The Xamarin Show avatar

Theme Detection (Xamarin.Essentials API of the Week)

17 hours ago | The Xamarin Show

Xamarin.Essentials provides developers with cross-platform APIs for their mobile applications. On this week's Xamarin.Essential API of the week we take a look at the App Theme API that enables developers to detect if the device and app should be running in dark mode.Show Links:Xamarin.Essentials DocumentationXamarin.Essentials Getting Started DocumentationText-to-Speech API DocumentationSource CodeFind James on: Twitter, GitHub, Blog, and his weekly podcast Merge Conflict.

Daniel Hindrikes avatar

Introducing TinySvgHelper

23 hours ago | Daniel Hindrikes

For a pretty long time I have had code that I have used for a couple of different apps that uses SkiaSharp to convert an svg image to a Xamarin.Forms ImageSource. I also blogged about it two years ago, https://danielhindrikes.se/index.php/2018/03/13/use-skiasharp-to-convert-svg-to-xamarin-forms-imagesource/. But I never released it as a library until now. Get started with TinySvgHelper The […

Nigel Ferrissey avatar

XamarinBites 42

2 days ago | Nigel Ferrissey

Building Beautiful Apps with Xamarin.Formshttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z4LiPa8ixyQ How to Use the MediaElement in Xamarin.Formshttps://www.telerik.com/blogs/how-to-use-the-mediaelement-in-xamarin-forms Working with Grids in Xamarin.Forms using MFractorhttps://www.mfractor.com/blogs/news/working-with-grids-in-xamarin-forms-using-mfractor Look iOS Developer, No Mac Requiredhttps://nicksnettravels.

Gerald Versluis avatar

Databinding Scope in Xamarin.Forms

2 days ago | Gerald Versluis

A question I have seen coming by a lot is: how to trigger a command from the ContextAction on an item in the ListView. While it seems straight-forward, implementation can be a bit tricky. This has everything to do with the databinding scope. This post will give you some background and show you how it’s ... Read more Databinding Scope in Xamarin.Forms The post Databinding Scope in Xamarin.Forms appeared first on Gerald Versluis.

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Social Authentication with Xamarin.Essentials and ASP.NET Core

2 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

Many apps require adding user authentication. This often means enabling users to sign into existing Microsoft, Facebook, Google, and (now) Apple Sign-In accounts. Microsoft Authentication Library (MSAL) provides an excellent turn-key solution to adding authentication to your app. Additionally, there is even support for Xamarin apps in their client NuGet package. The post Social Authentication with Xamarin.

Charlin Agramonte avatar

.NET Conf Focus on Xamarin Latinoamérica – Talking about Xamarin Forms best practices

2 days ago | Charlin Agramonte

On March 28 Rendy Del Rosario and I gave a talk about Xamarin Forms best practices in the .NET CONF Focus on Xamarin Latinomarica.  We explained best practices in terms of UX, UI, performance, security, etc. You can check the full video here: Place: Online Event Language: Spanish Date: March 28, 2020 Attendees: 762~ Agenda: https://ti.to/comunidad-xamarin-en-espanol/net-conf-focus-on-xamarin-latinoamerica-2020 […] The post .

Daniel Hindrikes avatar

Android Image Classification with TensorFlow Lite & Azure Custom Vision Service

2 days ago | Daniel Hindrikes

Read my blog post about Android Image Classification with TensorFlow Lite & Azure Custom Vision Service on the official Xamarin blog, https://devblogs.microsoft.com/xamarin/image-classification-xamarin-android/

Merge Conflict avatar

195: The Hanselman Machine Learning Model

2 days ago | Merge Conflict

We dive back into machine learning with more automagical ML. James tries to pull off some sentiment analysis for his app and we discuss a few options. Follow Us Frank: Twitter, Blog, GitHub James: Twitter, Blog, GitHub Merge Conflict: Twitter, Facebook, Website, Chat on Discord Music : Amethyst Seer - Citrine by Adventureface ⭐⭐ Review Us (https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/merge-conflict/id1133064277?mt=2&ls=1) ⭐⭐ Machine transcription available on http://mergeconflict.

