control templates.Show Notes:Xamarin.

Syncfusion  avatar

Sneak Peek at 2019 Volume 4: Xamarin

2 days ago | Syncfusion

At the end of this year, we at Syncfusion will come out with another exciting release with cool and useful... The post Sneak Peek at 2019 Volume 4: Xamarin appeared first on Syncfusion Blogs.

Nigel Ferrissey avatar

XamarinBites 30

2 days ago | Nigel Ferrissey

20 Best Xamarin Bookshttps://dev.to/misucai/20-best-xamarin-books-2cnn Investing Time in the Xamarin Linker for Smaller App Sizeshttps://montemagno.com/investing-time-in-the-xamarin-linker-for-smaller-app-sizes/ Useful converters in Xamarin Formshttps://xamgirl.com/useful-converters-in-xamarin-forms/ GIF Support now available in Xamarin.Formshttps://blog.verslu.is/xamarin/xamarin-forms-xamarin/gif-support-xamarin-forms/ Xamarin.

Matthew Soucoup avatar

Santa Talk: An Intelligent Serverless Xamarin App

2 days ago | Matthew Soucoup

Ho ho ho!! Santa is coming to town! But you can get a jump on him with this Xamarin.Forms app. Find out how to properly structure a call from Forms to Azure Functions to Microsoft Cognitive Services!


Anbu Mani avatar

FCM implementation in Xamarin Forms – Part II

2 days ago | Anbu Mani

Before, reading this article, you should finish the “Xamarin Forms FCM Setup Configuration – Part I” to understand this article, because of this article continuous my first article. This article demonstrates the configuration of the Firebase Notification Service in Xamarin.Forms application. In Xamarin.Forms there is no default function, so we need to install some packages. […]

Daniel Hindrikes avatar

Add a swipe menu to your Xamarin.Forms app

2 days ago | Daniel Hindrikes

A common pattern in mobile apps is to use a swipe menu, a menu that appears when a user is swiping an item in a list for example. We often see this in mail- and messages apps. For Xamairn.Forms ListView we had ContextActions. but they were pretty limited. But in the upcoming 4.4.0 release of […]

Bas de Cort avatar

Consuming a GraphQL endpoint with Xamarin

3 days ago | Bas de Cort

In this post I'll try to explain how to consume a GraphQL endpoint from you're client application. Because GraphQL is built for mobile, I'll be explaining on how to implement this in Xamarin.Forms.

Merge Conflict avatar

179: Analyzing All That Data

3 days ago | Merge Conflict

After a year of gathering data in his apps, Frank finally sat down to analyze it all. Did it answer his questions? Did he make changes to the app? Did he rip the telemetry out completely? Tune in. Follow Us Frank: Twitter, Blog, GitHub James: Twitter, Blog, GitHub Merge Conflict: Twitter, Facebook, Website, Chat on Discord Music : Amethyst Seer - Citrine by Adventureface ⭐⭐ Review Us (https://itunes.

Anbu Mani avatar

Xamarin Forms FCM Setup Configuration – Part I

3 days ago | Anbu Mani

Introduction This article demonstrates how to set up the FCM push notifications configuration in google console for Xamarin Forms. Overview of Firebase Cloud Messaging Firebase Cloud Messaging (FCM) is a service that facilitates messaging between mobile apps and server applications. This article provides an overview of how FCM works, and it explains how to configure […]

Luis Matos avatar

What code behind means

3 days ago | Luis Matos

In a Xamarin.Forms application, is used to define the visual content with a XAML page and it works together with a C# file for the code behind. The code-behind file provides code support for the markup. Together, these two files contribute to a new class definition that includes secondary views and initialization of the properties. [...] La entrada What code behind means se publicó primero en Luis Matos.

Elbrinner da Silva Fernandes avatar

Articulo social sobre accesibilidad con unos toques técnicos enfocado a Xamarin.Forms

3 days ago | Elbrinner da Silva Fernandes

En algún momento de nuestra vida, vamos a necesitar soluciones accesibles para mantener nuestro estilo de vida. Yo desde hace 8 meses, soy padre y desde este momento mi libertad de movimiento cambio… ahora, siempre que estoy con la pequeña necesito planifica a donde voy y como haré para llegar, ya que pequeños problemas como la falta de ascensor, falta de transporte apropiado, me impactan directamente a donde puedo ir o no.


