Charlin Agramonte avatar

Custom renderers VS Effects in Xamarin Forms

2 days ago | Charlin Agramonte

Some people are a little bit confuse on how and when should use custom renderers or effects. In this article, I’m going to clarify this by first explaining how to create each one step by step and finally some closing thoughts on when to use one or the other. Let’s start with the basics. Xamarin […] The post Custom renderers VS Effects in Xamarin Forms appeared first on XamGirl.

Javier Suarez avatar

[Xamarin.Forms Challenge] My Trip Countdown

2 days ago | Javier Suarez

Introducción La evolución de Xamarin.Forms es meritoria. En los últimos tiempos se han recibido novedades interesantes como efectos, vistas nativas, Forms Embedding, FlexLayout, etc. Sin embargo, en muchos casos se sigue asociado a desarrollos muy simples o formularios básicos. Realmente, en el estado actual de Xamarin.Forms se pueden conseguir aplicaciones nativas de gran escala, con … Sigu

James Montemagno avatar

Optimizing C# Struct Equality with IEquatable and ValueTuples

3 days ago | James Montemagno

C# struct can easily be optimized with awesome C# 7 features with ValueTuple and IEquatable and GetHashCode.

.NET Standard and Xamarin.Forms for the .NET Developer

3 days ago | Laurent Bugnion, James Montemagno

In this episode, Laurent Bugnion and Jeremy Likness from the Cloud Developer Avocates team come together and talk about Xamarin.Forms, and how it uses .NET Standard to provide cross-platform compatibility. Jeremy takes his first tour of a Xamarin.Forms app guided by Laurent, and sees how his experience as a .NET, WPF (and former Silverlight) developer is helping him to get started with native iOS and Android development with Xamarin, C# and XAML.

Gerald Versluis avatar

MaxLines on Labels in Xamarin.Forms

3 days ago | Gerald Versluis

Hot off the press, another PR just got merged into the Xamarin.Forms repository. This time, adding a new feature on a Label, the ability to specify MaxLines. This will be available in a near-future Xamarin.Forms version on iOS, Mac OS, Android, and UWP. What can you do with MaxLines With the new property MaxLines, you ... Read moreMaxLines on Labels in Xamarin.Forms The post MaxLines on Labels in Xamarin.

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Attend A .NET Conf Event Near You!

4 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

If you have not yet heard of the .NET Conf, it is a FREE, 3-day virtual developer event co-organized by the .NET community and Microsoft. There is a wide selection of live sessions with feature speakers streamed directly from communities around the world and by the .NET product teams. It is your chance to enhance […] The post Attend A .NET Conf Event Near You! appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

LiteDB – Xamarin.Forms

4 days ago | Juliano Custódio

Olá, neste artigo irei demonstrar como você pode trabalhar com um Banco de Dados local em suas aplicações Xamarin.Forms. Para este exemplo, escolhi o LiteDB que é um banco de dados NoSQL desenvolvido pelo brasileiro Mauricio David.   ADICIONANDO O NUGET PACKAGE Clique com o botão direito em cima de sua Solution e selecione “Manage NuGet … Continue lendo LiteDB – Xamarin.Forms

Joe Meyer avatar

Bootstrap Series – Xamarin.Forms in ReactiveUI with Xamvvm

4 days ago | Joe Meyer

Welcome! This is the third entry in a series where I explore MVVM frameworks that can be used with Xamarin.Forms. As a by-product of my investigation, I’ll have a handy bootstrapped project of each framework to help you get started using the framework discussed! tl;dr – source code Over the course of the series, I’ll … Continue reading Bootstrap Series – Xamarin.Forms


Mark Allibone avatar

Xamarin Forms and the open Question of where to store your files

5 days ago | Mark Allibone

When it comes to file handling and Xamarin Forms you can find all you need in the official Documentation. However, when it comes to where the data should be stored the documentation leaves some points open. Moreover, might even lead to, dear I say it, your rejection in the App Store... Also when writing Cross-Platform Code, with .Net Standard, it does depend on the Operating System (OS) that the app is being executed on, where to store your data.