MFractor avatar

Easily Add A Class From The Clipboard In Visual Studio Mac

2 days ago | MFractor

Generate a new class file using the contents of the clipboard in Visual Studio Mac. Introduction When working as developers, a common workflow is copy/pasting a class from an external source into our codebase. This class may come from a wide range of sources such as: An answer from StackOverflow. A file or Gist from Github. An online code-generation tool like QuickType or IconFont2Code. Another one of our code bases.

Mark Allibone avatar

Creating a login flow with Xamarin Forms Shell

19 days ago | Mark Allibone

Since the release of Xamarin Forms 4.5, Shell now supports modal navigation. Since one of my highest ranking blog posts is how to create a login page with Xamarin Forms. I thought it was time to revisit the topic and look at how to implement a login page using the Shell.So what is so special about a login page? Well, to state the obvious, the user should only be able to exit it after entering a correct login.


The Xamarin Blog avatar

Android Image Classification with TensorFlow Lite & Azure Custom Vision Service

4 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

This is a guest blog by Daniel Hindrikes. Daniel is a Microsoft MVP, Speaker, and Xamarin + Cloud Solution Architect at tretton37. Image Classification allows our Xamarin apps to recognize objects in a photo. Being able to take a photo and recognize its contents is becoming more and more common. The post Android Image Classification with TensorFlow Lite & Azure Custom Vision Service appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

The Xamarin Show avatar

Binding Kotlin Libraries | The Xamarin Show

5 days ago | The Xamarin Show

This week, James is joined by friend of the show Alexey Strakh, Microsoft Mobile Customer Advisory Team Engineer, who shows off how to bind native Kotlin libraries so you can use them in your Xamarin Android apps.Show Links:Documentation: Binding Kotlin LibrariesSource Code + WalkthroughDocumentation: Binding Java LibrariesFind James on: Twitter, GitHub, Blog, and his weekly podcast Merge Conflict.

Martin Zikmund avatar

Thank you, Uno Platform!

5 days ago | Martin Zikmund

Thank you, Uno Platform! Today it is exactly one year since I created my first code pull request into the Uno…


Charlin Agramonte avatar

Improving UX when requesting runtime permissions

6 days ago | Charlin Agramonte

In mobile apps, providing a good user experience is vital to keep users using them. One way we can improve the UX is when requesting the runtime permissions because if the user accepts/rejects them, the application must be user-friendly when handling each of these scenarios. To convince our users to accept the permissions, we must […] The post Improving UX when requesting runtime permissions appeared first on XamGirl.

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Increase Binding Possibilities with RelativeSource

6 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

The BindingContext is one of the most important parts of the Xamarin.Forms data binding system, especially in MVVM applications. Being built into the Binding type as the common source for bindings in a specific scope reduces plumbing code needed and makes XAML more concise. The post Increase Binding Possibilities with RelativeSource appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

Rendy Del Rosario avatar

Braintree integration in Xamarin Forms (Part.4 )

7 days ago | Rendy Del Rosario

In our previous article, we covered how to support Paypal payments in Xamarin Forms. There are use cases where you just need a quick, easy… Continue ReadingBraintree integration in Xamarin Forms (Part.4 ) The post Braintree integration in Xamarin Forms (Part.4 ) appeared first on Rendy's Website.

MFractor avatar

Working with Grids in Xamarin.Forms using MFractor

8 days ago | MFractor

An overview of working with Grids in Xamarin.Forms with MFractor Introduction Grids, simply put, are one of the most powerful controls in Xamarin.Forms. Using Grids we can build rich and flexible UIs. For example, we can create responsive layouts that adapt to different screen sizes or place elements on top of one another to achieve layering (for example, a floating action button). But, to quote Uncle Ben, with great power comes great responsibility 🕷 What is this responsibility you ask? Well, each grid we build needs to be maintained! Here are some examples of the maintenance issues with grids: When we add a new row or column, we often need to adjust several other elements.

Merge Conflict avatar

194: The Day The iPad Became a Laptop

9 days ago | Merge Conflict

It has finally happened! The iPad now has a trackpad and a mouse cursor!!! We discuss for fun! Follow Us Frank: Twitter, Blog, GitHub James: Twitter, Blog, GitHub Merge Conflict: Twitter, Facebook, Website, Chat on Discord Music : Amethyst Seer - Citrine by Adventureface ⭐⭐ Review Us (https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/merge-conflict/id1133064277?mt=2&ls=1) ⭐⭐ Machine transcription available on http://mergeconflict.

