Bryan Anthony Garcia avatar

Trying Out Xamarin Live Player

10 hours ago | Bryan Anthony Garcia

So, I’m already kinda late with this. It’s been almost 3 weeks since Build 2017 happened in Seattle and I just finished watching some of the highlights on Channel 9, especially all the things relevant to Xamarin and Mobile .NET. I’ve read that Xamarin had a bunch of sessions where they announce awesome stuff and I was really interested and excited about a couple of things, namely Xamarin Live Player, Visual Studio Mobile Center, .

Fabio Cozzolino avatar

How the Xamarin Live Player works with Visual Studio for Mac

12 hours ago | Fabio Cozzolino

Since a picture is worth a thousand of words, this time I preferred to made a video to show how the new Xamarin Live Player works with Visual Studio for Mac. Enjoy!

Diego Ponce de León avatar

A simple page-indicator for your android view-pager

22 hours ago | Diego Ponce de León

Every app I did needed some kind of slider, like on-boards or walkthroughs, product sliders, help tutorials, photo slide-shows, etc. In the past I´ve done some view pagers with those circle page indicators in Android that involved using either 3rd party libraries or a ton of code. That was before Lollipop came out. This is now very obvious and ridiculously simple but I´m sharing it here in case you don´t know about it.

Asfend Yar Hamid avatar

Introduction to Rest Web Services in Xamarin

yesterday | Asfend Yar Hamid

This is a quick introduction to some of the concepts that come up when you are doing rest-based networking.You have a lot of options when you're talking to various servers. If the server wants you to use sockets of course you can do that .If you want to use soap you can do that. If you have a rest-based server out there you can also do that .Now we're just going to talk about rest and sits by far the most common.

Adam Pedley avatar

Use Camera To Take Photo In Xamarin Forms

yesterday | Adam Pedley

To take a picture in Xamarin Forms, you need to use the native platform’s API’s to access the camera. There is nothing built in to Xamarin Forms to handle this, but they are plugins, that make this process incredibly easy. This post, will use the Media Plugin for Xamarin and Windows. Project Setup Install the plugin, in […] The post Use Camera To Take Photo In Xamarin Forms appeared first on Xamarin Help.

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Podcast: Previewing Xamarin.Forms 3.0

2 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

In this episode of the Xamarin Podcast, I’m joined by Xamarin.Forms PM David Ortinau to walk through the early preview of Xamarin.Forms 3.0 announced at Microsoft Build 2017. Learn about new ways you can use Xamarin.Forms in your apps, speed and performance enhancements, and what new platforms are coming to Xamarin.Forms. Be sure to download […] The post Podcast: Previewing Xamarin.Forms 3.

Episode 41: Previewing Xamarin.Forms 3.0

2 days ago

In this episode of the Xamarin Podcast, Pierce and David walk you through the early preview of Xamarin.Forms 3.0, announced at Microsoft Build 2017. Learn about new ways you can use Xamarin.Forms in your apps, speed and performance enhancements, and what new platforms are coming to Xamarin.Forms. Show Notes: 0:30 - Microsoft Build 4:00 - Xamarin.Forms 3 5:50 - Standardization of custom renderers 6:15 - Xamarin.

Michael Ridland avatar

Why developers should care about CX!

2 days ago | Michael Ridland

Normally I like to write about deep technical topics but CX (Customer Experience) is another one of my passions. I’m passionate about CX because I’ve had so many bad experiences with big brands and this trend is a welcome change. I recently wrote an article over on linkedin about ‘Why you should care about CX’. I […] The post Why developers should care about CX! appeared first on Michael Ridland.

Alex Dunn avatar

Xamarin.Tip – MvvmLight Code Snippets for Visual Studio for Mac

3 days ago | Alex Dunn

I previously made a post about some Mvvm Light shortcuts / code snippets in Visual Studio, but what about Visual Studio for Mac? Code snippets in Visual Studio for Mac work a little differently, but here is how to add your own: Go to Visual Studio > Preferences > Text Editor > Code Snippets Click … Continue reading Xamarin.Tip – MvvmLight Code Snippets for Visual Studio for

The Xamarin Blog avatar

TrainerRoad Helps Cyclists Increase Performance with Five-Star Apps

3 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

The .NET community continues to grow in size and expertise, ranging from recent college grads building the future of technology to experienced professional developers modernizing decades’ old business processes. TrainerRoad,one of our amazing customers, combines their passion for technology with their passion for cycling. They’re laser-focused on user experience, delivering web, mobile, and desktop apps […] The post TrainerRoad Helps Cyclists Increase Performance with Five-Star Apps appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

S Ravi Kumar avatar

Getting Started with SkiaSharp with Xamarin Forms

3 days ago | S Ravi Kumar

A couple of months back I wrote about Using OxyPlot with Xamarin Forms, where we created a few graphs to show data, what if a [...]