Mahmoud Ali avatar

Xamarin Forms – Formulários interativos com Visual State Manager

6 days ago | Mahmoud Ali

No desenvolvimento de interfaces de usuário, normalmente precisamos manipular elementos de tela dinamicamente de acordo com alguma ação do usuário, seja enviar um formulário, rotacionar um dispositivo, ou mesmo algum comportamento previsto em nossa regra de negócio. Foi pensando nestes e em outros cenários que a equipe de desenvolvimento do Xamarin Forms desenvolveu o Visual State Manager.…

Damien Doumer avatar

Xamarin Forms Tips Part 3: Change Randomly A View’s Color At Run-time

7 days ago | Damien Doumer

Hi everyone, here is the third part of the Xamarin Forms Tips series. Today, we will look at how to change a view’s color randomly at run time. I implemented this feature in the “My Expenditures” application. As you can see on the screenshots above, the first letter of the user’s name changes color every... The post Xamarin Forms Tips Part 3: Change Randomly A View’s Color At Run-time appeared first on Cool Coders.

Top Tabbed Page para iOS – Xamarin.Forms

9 days ago | Juliano Custódio

Olá, neste post irei demonstrar como implementar Top Tabbed Page para iOS. Antes que você me pergunte “Abas no topo da página não vão contra as diretrizes da Apple ?” Sim… mas já tentou explicar isso para um cliente ? (Acho que eu não preciso de outra justificativa né ? kkkk) Bom, se você encontra-se … Continue lendo Top Tabbed Page para iOS – Xamarin.Forms

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Preview: iOS 12 development with Xamarin

9 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

The latest Xamarin preview release supports Xcode 10 beta 5, which includes beta SDKs for iOS 12, macOS Mojave (10.14), watchOS 5, and tvOS 12. Get Started With New iOS 12 APIs Today: iOS 12 includes new and updated features such as Siri Shortcuts, ARKit 2 (including scene persistence and object detection), the Natural Language […] The post Preview: iOS 12 development with Xamarin appeared first on Xamarin Blog.


Vulcan Lee avatar

在 Xamarin.Forms 使用 SkiaSharp 來進行 2D 圖形繪製 2 : 使用 MVVM 設計方式,在 ViewModel 內來呼叫 SkiaSharp API

10 days ago | Vulcan Lee

根據微軟官方文件 SkiaSharp 簡介 上的說明,SkiaSharp 提供豐富且功能強大 2D 圖形 API,可用來呈現到 2D 的緩衝區。 您可以使用這些來實作自訂使用者介面項目和可整合到您的應用程式的 2D 圖形。 SkiaSharp 是.NET 繫結至Skia程式庫會繼承此文件庫的強大的功能。這也就是說,您可以建立一個 SKCanvasView 控制項,我們便擁有了一個畫布,使用 SkiaSharp 所提供的相關 API,即可以開發出繪製出各種效果的圖片。在這篇文章中,我們將會 使用 MVVM 設計方式,在 ViewModel 內來呼叫 SkiaSharp API,而在前一篇文章中,我們都是在頁面的 Code Behind 內撰寫呼叫 SkiaSharp 程式碼。這篇文章的範例專案位於 https://github.com/vulcanlee/xamarin-forms-sample2018/tree/master/XFSkiaMVVM在這個練習專案頁面中,我們設計了兩個 200x200 的 SKCanvasView 控制項,並且使用了 Prism 所提供的 行為 Behavior 功能中的 EventToCommandBehavior,讓我們指定了這些 SKCanvasView 控制項內的指定事件 PaintSurface 若被觸發的話,將會自動去執行 ViewModel 內的 PaintSurfaceCommand 命令。<?xml version="1.

Exploring a Chat UI in Xamarin Forms (Part. 3)

10 days ago | Rendy

In the second part of this article we talked about how to expand the chat input view when the user is typing and also how…Continue ReadingExploring a Chat UI in Xamarin Forms (Part. 3)

FlexLayout for Xamarin.Forms Explained

10 days ago | James Montemagno

This week, James is joined by friend of the show David Ortinau, Xamarin SDK & Xamarin.Forms Program Manager, who introduces us to exactly what this new FlexLayout is all about. He walks us through some awesome demos of how and when you would want to use FlexLayout and how you can combine it with CSS if you desire for super awesomeness.Show Links:FlexLayout documentationCSS + Xamarin.Forms documentationDavid's Felxibility GitHub ProjectFind James on: Twitter, GitHub, Blog, and his weekly podcast Merge Conflict.