Nick Randolph avatar

Look iOS Developer, No Mac Required – Build an iOS Application using Xamarin and Visual Studio for Windows without using a Mac

10 days ago | Nick Randolph

If you’re a die-hard Windows user, like me, you’ll be excited to know that you can now build iOS application using Xamarin (and Xamarin.Forms) and Visual Studio, without having to buy or use a Mac. That’s right for development, you no longer need to invest, or carry around, a Mac. In this post I’ll walk … Continue reading "Look iOS Developer, No Mac Required – Build an iOS Application using Xamarin and Visual Studio for Windows without using a Mac" The post Look iOS Developer, No Mac Required – Build an iOS Application using Xamarin and Visual Studio for Windows without using a Mac appeared first on Nick's .

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Xamarin Podcast: Let’s Focus on Xamarin!

11 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

Keeping up with the latest in .NET, C#, Xamarin, and Azure is easier than ever. Co-hosts Matt Soucoup and James Montemagno cover a range of topics relevant to Xamarin developers from designing mobile apps to identity management. In this month’s episode James and Matt pull out all the stops and really Focus on Xamarin. The post Xamarin Podcast: Let’s Focus on Xamarin! appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Faster Application Startup using Custom Profiles with Startup Tracing on Android

12 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

In our efforts to bring you extremely fast startup times on Android, we’re bringing you the ability to record your own profiles to use with startup tracing on Android. What is a custom profile? A custom profile is a profile that is generated based on running an embedded profiler against your application to find out which methods are JIT compiled during the startup. The post Faster Application Startup using Custom Profiles with Startup Tracing on Android appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

The Xamarin Show avatar

Android Tooling Updates - IntelliSense, Apply Changes, & More | The Xamarin Show

12 days ago | The Xamarin Show

This week, James is joined by friend of the show Jérémie Laval, Xamarin.Android Tooling Engineer Lead, who shows off some awesome new features for Android developers including Apply Changes, new InstelliSense, designer updates, and more!Show Links:Blog - Visual Studio 2019 version 16.5 UpdatesFind James on: Twitter, GitHub, Blog, and his weekly podcast Merge Conflict.Follow @JamesMontemagnoNever Miss an Episode: Follow @TheXamarinShowUseful Links:Learn more about Xamarin, Xamarin.

Jean-Marie Alfonsi avatar

Dark/Light Mode: Dynamic themes in Xamarin.Forms

12 days ago | Jean-Marie Alfonsi

A short one today to talk about theming on our beloved Xamarin.Forms platform. I will use the Silly App! to showcase: Changing xaml properties value dynamically Switching between light and dark mode An animated transition between the themes Android iOS The main impacted files by the theming are: App.

The Xamarin Blog avatar

.NET Conf: Focus On Xamarin is Next Week!

14 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

We are just one week away from the largest Xamarin digital event of the year, .NET Conf: Focus on Xamarin! It all starts at 8 AM PT, 16:00 UTC, Monday, March 23rd with a stellar keynote from Amanda Silver, Microsoft Corporate Vice President of Program Manager, The post .NET Conf: Focus On Xamarin is Next Week! appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

The Xamarin Show avatar

Text-to-Speech (Xamarin.Essentials API of the Week)

14 days ago | The Xamarin Show

Xamarin.Essentials provides developers with cross-platform APIs for their mobile applications. On this week's Xamarin.Essential API of the week we take a look at the text-to-speech API to speak back text from the users device.Show Links:Xamarin.Essentials DocumentationXamarin.Essentials Getting Started DocumentationText-to-Speech API DocumentationSource CodeFind James on: Twitter, GitHub, Blog, and his weekly podcast Merge Conflict.

Syncfusion avatar

Guest Blog: Creating Interactive Charts in Xamarin.Forms

14 days ago | Syncfusion

The following blog post was written for Syncfusion by Brandon Minnick. Displaying data in mobile apps using charts is common,... The post Guest Blog: Creating Interactive Charts in Xamarin.Forms appeared first on Syncfusion Blogs.