Ramon Esteban avatar

Introducción a ReactiveUI con Xamarin.Forms - Parte 2

3 days ago | Ramon Esteban

Esta es la segunda parte de la Serie Introducción a ReactiveUI con Xamarin.Forms. Si te lo perdiste, te recomiendo que le eches un vistazo, ya que aclara conceptos que utilizaremos en este post para seguir profundizando en el uso de ReactiveUI con Xamarin.Forms. Podéis encontrar la app de ejemplo de este post en el siguiente repositorio de GitHub. Una de las cosas que no me gusta demasiado cuando estás utilizando un framework nuevo, es el setup que tienes que hacer inicialmente para empezar a trabajar con él, y da la casualidad que en la mayoría de los casos, no comprendes exactamente que estás haciendo durante la implementación de dicho setup.

Matthew Soucoup avatar

Things I Think Are Cool: All The Ways To Have Multiple Solutions Open In VS For Mac

4 days ago | Matthew Soucoup

Things I Think Are Cool is a blog series where I talk about things I have found interesting and helpful. They can be time savers, productivity tools, podcasts, books, products, or even people. When I'm developing - I often find the need to have multiple solutions open at once. Whether

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Using Local Notifications in Xamarin.Mac

4 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

At Xamarin, we strive to empower you to create beautiful, practical, native mobile apps, but we also have a love of desktop applications. Xamarin.Mac and, more recently, Xamarin.Forms for Mac, give you everything you need to produce the same high quality app for the macOS desktop as you can for mobile devices. Like mobile apps, […] The post Using Local Notifications in Xamarin.Mac appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

Jan Tourlamain avatar

Change the font type of a NavigationPage Title in Xamarin Forms

4 days ago | Jan Tourlamain

For an upcoming blog post I wanted to use a custom font for the title of my Xamarin Forms NavigationPage. Whether or not it is against the design guidelines is another discussion. While you can easily set the BarBackgroundColor and the BarTextColor on a NavigationPage, changing the font can’t

Adam Pedley avatar

HoloLens with Xamarin UrhoSharp

4 days ago | Adam Pedley

HoloLens is a Mixed Reality headset, that combines a real world view, with virtual objects. When developing for HoloLens, most will use Unity3D with the HoloLens SDK. Unity is a commercial product, and not free for commercial use. However, another option is to use UrhoSharp, a Xamarin lead port, of the open source software Urho, to .NET. Setup […] The post HoloLens with Xamarin UrhoSharp appeared first on Xamarin Help.

Jim Bennett avatar

Opening multiple solutions in Visual Studio for Mac

4 days ago | Jim Bennett

It's easy to open multiple solutions at the same time in Visual Studio for Mac

Geert van der Cruijsen avatar

Session videos to watch from Build 2017 for Mobile developers

5 days ago | Geert van der Cruijsen

It’s been 2 weeks since we had a great week at Build 2017 in Seattle. In the weeks after Build all recorded sessions came online on Channel 9. I’ve created a list of all things relevant for (Xamarin) mobile developers ranging from the new Xamarin announcements that made the headlines to some other sessions that […] The post Session videos to watch from Build 2017 for Mobile developers appeared first on Mobile First Cloud First.

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Deep Dive into SkiaSharp with Xamarin.Forms

5 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

Xamarin.Forms is a versatile cross-platform user-interface toolkit that allows a single program to run on iOS, Android, the Universal Windows Platform, and (most recently) macOS. However, one feature missing from Xamarin.Forms is a graphics system. Sure, Xamarin.Forms can render bitmaps, and you can size and rotate a BoxView for some simple blocky images, but for […] The post Deep Dive into SkiaSharp with Xamarin.

Alex Dunn avatar

Xamarin.Universtiy – Guest Lecture Today

5 days ago | Alex Dunn

Join me today at 12pm EST to talk about WebRTC and Voice/Video Conferencing in Xamarin!Filed under: C#, Mobile, Uncategorized, Video, Xamarin

Dan Siegel avatar

Azure Mobile Client Helpers

5 days ago | Dan Siegel

To be honest, I forget now exactly when I first heard about the Azure Mobile Client library. I do however remember an initial sense of excitement for being able to add Online/Offline syncing to my apps. That excitement gradually faded a little when I started to deep dive into the library and realized that every project I wanted to use the Azure Mobile Client, meant that there were a number of helpers I would need to recreate.