Marco Siccardi avatar

A faster way to add image assets to your Xamarin.iOS project in Visual Studio 2017

10 days ago | Marco Siccardi

Recently, I was in the situation that I needed to add a bunch of images to a Xamarin.iOS project. In this post, I am going to show you a faster way to add image assets to your Xamarin.iOS project in Visual Studio.

Vulcan Lee avatar

在 Xamarin.Forms 使用 SkiaSharp 來進行 2D 圖形繪製 1

10 days ago | Vulcan Lee

根據微軟官方文件 SkiaSharp 簡介 上的說明,SkiaSharp 提供豐富且功能強大 2D 圖形 API,可用來呈現到 2D 的緩衝區。 您可以使用這些來實作自訂使用者介面項目和可整合到您的應用程式的 2D 圖形。 SkiaSharp 是.NET 繫結至Skia程式庫會繼承此文件庫的強大的功能。這也就是說,您可以建立一個 SKCanvasView 控制項,我們便擁有了一個畫布,使用 SkiaSharp 所提供的相關 API,即可以開發出繪製出各種效果的圖片。想要能夠使用 SkiaSharp API 各項功能,首先,您需要知道在 SkiaSharp 裡面的座標系統與尺寸單位定義;左上角是這個畫布的原點,越往右邊, X 軸的值越大,越往下面,Y 軸的值越大;另外,在 SKCanvasView 控制項內,若要執行任何繪製圖形的 API,其標示尺寸單位畫素 Pixel。在我們這個練習範例中,我們在 XAML 中,建立了三個 SKCanvasView 控制項,其指定的寬度與高度分別為 80x200,在 XAML 中所指定的高度與寬度的單位為 與裝置無關的畫素,也就是會依據您當時執行的裝置之螢幕縮放比與當時裝置螢幕的解析度,經過換算之後,所得到的值,在我們針對 Android 專案執行的時候,當時使用的 Android 模擬器的縮放比為 2.

Peter Foot avatar

Xamarin Forms MediaElement

10 days ago | Peter Foot

Some time ago I created a MediaElement control for Xamarin Forms for displaying video (and audio) content across the main mobile platforms and it’s been steadily improving and has been used in a number of projects. After some discussions on GitHub I started the process of integrating the control into Xamarin Forms itself with a … Continue reading Xamarin Forms MediaElement →

Vulcan Lee avatar

開啟某些舊的 Xamarin.Forms 要進行執行,發生這些錯誤訊息 : No resource found that matches the given name

10 days ago | Vulcan Lee

在五月左右進行 Xamarin.Forms 課程教學的時候,經常會發生這樣的問題,不過,那個時候比較忙,沒有時間進行將這個問題整理出來,今天正好要來撰寫 SkiaSharp 的使用文章,因此,打開了之前寫好的範例專案,接著進行 Android 專案的建置,此時,出現了下圖錯誤:上圖的錯誤訊息文字如下所示錯誤 No resource found that matches the given name: attr 'windowNoTitle'. XFSkiaSharp.Android D:\Vulcan\GitHub\xamarin-forms-sample2018\XFSkiaSharp\XFSkiaSharp\XFSkiaSharp.Android\Resources\values\styles.xml 2 錯誤 No resource found that matches the given name: attr 'windowActionModeOverlay'.

Evgeny Zborovsky avatar

Retrieving Facebook User Access Token in Xamarin.Forms

11 days ago | Evgeny Zborovsky

Few months ago I wrote an article about Using Native Facebook Login Button in Xamarin.Forms where I explained how to retrieve user access token using Facebook SDK. It is still a valid read and a good solution, however, recently I discovered that there is a shorter way to achieve almost the same thing. In this article we … Continue reading Retrieving Facebook User Access Token in Xamarin.

Giampaolo Tucci avatar

Focac-Book in Xamarin - Parte 8: Perchè non possiamo continuare ad andare tutti daccordo ?