MFractor avatar

Introducing Grid Index And Color XAML Adornments

15 days ago | MFractor

MFractor 4.0.4 is now available and introduces two small but very powerful features; grid index and color adornments. Adornments are small UI elements placed alongside code that give extra contextual information. They reduce cognitive load by making it easier to understand the code at a glance. Let's dive in and take a look each new feature. Grid Index Adornments Grids are a powerful layout provided by Xamarin.

Nigel Ferrissey avatar

XamarinBites 41

15 days ago | Nigel Ferrissey

How to Create an Onboarding UI With Xamarin Formshttps://dzone.com/articles/how-to-create-an-onboarding-ui-with-xamarin-forms-1?fromrel=true 4 New Features You Must Try in Xamarin.Forms 4.5https://www.syncfusion.com/blogs/post/4-new-features-you-must-try-in-xamarin-forms-4-5.aspx Xamarin.Forms.Nuke: iOS native image caching for Xamarin.Formshttps://www.sharpnado.com/xamarin-forms-nuke/ Inheriting styles in Xamarin Formshttps://askxammy.

The Xamarin Blog avatar

What’s New for Xamarin Developers in Visual Studio 2019 version 16.5

15 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

This week, Visual Studio 2019 version 16.5 was released, bringing new features and improvements for mobile developers in Visual Studio to help you build better mobile apps, faster. In this release, you will find: Xamarin Hot Restart: Test changes made to your app, The post What’s New for Xamarin Developers in Visual Studio 2019 version 16.5 appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

Syncfusion avatar

4 New Features You Must Try in Xamarin.Forms 4.5

15 days ago | Syncfusion

In each new release, Xamarin always has some exciting new features for us. The Xamarin.Forms 4.5 release, too, contains a... The post 4 New Features You Must Try in Xamarin.Forms 4.5 appeared first on Syncfusion Blogs.

Merge Conflict avatar

193: UI Is Messy

16 days ago | Merge Conflict

Architecture, Data Binding, MVVM, MVC, MVU, Animations, ALL THE THINGS! It is all messy! Follow Us Frank: Twitter, Blog, GitHub James: Twitter, Blog, GitHub Merge Conflict: Twitter, Facebook, Website, Chat on Discord Music : Amethyst Seer - Citrine by Adventureface ⭐⭐ Review Us (https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/merge-conflict/id1133064277?mt=2&ls=1) ⭐⭐ Machine transcription available on http://mergeconflict.

Marco Siccardi avatar

Sending push notifications to your Xamarin app from WordPress with Azure, Part II – the Function

16 days ago | Marco Siccardi

In this second post of my series about sending push notifications from WordPress to Xamarin apps via Azure, we'll have a look at the Azure Function that handles our newly created Webhook.

The Xamarin Podcast avatar

Episode 71: Focus on Xamarin!

19 days ago | The Xamarin Podcast

This month James and Matt talk about Xamarin.Forms, Xamarin, and everything related to Xamarin - you could say they Focus on Xamarin. That's because on March 23, 2020 there's a live streaming event called .NET Conf - Focus on Xamarin! Tune in to get a preview of all the great content coming up. But of course there's more in store in this pod too! You want the best features of Xamarin.Forms 4.5? You got it.

The Xamarin Show avatar

Binding Swift Libraries | The Xamarin Show

19 days ago | The Xamarin Show

This week, James is joined by friend of the show Alexey Strakh, Microsoft Mobile Customer Advisory Team Engineer, who shows off how to bind native Swift libraries so you can use them in your Xamarin iOS apps.Show Links:Documentation: Binding Swift LibrariesSource Code + WalkthroughBinding Tools for SwiftDocumentation: Binding Objective-C LibrariesFind James on: Twitter, GitHub, Blog, and his weekly podcast Merge Conflict.