Charlin Agramonte avatar

Useful converters in Xamarin Forms

5 days ago | Charlin Agramonte

When developing Xamarin Forms applications there are some converters that we use very often. In the following article will do a compilation of the most useful converters I have used, so that you can easily use them in your projects. (In case you are not familiar with converters you can check this article). Here the […] The post Useful converters in Xamarin Forms appeared first on XamGirl.

Luis Beltran avatar

Añadiendo funcionalidad Pull-to-Refresh con Xamarin.Forms RefreshView

5 days ago | Luis Beltran

Esta publicación es parte del Calendario de Adviento Xamarin, una iniciativa liderada por Luis Beltrán. Revisa este enlace para conocer más artículos interesantes sobre Xamarin (y tecnologías afines) publicados por varios miembros de la comunidad.  Cuando...

The Xamarin Blog avatar

What’s New for Xamarin Developers in Visual Studio 2019 version 16.4

6 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

This week, Visual Studio 2019 version 16.4 was released with many improvements for mobile developers in Visual Studio. This release brings major productivity enhancements including the GA release of XAML Hot Reload for Xamarin.Forms, smaller Android APKs, tooling to migrate your applications to Android X,

James Montemagno avatar

Setting Android Status Bar Background & Icon Colors

6 days ago | James Montemagno

Here are a few tips and tricks to dynamically change the status bar color on your Android apps.

Javier Suarez avatar

[Xamarin.Forms] IndicatorView

7 days ago | Javier Suarez

Introducción Recientemente recibíamos en Xamarin.Forms un nuevo CarouselView. El CarouselView permite mostrar una colección donde se pueden desplazar los elementos haciendo deslizamientos (gestos de Swipe). A pesar de contar con diferentes opciones para gestionar el layout, orientación, espaciado, etc. una de las peticiones más habituales a la hora de trabajar con el nuevo Carousel es … Sigu

Luis Beltran avatar

Protegido: Curso Básico de Xamarin: Implementando bases de datos locales con SQLite

7 days ago | Luis Beltran

No hay extracto porque es una entrada protegida.

Gerald Versluis avatar

GIF Support now available in Xamarin.Forms

7 days ago | Gerald Versluis

With the new pre-release version of Xamarin.Forms that just came out, you can now use animated GIF images! Of course it is super obvious what you can do with that, in this post I will show you how! The support for animated GIF has been a long time coming, but recently the PR was cleaned ... Read more GIF Support now available in Xamarin.Forms The post GIF Support now available in Xamarin.Forms appeared first on Gerald Versluis.

Javier Suarez avatar

[Xamarin.Forms] Un primer vistazo a SwipeView

7 days ago | Javier Suarez

Opciones contextuales Los dispositivos móviles han cambiado la forma en la que el usuario interactua con el contenido de la aplicación. Un ejemplo de ello, es el uso de opciones contextuales. Hablamos de las opciones contextuales a las que podemos acceder realizando un gesto de deslizamiento (swipe). En Xamarin.Forms 4.4 nos llega SwipeView, un nuevo … Sigue leyendo →

Javier Suarez avatar

[Xamarin.Forms] Soporte a Gifs

8 days ago | Javier Suarez

Introducción Desde los inicios de Xamarin.Forms se contaba con soporte para diferentes formatos de imagen. Con la llegada de nuevas versiones llegaron nuevas opciones como FontImageSource. Con Xamarin.Forms 4.4 llega el soporte al formato gif y animaciones. Soporte al formato gif El uso de gif en Xamarin.Forms no implica grandes cambios en API o nuevos … Sigue leyendo →

Ryan Davis avatar

(More of) What's new in iOS13

8 days ago | Ryan Davis

At the Melbourne Xamarin Meetup November 2019 Meetup, I gave a second run of my  "(Some of) What's new in iOS13" talk, which (appropriately) covers new features and frameworks in the latest version of iOS. Since the talk included a number of new demos, this one ended up with the title "(More of) What's new in iOS13". You can see more about the original talk in my earlier post, which covered Dark Mode, PencilKit, ARKit and CoreML.

Javier Suarez avatar

[Material] Monkey Conf 2019

8 days ago | Javier Suarez

El evento En España tenemos una gran comunidad Xamarin y con la idea de contar con un evento de desarrollo relacionado con Xamarin de gran tamaño, el año pasado nacía la Monkey Conf. Ante el buen recibimiento, no podía más que hacer lo posible para volver este año con más contenido, mayor tamaño y más … Sigue leyendo →

Steven Thewissen avatar

Snppts Challenge Wrap-up

8 days ago | Steven Thewissen

A while ago we started the Snppts Challenge, asking you to submit your good-looking UIs to the platform and promising swag in the process. Now that the deadline has passed, let’s take a quick look back on this challenge! We think the response to this was great, with quite a few submissions. We’ve received 13 pull … Continue reading "Snppts Challenge Wrap-up" The post Snppts Challenge Wrap-up appeared first on Thewissen.