11 days ago | Giampaolo Tucci

Ho già parlato nella quinta parte di questa serie della gestione della concorrenza, introducendo la teoria che sottende l'optimistc concorrency così come implementato dall'SDK Azure Mobile, ed esposto aluni codici pratici per gestire la problematica . In questo momento, però, si sta parlando dell'offline-sync: in tale contesto vedremo che le cose, seppur simili a quanto visto in precedenza, sono giocoforza un pò più complicate.

Alex Dunn avatar

Xamarin.Tip – Embed Your Xamarin.Forms Pages in Your iOS ViewControllers

11 days ago | Alex Dunn

The number one complaint I hear about Xamarin.Forms is the slow startup time of the applications that use it. The team at Xamarin has done a lot to help with this and give some more options such as XAML Compilation, Lazy Loading, and Ahead of Time Compilation. Check out some of David Ortinau’s suggestions here: … Continue reading Xamarin.Tip – Embed Your Xamarin.Forms Pages in Yo

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Securing network traffic with TLS 1.2

12 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

Secure and encrypted network communications are a crucial part of mobile application development. Without some kind of security around the communication layer, it is trivial for a third party to eavesdrop and tamper with the messages between the client and the server. If protecting the data being transmitted is important, then some kind of cryptography […] The post Securing network traffic with TLS 1.

Mark Allibone avatar

Migrating your Xamarin Projects to use NuGet references i.e. the full odyssey of migrating to .Net Standard

12 days ago | Mark Allibone

Did you know that with Visual Studio 2017 there was an update in the target project files of your Xamarin Projects? They no longer contain a packages.config file but contain the NuGet references directly in the csproj. Using NuGet references instead of the packages.config file has numerous benefits ranging from performance improvements to only showing your top-level dependencies (no longer will you have a scajilion package references ).

Vulcan Lee avatar

Xamarin.Essentials 體驗 6 : Connectivity 連線

12 days ago | Vulcan Lee

根據 Xamarin.Essentials 官方文件中指出:Xamarin.Essentials 跨平台應用程式開發介面的開發人員提供他們的行動應用程式。透過 Xamarin.Essentials 的套件幫忙,可以將這些功能整合到您的應用程式:加速計 應用程式資訊 電池 剪貼簿 指南針 資料傳輸 裝置顯示資訊 裝置資訊 電子郵件 檔案系統的協助程式 手電筒 地理編碼 地理位置 迴轉儀 磁力計 開啟瀏覽器 電話撥號員 喜好設定 螢幕鎖定 安全儲存體 SMS 文字轉換語音 追蹤版本 震動。我們現在來體驗關於 Connectivity 連線 這項功能,因此,可以參考底下的專案範例,該專案範例建立測試專案首先,我們先使用 Prism Template Pack 擴充功能所提供的專案樣板,建立起一個 Xamarin.Forms 專案,在這裡我們僅選擇 Android / iOS / UWP 類型的專案;接著,我們需要把 PropertyChanged.

Thiago Bertuzzi avatar

O Listview do Xamarin.Forms

13 days ago | Thiago Bertuzzi


Javier Suarez avatar

[Xamarin.Forms] Ejemplos de Backend Linux

13 days ago | Javier Suarez

Introducción Xamarin.Forms añade una capa de abstracción en la capa de UI que nos permite definir la misma una única vez para todas las plataformas. Podemos definir esta interfaz con código C# o XAML. El soporte de Linux (GTK) ahora está  disponible en Xamarin.Forms. Para conocer y revisar las diferentes opciones disponibles, ¿algo mejor que … Sigue leyendo →

Javier Suarez avatar

[Xamarin.Forms] Ejemplos de Backend WPF

13 days ago | Javier Suarez

Introducción Xamarin.Forms añade una capa de abstracción en la capa de UI que nos permite definir la misma una única vez para todas las plataformas. Podemos definir esta interfaz con código C# o XAML. El soporte de WPF ahora está  disponible en Xamarin.Forms. Para conocer y revisar las diferentes opciones disponibles, ¿algo mejor que contar … Sigue leyendo →

Martin Zikmund avatar

Xamarin.Forms – Changing selected item color in UWP

15 days ago | Martin Zikmund

Xamarin.Forms has a built-in ListView control which offers rich cross-platform functionality including item selection. In case of UWP the color of the selected item is by default determined by the current accent color of the OS. However, it is a common requirement to customize this to better match the branding of your application. In this

Damien Doumer avatar

Xamarin Forms Tips Part 2 : Numeric Entry Recipes

15 days ago | Damien Doumer

Hi everyone, here is the second part of my Xamarin Tips series. Just as a reminder. The posts I’ll make for this series will have as case study a simple app. It will be about how I used features available in Xamarin Forms to produce unique UI for the app. The app’s name is :... The post Xamarin Forms Tips Part 2 : Numeric Entry Recipes appeared first on Cool Coders.