Allan Ritchie avatar

Shiny 1.1

20 days ago | Allan Ritchie

Shiny 1.1

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Dotfuscator Comes to Visual Studio for Mac to Help Protect Apps

20 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

This is a guest blog by Bill Leach. Bill is CTO and co-founder of PreEmptive Solutions, makers of Dotfuscator, DashO, and JSDefender application protection tools. Xamarin developers all over the world use Dotfuscator every day to protect their applications from reverse-engineering and hacking. The post Dotfuscator Comes to Visual Studio for Mac to Help Protect Apps appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

The Xamarin Show avatar

Geolocation (Xamarin.Essentials API of the Week)

21 days ago | The Xamarin Show

Xamarin.Essentials provides developers with cross-platform APIs for their mobile applications. On this week's Xamarin.Essential API of the week we take a look at geolocation to easily get the cached or current location of the users device.Show Links:Xamarin.Essentials DocumentationXamarin.Essentials Getting Started DocumentationGeolocation API DocumentationSource CodeFind James on: Twitter, GitHub, Blog, and his weekly podcast Merge Conflict.

Jean-Marie Alfonsi avatar

Xamarin.Forms.Nuke: iOS native image caching for Xamarin.Forms

21 days ago | Jean-Marie Alfonsi

A binding of the Nuke iOS image caching library for Xamarin.Forms. Get it from Github: https://github.com/roubachof/Xamarin.Forms.Nuke This library was heavily inspired by Jonathan Peppers GlideX implementation of the IImageViewHandler interface for Xamarin.Forms (https://github.com/jonathanpeppers/glidex). Its goal is to provide

Daniel Hindrikes avatar

Application Insights for Xamarin- and UWP apps with TinyInsights

21 days ago | Daniel Hindrikes

About two and a half years ago I created a library with the name TinyInsights with the idea to abstract away the underlying provider for diagnostics and analytics. The reason was that I wanted to make it possible to change the provider without that it affected my code more than in the initial setup of […]


Nigel Ferrissey avatar

XamarinBites 40

22 days ago | Nigel Ferrissey

Every Xamarin.Forms Layout is a Repeater Controlhttps://devblogs.microsoft.com/xamarin/xamarin-forms-bindable-layout/ Launching Apps in Xamarin Formshttps://askxammy.com/launching-apps-in-xamarin-forms/ Xamarin.Forms Shellhttps://jesseliberty.com/2020/03/07/xamarin-forms-shell/ Handle The Safe Area On iPhone X And Higher Modelshttps://www.c-sharpcorner.com/article/xamarin-forms-handle-the-safe-are

Jon Dick avatar

Shared Images for Xamarin with Resizetizer NT

22 days ago | Jon Dick

Images in Xamarin, and mobile apps in general have always been a pain point for me. For most apps, this means for every image you want to use, you'll need to resize it 5 times for each android display density, 3 times for iOS, and 3 times for UWP. That's

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Binding Android Kotlin Libraries

22 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

The Android platform, along with its native languages and tooling, is constantly evolving and there are plenty of 3rd party libraries that have been developed using the latest offerings. Maximizing code and component reuse is one of the key goals of cross-platform development. The post Binding Android Kotlin Libraries appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

Merge Conflict avatar

192: Getting Started with Live Streaming

23 days ago | Merge Conflict

Frank has entered the world of live streaming code! Follow Us Frank: Twitter, Blog, GitHub James: Twitter, Blog, GitHub Merge Conflict: Twitter, Facebook, Website, Chat on Discord Music : Amethyst Seer - Citrine by Adventureface ⭐⭐ Review Us (https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/merge-conflict/id1133064277?mt=2&ls=1) ⭐⭐ Machine transcription available on http://mergeconflict.fm


Jesse Liberty avatar

Xamarin.Forms Shell

24 days ago | Jesse Liberty


MFractor avatar

Using Custom Renderers In Xamarin.Forms

27 days ago | MFractor

Author: Les Brown Creating a compelling user interface is a must when it comes to mobile development. What works for iOS may not be acceptable in Android and vice versa. In order to accommodate the various platform expectations, we must be able to customize and create controls as needed. Renderers allows us this flexibility. For this article, let’s extend an existing control such as a button and add features that currently don’t exist.

Thomas Bandt avatar

MVU For Native Xamarin Apps

27 days ago | Thomas Bandt

While Fabulous provides a great way to build Xamarin.Forms apps with F# and The Elm Architecture, there has been no such opportunity for Xamarin.iOS and Xamarin.Android. Yet. Here it comes.