Adam Pedley avatar

Running Xamarin UITests Locally

5 days ago | Adam Pedley

UITests are similar to Unit Tests, but instead of testing code, they are testing the UI. They load up the Mobile application, and then perform actions like a user, and can read the status of UI elements. Xamarin.UITest, along with NUnit, allow you to write these tests in C#. You can run these tests locally […] The post Running Xamarin UITests Locally appeared first on Xamarin Help.

MFractor  avatar

Introducing MFractor for Visual Studio Mac

6 days ago | MFractor

MFractor is now available for Visual Studio Mac! MFractor for Visual Studio Mac is a complete port of MFractor for Xamarin Studio; all the tooling that you enjoyed like XAML analysis, code generation or Android navigation improvements is available in MFractor for Visual Studio Mac. To make it as easy as possible to get started, MFractor now has an installer script! Just download MFractor.zip, open the archive and then right-click -> open the install-mfractor.

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Staying Up-to-Date in Visual Studio 2017 with the Xamarin Updater

6 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

Traditionally, Xamarin developers have used our updater channels to stay up-to-date with frequent Xamarin releases, previews, and updates. To enable our developers to receive updates outside of the Visual Studio release cadence, we are introducing the Xamarin Updater extension for Visual Studio 2017, which allows you to receive updates to Xamarin for Visual Studio out-of-band, […] The post Staying Up-to-Date in Visual Studio 2017 with the Xamarin Updater appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

Gone Mobile avatar

Gone Mobile 50: Building Great App Experiences with Matt Lacey

6 days ago | Gone Mobile

Designing great mobile experiences is much easier said than done, but is critical to the success of an application. In this episode we sit down with Matt Lacey to talk through what makes a great app experience, as well as some practical approaches and patterns you can use to start to use to improve the experience for your users. Usability matters! Host: Greg Shackles Guests: Matt Lacey Links: Usability Matters Thanks to our Sponsors! Thanks to our sponsor Raygun.

Javier Suarez avatar

[Xamarin.Forms] Forms Embedding

6 days ago | Javier Suarez

Introducción Cuando tratamos el desarrollo de aplicaciones Xamarin hay algunas preguntas importantes a resolver. Entre ellas, destaca con fuerza, ¿Xamarin Classic o Xamarin.Forms?. Es una pregunta habitual en diferentes charlas de diferentes temáticas, en formación y a la hora de afrontar un nuevo proyecto. La respuesta suele requerir algo de tiempo para analizar muchos aspectos … Sigue leye

Merge Conflict avatar

Merge Conflict 46: Building the Xamarin Live Player

6 days ago | Merge Conflict

The dream of continuous deployment and debugging your Android and iOS apps from Visual Studio with nothing more than a device is now a reality. We talk shop on what the Xamarin Live Player is and how we built it. Frank goes into the inner workings of his genius mind and the bits and bytes of how the Live Player player works. James on the other hand got to work on the app and IDE integrations with the Xamarin team and discusses the intricate parts of running an app inside of an app.

Adam Pedley avatar

Xamarin Forms LayoutOption Differences

6 days ago | Adam Pedley

The differences between Xamarin Forms LayoutOptions, is what I will be covering in this post, and how they behave with different elements and settings. The LayoutOptions is set in Xamarin Forms, via the HorizontalOptions or VerticalOptions properties on any View. They can be set to any of the following options: Start, Center, End, Fill, StartAndExpand, CenterAndExpand, […] The post Xamarin Forms LayoutOption Differences appeared first on Xamarin Help.

Martyn Wiggins avatar

Xamarin Forms Walkthrough UI

7 days ago | Martyn Wiggins

Here's a walkthrough interface for use in Xamarin Forms apps...

Adam Pedley avatar

Continuous Integration and Deployment for Xamarin Apps

7 days ago | Adam Pedley

Continuous integration and continuous deployment, or CI/CD for short, is a common word you might continuously see when businesses are setting up their DevOps or processes. Simply put, these two phrases, in the context of developing Xamarin apps, are defined as follows. Continuous integration (CI) is the process of merging all developers work into a single […] The post Continuous Integration and Deployment for Xamarin Apps appeared first on Xamarin Help.