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Adaptive Mobile Designs with FlexLayout

16 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

Xamarin.Forms is fantastic for quickly shipping a single code base to multiple platforms and devices. As soon as you are present on all those different screens, you need to make sure your UI looks as you expect, and even adapt the layout for your specific goals. FlexLayout makes this easier than before and provides new […] The post Adaptive Mobile Designs with FlexLayout appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

Xablu  avatar

Welcome to Damiano Patane, our newest developer!

16 days ago | Xablu

We're happy to have a great new developer join our team, Damiano! We asked him a few questions to get to know him better... I'm Damiano Patane, 25 years old, and I am from Alkmaar but will soon be living in Amsterdam. Since childhood I've had a passion for technology and computers, so I logically started studying Computer Science. I ... Read More The post Welcome to Damiano Patane, our newest developer! appeared first on XABLU.

Advanced Controls for Xamarin.iOS with Syncfusion

17 days ago | James Montemagno

This week, James is joined by friend of the show Aaron Melamed, Product Solutions Specialist at Syncfusion. Aaron walks us how Essential Studio for Xamarin enabled developers to take advantage of beautiful controls in their Xamarin.iOS apps. Aaron shows off some of the latest and greatest controls that Syncfusion has to offer including their new super optimized Kanban Board and Diagram for data visualization.

Vicente Guzman avatar

Knowing App Center Test

17 days ago | Vicente Guzman

Introducción Como desarrollador de aplicaciones móviles, siempre nos hemos de encontrar con el problema de realizar nuestras pruebas en diversos dispositivos, los cuales a veces solo contamos con el personal y los emuladores que nos facilita la herramienta. Con App Center podemos darle la vuelta a este detalle, puesto que nos brinda la facilidad de … Sigue leyendo Knowing App Center Tes

Menu Master Detail – Xamarin.Forms

17 days ago | Juliano Custódio

Algumas pessoas me procuram dizendo que estão com dificuldades na criação de um Menu Master Detail (também conhecido como menu Hambúrguer) seguindo o template sugerido pelo Xamarin.Forms. Então decidi demonstrar como criar um menu Master Detail  de uma maneira que considero fácil e rápida. Antes de começar a colocar a “mão no código”, é importante … Continue lendo Menu Master Detail – Xamarin.

Mahmoud Ali avatar

Xamarin Forms e Azure Cosmos DB

17 days ago | Mahmoud Ali

Não é incomum nossas aplicações trabalharem com armazenamento de dados. No mundo mobile, além de criarmos um banco de dados “temporário” localmente nos dispositivos, utlizando desde soluções SQL como SQLITE até soluções NO SQL como o LITE DB , também criamos uma API que irá receber os dados mais importantes e sensíveis da aplicação.… Continue lendo

Gerald Versluis avatar

Grouped ListView with Alternate Row Color in Xamarin.Forms

17 days ago | Gerald Versluis

As a follow-up on my previous post about alternate row colors in a ListView, this question was posted on StackOverflow. The poster of the question wants to implement alternate row coloring on his grouped ListView. How can I implement it with a grouped listview? I want to have the alternate row color inside every group ... Read moreGrouped ListView with Alternate Row Color in Xamarin.Forms The post Grouped ListView with Alternate Row Color in Xamarin.

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Xamarin and .NET Developer Events in August!