Delpin Susai Raj avatar

Xamarin.Forms - Converter in MVVM using IValueConverter

8 days ago | Delpin Susai Raj

In this blog post, you will learn how to use Converter in MVVM using IValueConverter in Xamarin.Forms.IntroductionXamarin.Forms - Working With TriggersXamarin.Forms code runs on multiple platforms - each of which has its own filesystem. This means that reading and writing files is most easily done using the native file APIs on each platform. Alternatively, embedded resources are a simpler solution to distribute data files with an app.

The Xamarin Show avatar

Xamarin.Forms 101: Entries and Editors

8 days ago | The Xamarin Show

Let's take a step back in a new mini-series that I like to call Xamarin.Forms 101. In each episode we will walk through a basic building block of Xamarin.Forms to help you build awesome cross-platform iOS, Android, and Windows applications in .NET. This week we take a look at how to effectively use the Entry control and the Editor control in Xamarin.Forms.Show Notes:Xamarin.Forms Entry DocumentationXamarin.

Mikolaj Kieres avatar

How to upload .ipa app package to Apple Store Connect

8 days ago | Mikolaj Kieres

Recently Apple decided to discontinue Application Loader and therefore took the only GUI tool from the developers to upload their application packages to TestFlight/Apple Store.

Nigel Ferrissey avatar

XamarinBites 29

9 days ago | Nigel Ferrissey

Create a COMPLETE Mobile App In Xamarin Forms – The Weather Apphttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ALV7hWJ_Vnw Xamarin.Forms: customize Material Entry controlhttps://medium.com/@guriysamarin/xamarin-forms-customize-material-entry-control-db4c7077b8b6 Highlighting countries on a map in Xamarin.Formshttps://blog.mzikmund.com/2019/07/highlighting-countries-on-a-map-in-xamarin-forms/ Xamarin.Forms 101: Compiled Bindingshttps://www.

The Xamarin Blog avatar

December Xamarin and .NET Events

9 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

December is a wonderful time to explore development with Xamarin and .NET. Discover all the latest news and updates with your community at developer events around the world. As well as a bunch of virtual events to watch online! Discover the full list of developer engagements through our Community page.

James Montemagno avatar

Investing Time in the Xamarin Linker for Smaller App Sizes

9 days ago | James Montemagno

With these tips & tricks you can use the Xamarin linker to shrink your application size in no time at all.

Kerry W. Lothrop avatar

25: Developing with Xamarin.Forms. With Almir Vuk

9 days ago | Kerry W. Lothrop

On this episode of DevTalk I speak to Almir Vuk about developing cross-platform apps using Xamarin.Forms. Links: Almir’s blog Almir’s Github Example of a Carousel View usage by Javier Suárez

Syncfusion  avatar

Announcing Syncfusion’s Xamarin Holiday Challenge

9 days ago | Syncfusion

Developer competitions always provide an opportunity to explore new things. Who’s going to say no to a developer competition if... The post Announcing Syncfusion’s Xamarin Holiday Challenge appeared first on Syncfusion Blogs.

Syncfusion  avatar

What’s New in Essential UI Kit

9 days ago | Syncfusion

The Essential UI Kit has been updated with 21 new XAML pages and 10 reusable XAML templates. We have crafted... The post What’s New in Essential UI Kit appeared first on Syncfusion Blogs.

Merge Conflict avatar

178: Building C# with Mads Torgersen

10 days ago | Merge Conflict

James sits down with the legendary Mads Torgersen to talk about how the team at Microsoft builds C# and works with the community to plan out and iterate on new features. Follow Us Frank: Twitter, Blog, GitHub James: Twitter, Blog, GitHub Merge Conflict: Twitter, Facebook, Website, Chat on Discord Music : Amethyst Seer - Citrine by Adventureface ⭐⭐ Review Us (https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/merge-conflict/id1133064277?mt=2&ls=1) ⭐⭐ Machine transcription available on http://mergeconflict.