Pieter Nijs avatar

Dynamically binding RESX Resources in Xamarin Forms

8 days ago | Pieter Nijs

Localizing your app isn’t the most fun thing to do. In the last couple of years I’ve seen and tried various ways of implementing multi language support. In this blogpost I would like to share how I recently set up localization in a Xamarin Froms app. With this approach, I am able to bind to items in… Read More »

Vulcan Lee avatar

Pull 所有目錄的 Git Repository

8 days ago | Vulcan Lee

因為工作需要,所以,使用了兩台電腦,可是,之前經常要把這兩台電腦上的 Git Repository 做同步,都是使用手動方式,一個目錄一個目錄的下 Pull 命令。今天正好有空,根據網路上找到的參考資訊,修改成我自己需要的同步 Script。我的狀況是,我都會把 Repositories 都放在同一個目錄下,透過底下的 PowerShell Script,便可以逐一針對每個目錄,執行 Pull 命令,對我來說,真的節省了太多時間了。$git = $env:programfiles+"\Git\cmd\git.exe";Write-Host $gitif (!$git) { Write-Host "Something went wrong. Please enter the path to git.cmd or git.exe:"; $git = Read-Host; Set-Variable -Name git -Value $git;}ls -name -Exclude *.

Adam Pedley avatar

Container, Region and Stack Navigation in Exrin

8 days ago | Adam Pedley

Exrin provides some very advanced navigational features, and with the release of 1.3.0, it has been advanced, yet again. There are 3 fundamental navigational components to a Xamarin Forms application, and I will now go into how Exrin views each of them. Containers & Regions Containers are the root layout object of the Xamarin Forms […] The post Container, Region and Stack Navigation in Exrin appeared first on Xamarin Help.

Steven Thewissen avatar

Xamarin and DevOps: Setting up your Android CI

9 days ago | Steven Thewissen

This is the second post in a series on getting started with DevOps in a Xamarin project. In this post we will be looking at automating the build process which gives you the advantages of improving your code quality, takes away tedious tasks and compiles a history of builds and releases in order to investigate issues....Read more The post Xamarin and DevOps: Setting up your Android CI appeared first on Curly Brackets.

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Glimpse the Future of Xamarin Forms 3.0

10 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

At Microsoft Build 2017 we shared our vision for Xamarin.Forms 3.0: to enable using Xamarin.Forms in more ways, on more platforms, and faster than ever before. Today, I want to walk you through some of the exciting new features that we’ll be adding to Xamarin.Forms that we know you’re going to love! Xamarin.Forms Embedding You’ve always been […] The post Glimpse the Future of Xamarin Forms 3.

Adam Pedley avatar

Architecting a Large Xamarin Forms App

10 days ago | Adam Pedley

Following on from my LinkedIn article of Adapting to Enterprise and B2E Xamarin Forms App Development, this post will go into how I structure and architect an app, that will have a large code base, and multiple developers. When we are dealing with a large code base, across multiple developers, it’s wise to start favoring […] The post Architecting a Large Xamarin Forms App appeared first on Xamarin Help.

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Sharpen Your Mobile Development Skills with New “Xamarin University Presents” Webinars

11 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

Thousands of developers attended our Xamarin University Presents webinar series earlier this year, and we had a great time introducing developers to the breadth of apps they can build with Xamarin Tools for Visual Studio. Now, our team of mobile experts are hosting five brand NEW demo-packed sessions, covering all things mobile and beyond. From […] The post Sharpen Your Mobile Development Skills with New “Xamarin University Presents” Webinars appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

Matthew Soucoup avatar

Things I Think Are Cool: Enterprise Application Patterns using Xamarin.Forms Book

11 days ago | Matthew Soucoup

Things I Think Are Cool is a blog series where I talk about things I have found interesting and helpful. They can be time savers, productivity tools, podcasts, books, products, or even people. They say that nothing is new under the sun... and that applies to architecture guidelines and design

Episode 23: Microsoft Azure App for iOS and Android with Jakub Jedryszek

11 days ago | James Montemagno

This week, James is joined by friend of the show Jakub Jedryszek, Azure Developer at Microsoft, who introduces us to the brand new Microsoft Azure mobile application enabling you to monitor and manage your Azure resources from any iOS and Android device. Jakub walks us through how the team built the native applications with Xamarin and share code across all platforms. He also shows off all of the awesome features of this new app that is available today.

Almir Vuk avatar

Xamarin.Forms: Our (my) first very simple IValueConverter implementation

11 days ago | Almir Vuk

In this tutorial I will make very simple implementation of IValueConverter in Xamarin.Forms. Till this day I was avoiding the IValueConverter for no reason but I hope after this blog post you will also use it more frequently. The title for this blog post can be also: Very simple usage of IValueConverter in Xamarin.Forms.Quick note: I am sure that there is a lot of great resources on the web about Xamarin.