18 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

This year’s .NET Conf is coming to you September 12 – 14, 2018! Over the course of the three days, you have a wide selection of live sessions that feature speakers from the community and .NET product teams. These are the experts in their field and it is a chance to learn, ask questions live, […] The post Xamarin and .NET Developer Events in August! appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

Giampaolo Tucci avatar

Focac-Book in Xamarin - Parte 7: L’annoso problema dei record cancellati

18 days ago | Giampaolo Tucci

Giunti a questo punto abbiamo la nostra app che serve per condividere i posti dove si mangia la vera focaccia genovese, dotata di gestioe della concorrenza e offline-sync. Ora però occorre introdurre la possibilità di cancellare in modo corretto un item: più in dettaglio occorre introdurre un meccanismo che permetta a un record, scaricato in modalità offline da più dispositivi e successivamente cancellato da uno di questi che ne ha la facoltà, venga successivamente cancellato anche dal database locale degli altri client mobile coinvolti.

James Montemagno avatar

Xamarin.Forms: Filtering a ListView with a Bindable Picker

19 days ago | James Montemagno

Have you ever needed to filter a list of items and use a fancy picker control? Well here is how to do it all with Mvvm and databindings!

Mark Allibone avatar

Azure Blob Storage - the simple storage backend for your Xamarin Apps

19 days ago | Mark Allibone

Some apps require quite a bit of content which is fairly static but changes over time and then the app should adjust and provide the user with the new content. Let's assume we want an app that provides us with quotes and their authors. We could just add the quotes to our app but whenever we wanted to update the app we would have to redeploy our app to the store(s). This can range from an inconvenience to requiring technical expertise for updating the app for simply correcting such a simple thing as a comma.

Gone Mobile 72: Succeeding with Xamarin

19 days ago

Long time Xamarin community member Filip Ekberg joins us to talk about how to succeed with Xamarin. Filip has been working on Xamarin since before it was Xamarin and has plenty of experience with success on the Xamarin platform and even some mistakes he's learned from. In this episode we talk about how new and experienced developers alike can be successful with Xamarin. Special Guest: Filip Ekberg.

Gerald Versluis avatar

Detecting binding errors with LogWarningsToApplicationOutput in Xamarin.Forms

19 days ago | Gerald Versluis

In a previous blog, which can be read here, I already described how you can detect binding errors in Xamarin.Forms. As a result of that blog, I opened a pull request on the Xamarin.Forms repository to add this as a feature instead of a hack. Let me tell you about this new upcoming feature in ... Read moreDetecting binding errors with LogWarningsToApplicationOutput in Xamarin.Forms The post Detecting binding errors with LogWarningsToApplicationOutput in Xamarin.

The Xamarin Blog avatar

Guest Post: Visual UI tests on iOS simulator using Xamarin and Appium

20 days ago | The Xamarin Blog

This is a guest post from Sophie Tagar, a customer support engineer at Applitools. Previously, Sophie was a software developer at Matrix Israel where, among other things, she did full stack development using JavaScript and .NET. She is a veteran of the Israeli air force but unfortunately, they only let her touch Oracle ERP and […] The post Guest Post: Visual UI tests on iOS simulator using Xamarin and Appium appeared first on Xamarin Blog.

Ione Souza Junior avatar

Customizando SeparatorInset do UITableView do iOS – Xamarin.Forms

20 days ago | Ione Souza Junior

Aviso importante: este é um post destinado para desenvolvedores perfeccionistas. Olá, pessoal! Hoje trouxe uma pequena dica de como customizar o SeparatorInset de um UITableView do iOS em uma aplicação com Xamarin.Forms. Mas afinal, o que é isso? Do que … Continuar lendo →

Devlin Duldulao avatar

Revisiting Easy Tables: An Azure Back-End Service and a ToDo App

21 days ago | Devlin Duldulao

Do you want to create an app with offline syncing and backend service? Have you tried Easy Tables of Azure where you can create a backend data storage in less than 15 minutes? In this post, we will create a backend service in Azure’s Easy Table for free. First thing’s first. Here’s the GitHub repository. […]

Damien Doumer avatar

A Look At New Xamarin Forms Features

22 days ago | Damien Doumer

Hello, everyone. Xamarin Forms has been evolving quickly and a few weeks after Xamarin Forms 3.0 was announced, the version 3.1 (3.2 will soon be released as stable version) was already released. As developers we have to stay up to date with the changes made to the frameworks we use. I was looking at xamarin... The post A Look At New Xamarin Forms Features appeared first on Cool Coders.