Robin Schroeder avatar

Rapid Enterprise Architecture Delivery by Paul Schroeder

10 days ago | Robin Schroeder

Serious Xamarin business applications demand service-based, full stack, solutions. See how both Xamarin and Web apps can leverage a best practice plug-in architecture that tolerates change almost instantly. Paul uses code generation techniques to adapt and iterate in seconds. Come learn a few new tricks and up your professional game! The post Rapid Enterprise Architecture Delivery by Paul Schroeder appeared first on MSCTEK.

Luis Beltran avatar

Generando archivos de Excel con Xamarin.Forms

10 days ago | Luis Beltran

Esta publicación es parte del Calendario de Adviento Xamarin, una iniciativa liderada por Luis Beltrán. Revisa este enlace para conocer más artículos interesantes sobre Xamarin (y tecnologías afines) publicados por varios miembros de la comunidad.  Cuando...


Esteban Solano avatar

Resumen - Actividades presenciales y en línea de Noviembre 2019. Slides, videos y más

11 days ago | Esteban Solano

Llegamos a la recta final del año 2019! Comparto algunas de las actividades, diapositivas y contenidos de mi actividad en temas de Azure, Xamarin, DevOps y otros mas!Desarrollo móvil Xamarin con Serverless y Docker (disponible en línea)Video:–Diapositivas y GitHubIntroduccion a Mobile DevOps (disponible en línea)Video:Diapositivas y - - GitHubAmbos videos formaron parte las sesiones del 3er aniversario de la Comunidad Xamarin en Español organizado por mis colegas MVP Luis Antonio Beltran y Humberto Jaimes a quienes agradezco muchísimo la invitación.

Delpin Susai Raj avatar

Xamarin.Forms - EventToCommand Behavior in MVVM ViewModel

13 days ago | Delpin Susai Raj

In this blog post, you will learn how to use Appearing and Disappearing in MVVM ViewModel using EventToCommand Behaviour in Xamarin.Forms.IntroductionXamarin.Forms code runs on multiple platforms - each of which has its own filesystem. This means that reading and writing files is most easily done using the native file APIs on each platform. Alternatively, embedded resources are a simpler solution to distribute data files with an app.



Rendy Del Rosario avatar

Extended Segmented Tab Control for Xamarin Forms

14 days ago | Rendy Del Rosario

Almost a year ago I wrote an article on how to create a segmented tab control, when using this control on a new project I… Continue ReadingExtended Segmented Tab Control for Xamarin Forms The post Extended Segmented Tab Control for Xamarin Forms appeared first on Rendy's Website.

Syncfusion  avatar

7 Ways to Boost Your Xamarin Development Productivity

14 days ago | Syncfusion

There are many ways to improve your productivity when developing a Xamarin.Forms application. Here, I have summarized a few things... The post 7 Ways to Boost Your Xamarin Development Productivity appeared first on Syncfusion Blogs.

Brandon Minnick avatar

Xamarin: Efficiently Using a SQLite Database

15 days ago | Brandon Minnick

The most popular SQLite ORM for Xamarin is SQLite-net. Let's explore the most efficient way to use it in our apps!If you'd like to skip to the completed code, jump to Section 9: Put It All Together. A completed sample app using this implementation is also available here: https:

Damian Mehers avatar

Visual Studio for Mac: “Error updating Xcode project” opening Storyboard in xCode

15 days ago | Damian Mehers

I’ve been getting the error Error updating Xcode project on my Mac when trying to open a storyboard using Xcode in Visual Studio, by right-clicking the storyboard and choosing Open With|Xcode Interface Builder. Going to Help|Open Log Directory and then opening Ide.log I got a clue: For some reason it doesn’t like the System.nint in […]

The Xamarin Blog avatar

5 Quick Tips For CollectionView

15 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

Quick Tips to get started with CollectionView! Below are some useful new features and best practices for creating powerful native mobile experiences. A Few Quick Tips   Loading Infinitely More A few new properties are introduced on CollectionView that make it really simple to fetch more data as the user is scrolling.

The Xamarin Show avatar

Xamarin.Forms 101: Compiled Bindings

15 days ago | The Xamarin Show

Let's take a step back in a new mini-series that I like to call Xamarin.Forms 101. In each episode we will walk through a basic building block of Xamarin.Forms to help you build awesome cross-platform iOS, Android, and Windows applications in .NET. This week we take a look at using Compiled Bindings in Xamarin.Forms to improve the performance of your Xamarin.Forms apps.Show Notes:Xamarin.