Alex Dunn avatar

Xamarin.Tip – iOS Material Design Navigation Bar

11 days ago | Alex Dunn

To keep the Material Design coming to iOS, let’s look at making our NavigationBar more material. Here’s what a “standard” UINavigationBar looks like on iOS: And here is what a Material Design Toolbar looks like on Android: The goal here is to get something more similar to the Android Material Design look. The most notable differences … Continue reading Xamarin.Tip 

Javier Suarez avatar

[Evento SVQXDG] Rendimiento en Xamarin.Forms

11 days ago | Javier Suarez

El evento Continuamos desde SVQXDG con otro nuevo evento. En esta ocasión un tema muy tratado en diferentes quedadas y mencionado en eventos pero nunca hemos profundizado hasta ahora, el rendimiento en Xamarin.Forms. ¿Sabes el ciclo de vida de un Layout?, ¿qué opciones de Layout son más óptimas?, ¿cómo afectan los Bindings al rendimiento y … Sigue leyendo →

Matthew Soucoup avatar

Code Mill Minute: Visual Studio for Mac & MTOUCH 0008 Exception

12 days ago | Matthew Soucoup

Quick solution to get around the MTOUCH 0008 error in the first production release version of Visual Studio for Mac.

Marco Kuiper avatar

Xamarin Announcements from Microsoft Build

12 days ago | Marco Kuiper

Visual Studio for Mac was not the only Xamarin-related announcement Microsoft made during their Build conference. There were quite some other interesting stuff revealed as well, like Xamarin Live Player and Fastlane. Tools like this will speed up your developer time tremendously! James Montemagno and Miguel De Icaza showed off these (and more!) tools and we'll try to cover them in this article. About this article:This article has been co-written with colleague Bas.

Xamarin Forms: GridView Control

12 days ago

So I was busy with my nightly dev sessions, building the next big startup product [read side-project], when I ran into what I thought was a fairly simple requirement: I wanted to show a list of stuff in a template of an item that was in a ListView. Turns out hosting a ListView inside a ListView doesn’t work out so well. Besides it being a rocket ship when I only needed a small car, it just doesn’t work.

Vulcan Lee avatar

使用 Iconize 在螢幕上顯示字體圖示

12 days ago | Vulcan Lee

若想要在您的 Xamarin.Forms 應用程式中顯示出字體圖示,例如, Font Awesome,在以往,您都需要每個專案內做關於這個字體的設定,並且需要根據平台需求,產生一個客製化的控制項。如今,想要做到這件事情,不再需要這麼麻煩的程序了,您只需要使用 Iconize Plugin 這個套件,就可以做到了。在這篇文章中,將會測試如何在三個平台 Android/iOS/UWP,透過 Iconize Plugin 的幫助,設計出一個輸入帳號與密碼的頁面。感謝 acaliaro 寫的這篇文章 How to create a nice rouded icon ,讓我可以順利測試出如何使用 Iconize 這個套件的使用方式。安裝與設定相關套件進行 Iconize 相關套件的安裝在這裡,我們已經使用 Prism Template Pack 建立起一個支援 Android/iOS/UWP 的 Xamarin.

Alex Dunn avatar

Xamarin.Tip – Binding a Picker to an Enum

12 days ago | Alex Dunn

So a recent Xamarin.Forms update released the new Bindable Picker, which allows you to bind an IList of objects to the picker (which will be ToString()‘ed). However, I’ve often find myself needing to create a form for a model that has enum properties. Previously, in order to do this, I would have to create a … Continue reading Xamarin.Tip – Binding a Picker to an Enum

Adam Pedley avatar

Lottie Animations with Xamarin Forms

12 days ago | Adam Pedley

Lottie is a library, designed for iOS, Android and React Native, by Airbnb, that allows you run animations. These animations are defined in a JSON file, containing all the details of colors, shapes, transforms and more. These JSON files are created by Adobe After Effects. However, many designers have been happy to share their works, and […] The post Lottie Animations with Xamarin Forms appeared first on Xamarin Help.

Nigel Sampson avatar

Speaking at NDC Sydney

12 days ago | Nigel Sampson

Really proud to say that I’ll be speaking in August at NDC Sydney on Techniques in creating great cross platform apps.. This talk will be a spiritual successor to last years talk where I’ll cover some of the newer code sharing options in Visual Studio 2017 and expanding on the ideas of the view model composition that Caliburn.Micro supports. There’s a fantastic speakers list and some really exciting talks I’m looking forward to seeing.

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Xamarin Live Player FAQ

13 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

In the Microsoft Build Day 2 Keynote last Thursday, Terry Myerson demonstrated iOS development with our new Xamarin Live Player and Visual Studio 2017 live on stage. We simultaneously released previews for Visual Studio 2017 and Visual Studio for Mac, with support for Xamarin Live Players for iOS and Android. To help answer the flood […] The post Xamarin Live Player FAQ appeared first on Xamarin Blog.